SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Tips & Techniques > Making it easy to see the thread line

Viewed 5217 times
Posted by: Mary Stiefer
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Mary Stiefer starstarstarstar
CO USA
Member since: 2/17/03
Reviews written: 169
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 36 people
tips added: 27
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 6/4/05 11:18 AM
Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people   Very Helpful by 11 people   
Web site/URL: photo
Featured in the PR book!
This just happened to me so I thought I would share what I did. I matched the thread to the fabric so well for this project that it caused me a little problem. I had to rip out the point of a dart and resew it to avoid those pointy boob problems (you know what I mean). The thread matched so well that I found it hard to see the thread line to continue sewing from there. My solution was to take a bit of chalk and just go over the thread. This made it easy to see the thread line on that dark green fabric.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


11 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
OP Gal said...
Great tip for us who are experiencing (ahem)... mature eyes.
8/8/06 9:47 AM
BjP said...
I love any tip that helps my eyesight!
6/10/05 8:09 AM
Deb Bee said...
I love it when a simple answer is the best! Great idea!
6/6/05 4:02 PM
flginny said...
Some people are so clever!!!
6/5/05 12:43 PM
PixieCat said...
What a great tip! I've had this problem many times and will definitely try this.
6/5/05 5:36 AM
Vonnevo said...
Teriffic tip Mary :) I have used this method too and recently used my soap leftovers for rubbing across the stitching.
6/4/05 11:24 PM
Sew it seams said...
great tip, thanks Mary.
6/4/05 8:57 PM
sosoatsewing said...
Great tip..I have found I am a little "too good" at matching fabric and thread colors...makes for a hard time ripping out..Thanks!
6/4/05 4:12 PM
Clev said...
Good one, very helpful
6/4/05 1:42 PM
Kathy_AZ said...
Thanks Mary. I've had this problem with black on black - what an eye test - so this tip should help alot.
6/4/05 12:01 PM
Nickle said...
Great tip - I'll have to try that next time.
6/4/05 11:22 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Class Details

Online Class
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Class Details

SewBaby Petal Dress Pattern

SewBaby Petal Dress Pattern

More Info
Pants Fitting DVD

Pants Fitting DVD

More Info

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.