SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Tips & Techniques > Make your own fusible stay tape

Viewed 5821 times
Posted by: Gigi Louis
photo

 
 
About Gigi Louis starstarstarstar
Member since: 4/4/02
Reviews written: 78
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 251 people
tips added: 17
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 12/29/02 9:39 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 6 people   Very Helpful by 25 people   
Whenever I use fusible tricot interfacing in a project I cut all the leftover pieces into 1/2" wide strips on the lengthwise grain. My rotary cutter makes this go really fast. I keep the strips in a bin separated by color and fuse them to the shoulder seams of my knit garments. Since I only need four or five inch long strips anyway, it's a good way to recycle interfacing scraps. I actually prefer the interfacing strips to fusible stay tape since they are lighter in weight.

Added note: the longer strips are just perfect for interfacing the narrow front band of cardigans like Kwik-Sew 2759.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


10 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Everyday Sewist said...
I use this for shoulder seams too, and I really like it. I hadn't thought about using it in longer lengths. Thanks for the tip!
12/29/02 10:50 PM
Mel.J said...
This is a great idea Gigi. I'm always loathe to throw anything out that could still be useful!
12/30/02 0:09 AM
Dale C said...
Hey, I've been wondering what to do with all those scraps I've been collecting. That's a great idea Gigi. Thanks for such a great tip!
12/30/02 2:58 AM
NancyDaQ said...
Great idea! I also cut 2" wide strips along the lengthwise grain, as they are the perfect size to stabilize the vents on skirts. Its a good way to use all those leftover bits.
12/30/02 1:36 PM
Gigi Louis said...
Great idea Nan! I gues the idea would be to cut whatever width you use most.
12/30/02 1:54 PM
Melanie Herron said...
I've been trying to find fusible stay tape with no luck. Not sure if its available in Oz. Now I don't need to keep looking. Thanks.
5/13/03 4:14 AM
Shellia said...
This is a fabulous tip! Wish I read it before I recently threw out all those scaps...
2/19/05 6:38 AM
ryansmumAria said...
Thank you ! YOu just saved me 11 bucks! I do cut 1/2 and 1 inch wide for the side seams and hems of knits but I was looking for some fusible stay tape for roll lines and v necks. It NEVER occured to me to use the ones I already have!! GREAT idea.
3/19/06 6:20 PM
glamourchic86 said...
fantastic idea.
9/27/07 7:13 AM
Daisy811 said...
Great tip! I need some stay tape, but will try this first.
10/13/10 6:37 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

You Sew Girl 300mm Square Snap PATTERN ONLY Pattern

You Sew Girl 300mm Square Snap PATTERN ONLY Pattern

Buy Now
Victoria Jones Collection Men's Classic Hawaiian Businessman's Aloha Shirt

Victoria Jones Collection Men's Classic Hawaiian Businessman's Aloha Shirt

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.