SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > number self-drafted patterns

Viewed 5177 times
Posted by: MaryLynn in Long Beach
photo

 
 
About MaryLynn in Long Beach star
CA USA
Member since: 7/2/04
Reviews written: 36
Favored by: 23 people
tips added: 7
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 6/7/05 2:09 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people   Very Helpful by 3 people   
Featured in the PR book!
If I'm drafting a pattern, or significantly changing/morphing a commercial pattern, I assign the new pattern a number based on that day's date. For instance, the pattern number for today is 060705. If I happen (rarely) to make more than one pattern in a single day, I add a hyphen and the ordinal for that pattern. Example: 060705-1, 060705-2.

I put that number on every piece. I store the patterns in a gallon ziplock bag. I may even include a sketch or written description that I include in the bag.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


6 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Miss Fairchild said...
Thank you for the tip. I'm always making my own patterns. Now I have a coding system for them, thanks to you!
6/9/05 5:43 PM
Brine said...
Great idea! I always think I'll remember what I have done, but when I get back to it days later I don't.
6/8/05 11:11 AM
appleC said...
Thanks for the great tip. I may want to use a slightly different numbering scheme: 20050607, 20050607-1, etc. This way I can sort by pattern numbers(if it grows over time) in a spreedsheet. That's how I organize the list of my photo CDs :)
6/8/05 10:24 AM
Elaine Penney said...
Great idea. I'm always getting confused with the order of my changes.
6/8/05 9:15 AM
MaryBeth said...
Ha! Organization with logic. Excellent!
6/8/05 6:49 AM
KarmenG said...
Wonderful Idea Marylynn
6/7/05 8:52 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Class Details

Online Class
Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Class Details

Bluegingerdoll The Betsy Pencil Skirt Paper Pattern

Bluegingerdoll The Betsy Pencil Skirt Paper Pattern

More Info
You Sew Girl Panel Bag

You Sew Girl Panel Bag

More Info

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.