SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Linen Water...recipe, uses, and cost analysis

Viewed 5557 times
Posted by: SewVeryTall
photo

 
 
About SewVeryTall starstarstarstar
NE USA
Member since: 3/2/04
Reviews written: 161
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 63 people
tips added: 68
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 6/16/05 5:54 AM
Last Updated: 1/22/07 6:01 AM
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people   Very Helpful by 20 people   
Web site/URL: photo
1-22-07 updated to fix all those 'cents' signs that quit working when PR switched servers


Linen Water

1/4 cup vodka [cheap is fine, but use 80 proof]
10-20 drops essential oil*
2 cups distilled water **


Mix vodka and oil first...the vodka is an emulsifier...then add the water.

*your choice of scent, but it must be an "essential oil"...these can be purchased at a Health Food Store.

**must use distilled, chlorinated water will kill the essential oil scent

--------------------------------------------------------

We discussed this on the message boards, and I finally got around to buying the ingredients and made some...I love it!

I put it in a spray bottle [they say you can fill your iron with this too]. You use it to mist clothing/fabrics/linens that you're ironing, or just mist fabric/bedding/upholstery for a lovely scent [like Febreze].

Cost Analysis:

I didn't want to use my Ketel One or Absolut vodka, so I bought a cheap 750ml bottle of Skol for $5.47. So 1/4 cup was 43 cents. This bottle will make 12 batches.

Essential oils vary in price, so this cost is for the 1/2 ounce of spearmint I got for $5.16. I used 10 drops, so this was 17 cents. This bottle will make 30 batches.

Distilled water...a gallon costs 72 cents, so 2 cups was 9 cents. This jug will make 8 batches.

43
17
09
69 cents for 18 ounces

Check out what it can cost to buy ready-made by clicking the web link above! [16oz for $15] [Jan.2007 update...now it's $16.50]


<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


16 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
magsann said...
Will definitely be giving this a try - many thanks for the tip.
2/18/08 3:04 PM
CSM--Carla said...
Thanks for this wonderful tip, SewVeryTall. I've been wondering about a way to enjoy my lavender more--this should do it! Both easy and inexpensive.
2/28/06 9:06 AM
Geri Lynn said...
After reading this tip, I made some up and love it! I love nice scents, so I went through the house spraying upholstered furniture, etc. and it's really nice and lasts a while. I'll be getting different essential oil fragrances real soon so I have several to choose from! Thanks Ardis for sharing this tip!
9/19/05 5:53 AM
inkyannie said...
Wow, I love this idea! I'm going to try it. Thanks.
7/30/05 10:30 PM
Jayme girl said...
as usual great tip. tried it loved it thanks
6/17/05 2:00 PM
koo104 said...
The only concern is if you use a Rowenta iron, it will leak. You must only use tap water. I learned this the hard way. Fortunately it will eventually correct itself if you start using tap water again.
6/17/05 11:41 AM
AnneM said...
Neat concept. I've heard of linen water, but never knew what it was. (Yeah, I live a sheltered life.) Thanks for sharing this.
6/17/05 5:37 AM
SewVeryTall said...
You're all very welcome :)

appleC...I can't answer your question from my own experience, because I haven't been using this for long. But since this isn't a *brand new* product, I can't imagine that stores would still be selling it [nor manufacturers still making it] if it stained, because people wouldn't purchase a second bottle. I just checked my clear spray bottle, and there's no sign of oil floating on top...the vodka really does emulsify it. The ratio is infinitesimal too, at one drop of oil in 1080 drops of water/vodka. It still amazes me how much aroma this has considering the tiny amount of spearmint I used!
6/17/05 3:34 AM

joan said...
Thank you, thank you. I have some lavendar essential oil and vodka, so all I need is some distelled water. Love it.
6/17/05 0:30 AM
kathi s said...
Thank you, Ardis!
6/16/05 11:53 PM
cindyann said...
Great tip!
6/16/05 3:53 PM
appleC said...
Sounds to be an affordable good idea. Will this linen water leave stains on my clothes over time?
6/16/05 9:29 AM
Gigi Louis said...
Thanks for sharing this, Ardis! I am definitely going to make this and use it when I iron my pillow cases.
6/16/05 9:26 AM
CatherineN said...
Wonderful tip. The price always stops me from buying this even though I love sweet smells throughout my house. Will try this after a trip to the liquor store.
6/16/05 8:54 AM
Mary Stiefer said...
Many thanks Ardis. This sounds great.
6/16/05 8:03 AM
Deepika said...
Thats awesome Ardis. Thanks for the tip.
6/16/05 7:59 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

All About Linings
All About Linings

Register

You Sew Girl 200mm Glam Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 200mm Glam Purse Pattern

Buy Now
BIRTH OF A BUSTIER - A CD Book by Kenneth King

BIRTH OF A BUSTIER - A CD Book by Kenneth King

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.