Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review


Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Find a member
MY Stuff
Friends of PR Benefits
My Pattern Reviews
My Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Widget
Photo Album
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Calendar
Deal Corner
Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine Central
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review Requests
Read All Review Requests
Add a Review Request
Live Chats
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
See all Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
all contests
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Add UV Protection to Fabric (Tip/Technique)
Viewed 5457 times
Review rated Very Helpful by 8 people   
Posted by: Patzee
photo
About Patzee
WA USA
Member since: 2/9/05
Reviews written: 12
Sewing skills:Beginner
tips added: 7
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 6/9/05 5:53 PM
Featured in the PR book!
Rit Sun Guard Laundry Treatment is a relatively new product that adds UV protectant to fabrics. The package states: "... a typical white T-shirt is rated UPF 5. A single treatment wilth Rit Sun Guard boosts its rating to UPF 30."

There are clothing manufacturers that specialize in UPF 50 clothing, but their items are very costly and the selection limited. This product is easy to use and lasts through many washings. I found it at Joann's and at Rite Aid -- both located in the fabric dye section.
Merchants on PR
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site

<< Previous Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Mirza said...
Thanks for the heads up on this one!!! Nice to know a cheaper alternative.
6/9/05 8:03 PM
Nora said...
Neat! Thanks for the tip.
6/9/05 8:12 PM
GorgeousFabrics said...
Patzee I bought 6 packages of this to use on our clothing and diveskins before we go to St. Croix. I really hope they work as well as advertised! I'll report back. -Ann
6/9/05 9:02 PM
Patzee said...
St. Croix sure sounds good! Let us know what you think. -- Pat
6/10/05 0:01 AM
SewVeryTall said...
I'm surprised! I'd never heard of this product, and when I read the title of your tip, I thought this was about protecting fabric [like cotton especially] from losing its color. Now I'm wondering if I've totally missed some important info about protecting our skin from the sun!! All this time I thought we bought SPF lotion to protect skin that's not covered by fabric [because fabric is the ultimate protection].....I'm blown away!
6/10/05 3:11 AM
SewVeryTall said...
p.s. is this product mostly recommended for use on very light colored or white fabric? [in thinking about this, I remembered a polka dot bikini I used to have...white polka dots...I'd get a little tanned where those dots were located]
6/10/05 3:24 AM
Kathy_AZ said...
Thanks so much for the information. As a Arizona resident I'm definitely going to get this. My DH is spending a fortune on catalog clothes to get UV protection.
6/10/05 10:48 AM
PixieCat said...
Thank you for this tip! As a redhead who burns terribly, I'm definitely going to try it!
6/10/05 3:36 PM
ladybegood said...
Great tip! I was in Arches Nat'l Park last summer and walked around all day with a long sleeve white shirt over my tank top to protect me from the sun. That was the day I found out that clothes don't protect from UV! The funny part is that the burn was about 2 shades less severe where the ribbed collar was. Talk about an unsexy tan line! I'll be sure to use the Rit this summer!
6/11/05 7:26 PM
Patzee said...
The package doesn't recommend specific clothing colors or hues. However, darker colored clothing offers more protection than light colored clothing (I have no idea about the degree of difference). When I first heard about the color difference, it seemed so strange to me. I would have assumed that lighter colors offered more UV protection.
6/12/05 0:20 AM
Patzee said...
FYI: There's more info on Rit Sun Guard at http://www.ritdye.com/sun_guard/ I also found this very interesting Science Fair project on Rit Sun Guard effectiveness by a budding sicentist at http://www.usc.edu/CSSF/Current/Projects/J1103.pdf
6/12/05 0:37 AM
SewVeryTall said...
Thanks Patzee! I'll check those sites.
6/12/05 0:50 AM
PhyllisC said...
Very cool - and I'll bet you can also treat uncut fabric yardage with this and then cut it out and sew it up! This is so great - RTW sun-protection clothing (such as what you see on www.coolibar.com) is *ridiculously* expensive.
6/14/05 11:00 AM
Muria said...
The way the Sun Protection Factor works: if something is SPF 5, it protects you from the sun 5 times as well as if you didn't use it. Therefore, an SPF factor of 30 protects you 30 times as well as if you didn't use it. I can definitely see where this would be useful in areas with direct sunlight most of the year. I suspect it's actually more of a gimmick in areas further north, such as Michigan (where I live). It would be nice if there's a way of telling the SPF of a garment before you use it so you only use it on the lower SPF garments you have/make. I would think fabrics with a tighter weave would provide more protection. I would also be careful with this if you have sensitive skin or allergies (in other words, don't wash all your clothes in it till you're sure you won't break out from it).
6/14/05 11:11 PM

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us