Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review


Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Find a member
MY Stuff
Friends of PR Benefits
My Pattern Reviews
My Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Widget
Photo Album
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Calendar
Deal Corner
Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine Central
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review Requests
Read All Review Requests
Add a Review Request
Live Chats
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
See all Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
all contests
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Linen Water...recipe, uses, and cost analysis (Tip/Technique)
Viewed 5302 times
Review rated Helpful by 1 people   Very Helpful by 20 people   
Posted by: SewVeryTall
photo
About SewVeryTall starstarstarstar
NE USA
Member since: 3/2/04
Reviews written: 161
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 63 people
tips added: 68
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 6/16/05 5:54 AM
Last Updated: 1/22/07 6:01 AM
Web site/URL: photo
1-22-07 updated to fix all those 'cents' signs that quit working when PR switched servers


Linen Water

1/4 cup vodka [cheap is fine, but use 80 proof]
10-20 drops essential oil*
2 cups distilled water **


Mix vodka and oil first...the vodka is an emulsifier...then add the water.

*your choice of scent, but it must be an "essential oil"...these can be purchased at a Health Food Store.

**must use distilled, chlorinated water will kill the essential oil scent

--------------------------------------------------------

We discussed this on the message boards, and I finally got around to buying the ingredients and made some...I love it!

I put it in a spray bottle [they say you can fill your iron with this too]. You use it to mist clothing/fabrics/linens that you're ironing, or just mist fabric/bedding/upholstery for a lovely scent [like Febreze].

Cost Analysis:

I didn't want to use my Ketel One or Absolut vodka, so I bought a cheap 750ml bottle of Skol for $5.47. So 1/4 cup was 43 cents. This bottle will make 12 batches.

Essential oils vary in price, so this cost is for the 1/2 ounce of spearmint I got for $5.16. I used 10 drops, so this was 17 cents. This bottle will make 30 batches.

Distilled water...a gallon costs 72 cents, so 2 cups was 9 cents. This jug will make 8 batches.

43
17
09
69 cents for 18 ounces

Check out what it can cost to buy ready-made by clicking the web link above! [16oz for $15] [Jan.2007 update...now it's $16.50]

Merchants on PR
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!

<< Previous Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Deepika said...
Thats awesome Ardis. Thanks for the tip.
6/16/05 7:59 AM
Mary Stiefer said...
Many thanks Ardis. This sounds great.
6/16/05 8:03 AM
CatherineN said...
Wonderful tip. The price always stops me from buying this even though I love sweet smells throughout my house. Will try this after a trip to the liquor store.
6/16/05 8:54 AM
Gigi Louis said...
Thanks for sharing this, Ardis! I am definitely going to make this and use it when I iron my pillow cases.
6/16/05 9:26 AM
appleC said...
Sounds to be an affordable good idea. Will this linen water leave stains on my clothes over time?
6/16/05 9:29 AM
cindyann said...
Great tip!
6/16/05 3:53 PM
kathi s said...
Thank you, Ardis!
6/16/05 11:53 PM
joan said...
Thank you, thank you. I have some lavendar essential oil and vodka, so all I need is some distelled water. Love it.
6/17/05 0:30 AM
SewVeryTall said...
You're all very welcome :)

appleC...I can't answer your question from my own experience, because I haven't been using this for long. But since this isn't a *brand new* product, I can't imagine that stores would still be selling it [nor manufacturers still making it] if it stained, because people wouldn't purchase a second bottle. I just checked my clear spray bottle, and there's no sign of oil floating on top...the vodka really does emulsify it. The ratio is infinitesimal too, at one drop of oil in 1080 drops of water/vodka. It still amazes me how much aroma this has considering the tiny amount of spearmint I used!
6/17/05 3:34 AM

AnneM said...
Neat concept. I've heard of linen water, but never knew what it was. (Yeah, I live a sheltered life.) Thanks for sharing this.
6/17/05 5:37 AM
koo104 said...
The only concern is if you use a Rowenta iron, it will leak. You must only use tap water. I learned this the hard way. Fortunately it will eventually correct itself if you start using tap water again.
6/17/05 11:41 AM
Jayme girl said...
as usual great tip. tried it loved it thanks
6/17/05 2:00 PM
inkyannie said...
Wow, I love this idea! I'm going to try it. Thanks.
7/30/05 10:30 PM
Geri Lynn said...
After reading this tip, I made some up and love it! I love nice scents, so I went through the house spraying upholstered furniture, etc. and it's really nice and lasts a while. I'll be getting different essential oil fragrances real soon so I have several to choose from! Thanks Ardis for sharing this tip!
9/19/05 5:53 AM
CSM--Carla said...
Thanks for this wonderful tip, SewVeryTall. I've been wondering about a way to enjoy my lavender more--this should do it! Both easy and inexpensive.
2/28/06 9:06 AM
magsann said...
Will definitely be giving this a try - many thanks for the tip.
2/18/08 3:04 PM

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us