SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Tips & Techniques > Fastturn Fun

Viewed 5390 times
Posted by: lisaquilts
photo

 
 
About lisaquilts star
VA USA
Member since: 4/24/05
Reviews written: 52
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 13 people
tips added: 3
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 6/9/05 12:08 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people   Very Helpful by 3 people   
Featured in the PR book!
The fast-turn notion is not only great for turning tiny spaghetti straps or stuffing tubes of fabric for purse handles or other craft projects. The gadget once again earned it's keep by making it easy to turn out the facings on a very narrow dress top. In making a halter top dress, I thought the halter top's built in strap facings might be a pain to turn. So I pulled out the fastturn tool, Click Here put it in the closed strap Click Here and pulled it through with no problems. Click Here

Sure, I could have used a chopstick, knitting needle. or even the blunt end of my scissor point, but the fastturn was, well, . . . faster. Much faster.

<< Previous    Next >>

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


9 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
tigger said...
thanks for the tip - I always have such a pain with turning spaghetti straps - even with some of the notions I've bought to help! Where can I get one of these! thanks!
6/10/05 1:11 AM
Deepika said...
Lisa, I use my fastturn so much! And I too made a halter top recently and used the Fast Turn to turn the facing/straps. This is one tool which has really proved worth every penny!
6/10/05 6:29 AM
BjP said...
That's it, I'm buying one!
6/10/05 8:13 AM
lisaquilts said...
Hi and Thanks for the comments. I got mine years ago at a Nancy's Notions warehouse sale in Wisconsin, but I'm sure they're available on her website (and on Clotilde and surely somewhere on eBay). I only purchased two tools-rather than the whole kit-the smallest one for spaghetti straps and the medium sized one to make 1.5 inch finished tubes. When you get it, keep the packaging and write the dimensions for cut strip size and the finished tube size on the back for easy reference. This gadget is definitely worth it.
6/10/05 12:04 PM
Mary Stiefer said...
I just purchased one with all six (I think) pieces and am anxious to try it. Thanks for the tip.
6/10/05 2:16 PM
tigger said...
I just purchased the narrow three pack and can't wait to get it and see if this finally fixes my spaghetti strap nightmares! :)
6/10/05 3:16 PM
JDpenelope said...
Yes! This notion actually works! Have tried other methods, with much frustration and poor results. I agree that it's highly recommended.
6/10/05 4:12 PM
Melinda In Tulsa said...
You can buy the fasturn on ebay a little cheaper then in the store. The sellers name is: twoguysonwine. I believe this is the inventor of it selling it.
6/10/05 10:52 PM
Nancy Peters said...
I got real cheap and purchased copper tubing at Lowes Hardware store. It comes in several sizes. The tubes were about $.50 or so and a foot long. I do have a set of the narrow Fastturn tubes but wanted longer tubes. I use dowels for the "pusher/puller" If I need to, I will put a cup hook on the end of the dowel but haven't neede to. Just a note: I filed down the slightly sharp edges on one of the tubes.
8/24/05 11:24 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Register

SewBaby Bath Puppet Pals Pattern

SewBaby Bath Puppet Pals Pattern

Buy Now
Christine Jonson Shirred Top & Princess Wrap

Christine Jonson Shirred Top & Princess Wrap

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.