Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review


Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Find a member
MY Stuff
Friends of PR Benefits
My Pattern Reviews
My Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Widget
Photo Album
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Calendar
Deal Corner
Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine Central
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review Requests
Read All Review Requests
Add a Review Request
Live Chats
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
See all Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
all contests
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
drawer knobs as weights to hold pattern in place (Tip/Technique)
Viewed 5061 times
Review rated Helpful by 1 people   Very Helpful by 3 people   
Posted by: esmer
photo
About esmer
TX USA
Member since: 3/10/05
Reviews written: 7
Sewing skills:Intermediate
tips added: 1
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 6/24/05 7:53 PM
Last Updated: 3/10/10 4:17 AM
Hi, I just ran into something that I think might help you save money on weights that are used for cutting pattern out. I am a penny pincher when it comes to notions plus I don't want a whole lot of expensive gadget weighing down my sewing room and my wallet. In the past I purchase some weights for my cutting table so I could free myself from using pins. I have my sewing machine in my bedroom, and I didn't want any painful surprises on my bedroom floor. However, I knew that I had spent to much money for 5 little white weight. Then I ran into a handful of little drawer knobs (left from a dresser drawer face lift) that resemble my weights exactly and were just as heavy, and on the back they have that area that comes out where the screw goes in, which works as a handle when the dresser knobs are laid down on their face. 3 weeks later I went shopping with my husband to a hardware store and found 6 more weights to add to my weight stash for my cutting table. They are in shining Chrome( just adorable looking) and I got them at clearance price for .25 cents each. Wow! what a savings. What's also great about solid knobs for weights is that they come in different shapes and colors I even have some with baby kittens on them. We also have the option of how heavy we would like them to be( within reason of course). From now on when I step into a hardware store I'll be looking at it in a very, Sew, very different way. My sweet husband on the other hand is still wondering why all of sudden I like going to the hardware store with him. {SEW this is LOVE la la lala ,I think this is how that song goes.}
Merchants on PR
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!

<< Previous Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


5 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
AnneM said...
LOL I have some of the "official" pattern weights, and the little lead beads are starting to leak out! Not good. I'm going to have to switch to an alternate weight. Thanks for the suggestion on something else to look at. I'll have to head out to the hardware store.
6/26/05 5:33 PM
esmer said...
Thank you so much AnneM for letting me know about the lead beads in the weights. Have fun at the hardware store and let us know what you find sewww...useful
6/26/05 10:23 PM
Robie Kentspeth said...
I use cat-food cans and washers for my pattern weights. The washers can be taped together to make them heavier if they're not heavy enough singly.
7/2/05 1:46 PM
esmer said...
Thanks for the washers tip and I will get some asap.
7/10/05 1:28 PM
esmer said...
Just want to let you know that I got a little creative with the washer rings. I wrap some of them with different kind of stuff I had stashed away in my sewing room like yarn, ribbon and scrap fabric . Knitting yarn lucky for us now comes in beautiful colors and wonderful textures which give a interesting results. Ribbon also gives a great results especially if you use the famous pok a dots ones. Go Green! and use your scraps fabric by cutting them into either 1 or 2 inch strips and then wrap around the weight rings for a vintage look. Using novelty fabric's can help put a personal touch to them by using favorite characters. For example I like frogs but my daughter loves Rock n Roll. Hope you can use these tip either for yourself or as a awsome gift. Happy sewing my friends!
3/10/10 5:00 AM

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us