SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Tips & Techniques > Making it easy to see the thread line

Viewed 5193 times
Posted by: Mary Stiefer
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Mary Stiefer starstarstarstar
CO USA
Member since: 2/17/03
Reviews written: 169
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 36 people
tips added: 27
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 6/4/05 11:18 AM
Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people   Very Helpful by 11 people   
Web site/URL: photo
Featured in the PR book!
This just happened to me so I thought I would share what I did. I matched the thread to the fabric so well for this project that it caused me a little problem. I had to rip out the point of a dart and resew it to avoid those pointy boob problems (you know what I mean). The thread matched so well that I found it hard to see the thread line to continue sewing from there. My solution was to take a bit of chalk and just go over the thread. This made it easy to see the thread line on that dark green fabric.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


11 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Nickle said...
Great tip - I'll have to try that next time.
6/4/05 11:22 AM
Kathy_AZ said...
Thanks Mary. I've had this problem with black on black - what an eye test - so this tip should help alot.
6/4/05 12:01 PM
Clev said...
Good one, very helpful
6/4/05 1:42 PM
sosoatsewing said...
Great tip..I have found I am a little "too good" at matching fabric and thread colors...makes for a hard time ripping out..Thanks!
6/4/05 4:12 PM
Sew it seams said...
great tip, thanks Mary.
6/4/05 8:57 PM
Vonnevo said...
Teriffic tip Mary :) I have used this method too and recently used my soap leftovers for rubbing across the stitching.
6/4/05 11:24 PM
PixieCat said...
What a great tip! I've had this problem many times and will definitely try this.
6/5/05 5:36 AM
flginny said...
Some people are so clever!!!
6/5/05 12:43 PM
Deb Bee said...
I love it when a simple answer is the best! Great idea!
6/6/05 4:02 PM
BjP said...
I love any tip that helps my eyesight!
6/10/05 8:09 AM
OP Gal said...
Great tip for us who are experiencing (ahem)... mature eyes.
8/8/06 9:47 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

J Stern Designs Womens Jeans Pattern

J Stern Designs Womens Jeans Pattern

Buy Now
PerfectFuse Medium White

PerfectFuse Medium White

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.