SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Make your own fusible stay tape

Viewed 5895 times
Posted by: Gigi Louis
photo

 
 
About Gigi Louis starstarstarstar
Member since: 4/4/02
Reviews written: 78
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 251 people
tips added: 17
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 12/29/02 9:39 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 6 people   Very Helpful by 25 people   
Whenever I use fusible tricot interfacing in a project I cut all the leftover pieces into 1/2" wide strips on the lengthwise grain. My rotary cutter makes this go really fast. I keep the strips in a bin separated by color and fuse them to the shoulder seams of my knit garments. Since I only need four or five inch long strips anyway, it's a good way to recycle interfacing scraps. I actually prefer the interfacing strips to fusible stay tape since they are lighter in weight.

Added note: the longer strips are just perfect for interfacing the narrow front band of cardigans like Kwik-Sew 2759.

<< Previous    Next >>

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


10 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Daisy811 said...
Great tip! I need some stay tape, but will try this first.
10/13/10 6:37 PM
glamourchic86 said...
fantastic idea.
9/27/07 7:13 AM
ryansmumAria said...
Thank you ! YOu just saved me 11 bucks! I do cut 1/2 and 1 inch wide for the side seams and hems of knits but I was looking for some fusible stay tape for roll lines and v necks. It NEVER occured to me to use the ones I already have!! GREAT idea.
3/19/06 6:20 PM
Shellia said...
This is a fabulous tip! Wish I read it before I recently threw out all those scaps...
2/19/05 6:38 AM
Melanie Herron said...
I've been trying to find fusible stay tape with no luck. Not sure if its available in Oz. Now I don't need to keep looking. Thanks.
5/13/03 4:14 AM
Gigi Louis said...
Great idea Nan! I gues the idea would be to cut whatever width you use most.
12/30/02 1:54 PM
NancyDaQ said...
Great idea! I also cut 2" wide strips along the lengthwise grain, as they are the perfect size to stabilize the vents on skirts. Its a good way to use all those leftover bits.
12/30/02 1:36 PM
Dale C said...
Hey, I've been wondering what to do with all those scraps I've been collecting. That's a great idea Gigi. Thanks for such a great tip!
12/30/02 2:58 AM
Mel.J said...
This is a great idea Gigi. I'm always loathe to throw anything out that could still be useful!
12/30/02 0:09 AM
Everyday Sewist said...
I use this for shoulder seams too, and I really like it. I hadn't thought about using it in longer lengths. Thanks for the tip!
12/29/02 10:50 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Class Details

Online Class
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Class Details

J Stern Designs The Hobo Bag Pattern

J Stern Designs The Hobo Bag Pattern

More Info
Sew Liberated The Emmeline Apron

Sew Liberated The Emmeline Apron

More Info

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.