SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Tips & Techniques > Making Self Fabric Buttons

Viewed 5340 times
Posted by: Nickle
photo

 
 
About Nickle star
MI USA
Member since: 10/31/04
Reviews written: 15
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 4 people
tips added: 3
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 6/4/05 9:05 AM
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people   Very Helpful by 5 people   
Featured in the PR book!
I sew a lot of these, that way I always have the stuff to make buttons instead of running to the store.
You know how you cut a piece of fabric in a circle- well I baste around the circle and put the metal button inside and pull the thread. It's an extra step but makes it easier and they turn out better. I stock up on these when they have 1/2 off the notions.
This may or not already been posted.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


8 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
drsue said...
Good idea!
6/4/05 9:44 AM
elizajo said...
That's a great tip. I'll really be happy if you can explain how to keep the edges of the circle from ravelling!
6/4/05 10:06 AM
Nickle said...
If you are using raveling fabric-you could always put a little fray check around the edge, let it dry, then baste.
6/4/05 10:25 AM
Ann B. said...
Eliza, I've also read a tip somewhere that suggests you press a very lightweight fusible interfacing to your fabric before you cut out the fabric circles. I did this when my shiny button form kind of showed through the dark color but lightweight linen I was using to cover the button forms with. I expect that it would help with the fray problem also.
6/4/05 11:22 PM
PixieCat said...
Thanks for the tip! I'm about to try some of these buttons and will use this technique.
6/5/05 5:33 AM
flginny said...
I can see how basting around the circle would help to keep the fabric even. I could have thought of that....duhh!Thanks for a great tip!
6/5/05 12:36 PM
kpastel said...
great idea- will try it soon
3/19/06 6:32 PM
ChippewaCharm said...
Hi Nickle. I just joined. I found you on Google, searching "metal button forms" after searching for hours, for plain, flat shank metal buttons to cover with fabric, I still haven't found a source. Although I live in Canada, I could purchase elsewhere. Would you happen to know a source to buy them? I want to fabric cover some. I was given a pair , called "flip-flop buttons", and attach to the strap of the shoe with a stretchy, rubbery loop thingy (no idea what that is, so if you have insight on them, that would be super. Also, is there an instruction class here to make fabric covered buttons? Any help you have is very much appreciated! Thanks, Karen
7/30/07 10:04 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

Victory Madeleine Paper Pattern

Victory Madeleine Paper Pattern

Buy Now
Bluegingerdoll Mae Blouse Patterns

Bluegingerdoll Mae Blouse Patterns

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.