SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Elasticized ruching at CF

Viewed 5374 times
Posted by: Georgene
photo

 
 
About Georgene starstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 10/5/02
Reviews written: 110
Sewing skills:Expert/Couture
Favored by: 97 people
tips added: 9
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 5/30/05 2:35 PM
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 4 people   
Web site/URL: photo
You can use any elastic, but 1/4" is good....it doesn't have to be that clear elastic. Secure the top of the elastic to the fabric with a pin or a tacking stitch, and put the needle in the elastic when you put your foot down, then stretch the elastic to about double the length you want it to finish. Then zigzag thru the elastic as it is pulled taut. When you reach to end point of where you want your gathers, stop and back tack. The fabric will scrunch up once you let go of the elastic and it recovers its shorter length.

<< Previous    Next >>

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


7 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Georgene said...
PS This top was a wide sort of flattened round neck made into a v-neck by adding the ruching at the CF.
5/30/05 11:02 PM
pjrsews said...
I have always liked this technique and from your description it is much easier than I thought. I will definitely try it. Thanks.
5/31/05 8:29 AM
elizajo said...
Georgene, if you add this detail to a wide scoop neck t-shirt pattern, will it hike up the center front, so that you need to add a little length in the center front? Great tip- I would like to try it out.
5/31/05 1:02 PM
Georgene said...
I didn't notice that it pulled up from the bottom, it just scrunced the top edge into a v, Of course your results may differ. If you add and don't need it, you can always chop it off!
6/1/05 0:04 AM
sosoatsewing said...
This sounds so easy...I have a few patterns for dd that have this detail and I had been afraid to try them..Thanks for the shot of courage!
6/2/05 6:47 AM
jlarsen said...
Georgene, Do you have any pointers on creating a ruched bodice of and empire waist formal dress? Julie
12/6/06 12:38 PM
crissy dawn said...
this sounds easy i will practice on some scrap fabric before I try it on a finished garment
11/20/11 5:57 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

Favorite Things The Lunch Bag Pattern

Favorite Things The Lunch Bag Pattern

Buy Now
Sew Liberated Mariposa Tee Pattern

Sew Liberated Mariposa Tee Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.