SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Tips & Techniques > Making it easy to see the thread line

Viewed 5184 times
Posted by: Mary Stiefer
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Mary Stiefer starstarstarstar
CO USA
Member since: 2/17/03
Reviews written: 169
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 36 people
tips added: 27
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 6/4/05 11:18 AM
Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people   Very Helpful by 11 people   
Web site/URL: photo
Featured in the PR book!
This just happened to me so I thought I would share what I did. I matched the thread to the fabric so well for this project that it caused me a little problem. I had to rip out the point of a dart and resew it to avoid those pointy boob problems (you know what I mean). The thread matched so well that I found it hard to see the thread line to continue sewing from there. My solution was to take a bit of chalk and just go over the thread. This made it easy to see the thread line on that dark green fabric.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


11 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Nickle said...
Great tip - I'll have to try that next time.
6/4/05 11:22 AM
Kathy_AZ said...
Thanks Mary. I've had this problem with black on black - what an eye test - so this tip should help alot.
6/4/05 12:01 PM
Clev said...
Good one, very helpful
6/4/05 1:42 PM
sosoatsewing said...
Great tip..I have found I am a little "too good" at matching fabric and thread colors...makes for a hard time ripping out..Thanks!
6/4/05 4:12 PM
Sew it seams said...
great tip, thanks Mary.
6/4/05 8:57 PM
Vonnevo said...
Teriffic tip Mary :) I have used this method too and recently used my soap leftovers for rubbing across the stitching.
6/4/05 11:24 PM
PixieCat said...
What a great tip! I've had this problem many times and will definitely try this.
6/5/05 5:36 AM
flginny said...
Some people are so clever!!!
6/5/05 12:43 PM
Deb Bee said...
I love it when a simple answer is the best! Great idea!
6/6/05 4:02 PM
BjP said...
I love any tip that helps my eyesight!
6/10/05 8:09 AM
OP Gal said...
Great tip for us who are experiencing (ahem)... mature eyes.
8/8/06 9:47 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

Favorite Things Uptown Coat Pattern

Favorite Things Uptown Coat Pattern

Buy Now
Christine Jonson Double Collar Princess Jacket

Christine Jonson Double Collar Princess Jacket

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.