SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > number self-drafted patterns

Viewed 5105 times
Posted by: MaryLynn in Long Beach
photo

 
 
About MaryLynn in Long Beach star
CA USA
Member since: 7/2/04
Reviews written: 36
Favored by: 23 people
tips added: 7
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 6/7/05 2:09 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people   Very Helpful by 3 people   
Featured in the PR book!
If I'm drafting a pattern, or significantly changing/morphing a commercial pattern, I assign the new pattern a number based on that day's date. For instance, the pattern number for today is 060705. If I happen (rarely) to make more than one pattern in a single day, I add a hyphen and the ordinal for that pattern. Example: 060705-1, 060705-2.

I put that number on every piece. I store the patterns in a gallon ziplock bag. I may even include a sketch or written description that I include in the bag.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


6 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
KarmenG said...
Wonderful Idea Marylynn
6/7/05 8:52 PM
MaryBeth said...
Ha! Organization with logic. Excellent!
6/8/05 6:49 AM
Elaine Penney said...
Great idea. I'm always getting confused with the order of my changes.
6/8/05 9:15 AM
appleC said...
Thanks for the great tip. I may want to use a slightly different numbering scheme: 20050607, 20050607-1, etc. This way I can sort by pattern numbers(if it grows over time) in a spreedsheet. That's how I organize the list of my photo CDs :)
6/8/05 10:24 AM
Brine said...
Great idea! I always think I'll remember what I have done, but when I get back to it days later I don't.
6/8/05 11:11 AM
Miss Fairchild said...
Thank you for the tip. I'm always making my own patterns. Now I have a coding system for them, thanks to you!
6/9/05 5:43 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

Jamie Christina Lark Paper Pattern

Jamie Christina Lark Paper Pattern

Buy Now
Favorite Things The Frayed Jacket Pattern

Favorite Things The Frayed Jacket Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.