SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Tips & Techniques > Sewing a "V" or "Y" seam

Viewed 5621 times
Posted by: drsue
photo

 
 
About drsue starstarstarstar
Member since: 11/11/03
Reviews written: 169
Sewing skills:Beginner
Favored by: 183 people
tips added: 11
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 6/4/05 2:44 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people   Very Helpful by 23 people   
Web site/URL: photo
For years, I have had trouble sewing seams that point well. These seams are called Y seams or V seams, based on their shape. I've referred to them as the "root canal of sewing." Lisa Laree's tip on machine basting elastic on waistbands gave me the idea for the following method for putting these seams together. since i've started doing it this way, I've had excellent resuts.

Disclaimer: There are other ways to do this and those may work better for you. However, you might want to give this a try if they've caused you the same pain they've caused me over the years.

1. attach the two pieces to be sewn together at the point of the "V" like this by basting perpendicular to the seam line through the v-point. Its not a bad idea to draw a mark on your fabric so you sew this basting seam perfectly perpedicular and centered. This is quite important.

2. Pin one side of the seam like this and sew that seam starting at the basting. then sew the other side, also starting at the basting. You will have to sew from the other side to do this.

3. remove basting.

4. Done.

I no longer get pains when sewing these.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


17 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
KarmenG said...
Brilliant idea - I'm going to give this a try. In the past I have put a pin in the exact spot where you basted. But I think the basting will be more secure and will not be in the way like the pin has been.
6/4/05 4:03 PM
Debbie Lancaster said...
It's so nice to know that even advanced sewists have this problem--I've always thought it was just my klutziness!
6/4/05 7:50 PM
Katy M said...
Hear hear Debbie, it drives me nuts! Thanks so much DrSue this is unbelievably helpful, I might retry another spectacular failure! ;)
6/5/05 2:52 AM
PixieCat said...
Thanks for the tip! I avoid V-necks for just this reason and will try your method.
6/5/05 5:00 AM
Jill Giard said...
drsue! thank you for such a great tip! These too are the bane of my sewing existence and I've tried any number of methods all seem to fall short. This one makes a lot of sense.
6/5/05 7:52 AM
jlg said...
I'm definitely going to try this technique with my next v-neck. Aren't you smart!
6/5/05 1:20 PM
GorgeousFabrics said...
This is a great idea. I'm going to try it next time. If you don't mind, I may borrow it to teach my students! (happy to attribute where I learned it. :) )-Ann
6/5/05 2:45 PM
Lee Ann Hawkins said...
thank you, great idea!
6/7/05 7:01 PM
Tesla121 said...
great idea! thanks for sharing!
6/16/05 7:52 AM
BeckyW said...
What a great tip!! Thanks!
6/18/05 9:25 PM
Peachy2 said...
Fantastic idea, now I will try more v-neck styles... By the way, I just recently found this site. It's the best!
7/14/05 6:34 AM
minieme said...
Thanks so much for this tip, I always have trouble here too.
8/13/06 7:40 PM
Lisa Laree said...
That's a great idea! I'll have to give it a try too!
8/14/06 1:33 PM
dreamdesigner said...
WOW! It's nice to know that an advanced sewer has had the same problems that I have! Thank you SEW much for this tip! Wish I'd had it years ago!
8/15/06 0:22 AM
PattyU said...
Thank you so much for this very helpful tip that I'll use on my next garment.
8/21/06 11:30 AM
christine A said...
Thanks for the review of this problematic seam! With all the empire styles I hope to do better with this tip.
9/22/06 11:53 PM
ConnieLK said...
Thanks for the pics.
12/20/06 3:31 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

Victoria Jones Collection 309 Womens' Long Dress

Victoria Jones Collection 309 Womens' Long Dress

Buy Now
Petite Plus V202 VHS

Petite Plus V202 VHS

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.