SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Choosing needles by size, point and scarf

Viewed 5219 times
Posted by: Janie Viers
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Janie Viers star
OH USA
Member since: 4/8/02
Reviews written: 61
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 5 people
tips added: 29
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 5/17/05 10:11 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people   Very Helpful by 6 people   
We all know that the right needle is important. We use a ballpoint needle of the correct size and the sharp needle of the right size. But sometimes we forget that the scarf (the little indent behind the needle's eye) is important too. Each kind of needle has a different size/shape "scarf". Top stitching needles and metallic embroidery thread needles have a much larger scarf to allow the thread to pass through the fabric wiithout the thread being eroded by the friction.

I remembered this when I was trying to sew with some home decor thread and the blasted stuff kept breaking! I had put in a size 18 sharp needle which had an eye big enough to thread, but the scarf wasn't big enough to let the thread glide smoothly through the fabric and meet up with the bobbin thread! I put in a 18 metallic (I ran out of topstiching needles) and voila, problem solved.

So you have to decide on the needle point needed for the fabric, the size needle for the wieght of fabric and the scarf size (or needle type) for the thread size. AnD you thouGHt remembering regular, sharp and ballpoint in sizes 8/10/12/14/16/18 was tough! Now add topstitching, quilting, jeans needles, leather needles and metallic thread needles to the equation in sizes 8/10/12/14/16/18!!!!

<< Previous    Next >>

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


3 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Janie Viers said...
Denver fabrics has a list of different reg. needles, too. http://www.denverfabrics.com/pages/sewinginfo/hsc-sewing-hints/sewing-mach-needles.htm
5/18/05 1:44 PM
Renee' S said...
Andee, here's the url for Superior Threads web site, scroll down to needles and you'll find all kinds of interesting information http://www.superiorthreads.com/education/index.php3
5/18/05 1:22 PM
Andee said...
I have been sewing professionally for years and never heard the term "scarf" before. Is there a list somewhere of the different scarf sizes for the various needles. Which is the smallest, which is the largest, etc? many thanks
5/18/05 6:38 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Leather 101
Leather 101

Class Details

Online Class
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Class Details

Sewing Workshop Chicago Jacket

Sewing Workshop Chicago Jacket

More Info
PerfectFuse Medium Black

PerfectFuse Medium Black

More Info

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.