SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Sewing a "V" or "Y" seam

Viewed 5765 times
Posted by: drsue
photo

 
 
About drsue starstarstarstar
Member since: 11/11/03
Reviews written: 169
Sewing skills:Beginner
Favored by: 183 people
tips added: 11
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 6/4/05 2:44 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people   Very Helpful by 24 people   
Web site/URL: photo
For years, I have had trouble sewing seams that point well. These seams are called Y seams or V seams, based on their shape. I've referred to them as the "root canal of sewing." Lisa Laree's tip on machine basting elastic on waistbands gave me the idea for the following method for putting these seams together. since i've started doing it this way, I've had excellent resuts.

Disclaimer: There are other ways to do this and those may work better for you. However, you might want to give this a try if they've caused you the same pain they've caused me over the years.

1. attach the two pieces to be sewn together at the point of the "V" like this by basting perpendicular to the seam line through the v-point. Its not a bad idea to draw a mark on your fabric so you sew this basting seam perfectly perpedicular and centered. This is quite important.

2. Pin one side of the seam like this and sew that seam starting at the basting. then sew the other side, also starting at the basting. You will have to sew from the other side to do this.

3. remove basting.

4. Done.

I no longer get pains when sewing these.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


17 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
ConnieLK said...
Thanks for the pics.
12/20/06 3:31 PM
christine A said...
Thanks for the review of this problematic seam! With all the empire styles I hope to do better with this tip.
9/22/06 11:53 PM
PattyU said...
Thank you so much for this very helpful tip that I'll use on my next garment.
8/21/06 11:30 AM
dreamdesigner said...
WOW! It's nice to know that an advanced sewer has had the same problems that I have! Thank you SEW much for this tip! Wish I'd had it years ago!
8/15/06 0:22 AM
Lisa Laree said...
That's a great idea! I'll have to give it a try too!
8/14/06 1:33 PM
minieme said...
Thanks so much for this tip, I always have trouble here too.
8/13/06 7:40 PM
Peachy2 said...
Fantastic idea, now I will try more v-neck styles... By the way, I just recently found this site. It's the best!
7/14/05 6:34 AM
BeckyW said...
What a great tip!! Thanks!
6/18/05 9:25 PM
Tesla121 said...
great idea! thanks for sharing!
6/16/05 7:52 AM
Lee Ann Hawkins said...
thank you, great idea!
6/7/05 7:01 PM
GorgeousFabrics said...
This is a great idea. I'm going to try it next time. If you don't mind, I may borrow it to teach my students! (happy to attribute where I learned it. :) )-Ann
6/5/05 2:45 PM
jlg said...
I'm definitely going to try this technique with my next v-neck. Aren't you smart!
6/5/05 1:20 PM
Jill Giard said...
drsue! thank you for such a great tip! These too are the bane of my sewing existence and I've tried any number of methods all seem to fall short. This one makes a lot of sense.
6/5/05 7:52 AM
PixieCat said...
Thanks for the tip! I avoid V-necks for just this reason and will try your method.
6/5/05 5:00 AM
Katy M said...
Hear hear Debbie, it drives me nuts! Thanks so much DrSue this is unbelievably helpful, I might retry another spectacular failure! ;)
6/5/05 2:52 AM
Debbie Lancaster said...
It's so nice to know that even advanced sewists have this problem--I've always thought it was just my klutziness!
6/4/05 7:50 PM
KarmenG said...
Brilliant idea - I'm going to give this a try. In the past I have put a pin in the exact spot where you basted. But I think the basting will be more secure and will not be in the way like the pin has been.
6/4/05 4:03 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Register

Bluegingerdoll Mae Blouse Patterns

Bluegingerdoll Mae Blouse Patterns

Buy Now
Lolita Patterns Spearmint Paper Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.