SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Fastturn Fun

Viewed 5380 times
Posted by: lisaquilts
photo

 
 
About lisaquilts star
VA USA
Member since: 4/24/05
Reviews written: 52
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 13 people
tips added: 3
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 6/9/05 12:08 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people   Very Helpful by 3 people   
Featured in the PR book!
The fast-turn notion is not only great for turning tiny spaghetti straps or stuffing tubes of fabric for purse handles or other craft projects. The gadget once again earned it's keep by making it easy to turn out the facings on a very narrow dress top. In making a halter top dress, I thought the halter top's built in strap facings might be a pain to turn. So I pulled out the fastturn tool, Click Here put it in the closed strap Click Here and pulled it through with no problems. Click Here

Sure, I could have used a chopstick, knitting needle. or even the blunt end of my scissor point, but the fastturn was, well, . . . faster. Much faster.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


9 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
tigger said...
thanks for the tip - I always have such a pain with turning spaghetti straps - even with some of the notions I've bought to help! Where can I get one of these! thanks!
6/10/05 1:11 AM
Deepika said...
Lisa, I use my fastturn so much! And I too made a halter top recently and used the Fast Turn to turn the facing/straps. This is one tool which has really proved worth every penny!
6/10/05 6:29 AM
BjP said...
That's it, I'm buying one!
6/10/05 8:13 AM
lisaquilts said...
Hi and Thanks for the comments. I got mine years ago at a Nancy's Notions warehouse sale in Wisconsin, but I'm sure they're available on her website (and on Clotilde and surely somewhere on eBay). I only purchased two tools-rather than the whole kit-the smallest one for spaghetti straps and the medium sized one to make 1.5 inch finished tubes. When you get it, keep the packaging and write the dimensions for cut strip size and the finished tube size on the back for easy reference. This gadget is definitely worth it.
6/10/05 12:04 PM
Mary Stiefer said...
I just purchased one with all six (I think) pieces and am anxious to try it. Thanks for the tip.
6/10/05 2:16 PM
tigger said...
I just purchased the narrow three pack and can't wait to get it and see if this finally fixes my spaghetti strap nightmares! :)
6/10/05 3:16 PM
JDpenelope said...
Yes! This notion actually works! Have tried other methods, with much frustration and poor results. I agree that it's highly recommended.
6/10/05 4:12 PM
Melinda In Tulsa said...
You can buy the fasturn on ebay a little cheaper then in the store. The sellers name is: twoguysonwine. I believe this is the inventor of it selling it.
6/10/05 10:52 PM
Nancy Peters said...
I got real cheap and purchased copper tubing at Lowes Hardware store. It comes in several sizes. The tubes were about $.50 or so and a foot long. I do have a set of the narrow Fastturn tubes but wanted longer tubes. I use dowels for the "pusher/puller" If I need to, I will put a cup hook on the end of the dowel but haven't neede to. Just a note: I filed down the slightly sharp edges on one of the tubes.
8/24/05 11:24 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

Paradiso Designs Perfect Pillows Pattern

Paradiso Designs Perfect Pillows Pattern

Buy Now
Christine Jonson Double Collar Princess Jacket

Christine Jonson Double Collar Princess Jacket

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.