SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Tips & Techniques > drawer knobs as weights to hold pattern in place

Viewed 5141 times
Posted by: esmer
photo

 
 
About esmer
TX USA
Member since: 3/10/05
Reviews written: 7
Sewing skills:Intermediate
tips added: 1
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 6/24/05 7:53 PM
Last Updated: 3/10/10 4:17 AM
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people   Very Helpful by 3 people   
Hi, I just ran into something that I think might help you save money on weights that are used for cutting pattern out. I am a penny pincher when it comes to notions plus I don't want a whole lot of expensive gadget weighing down my sewing room and my wallet. In the past I purchase some weights for my cutting table so I could free myself from using pins. I have my sewing machine in my bedroom, and I didn't want any painful surprises on my bedroom floor. However, I knew that I had spent to much money for 5 little white weight. Then I ran into a handful of little drawer knobs (left from a dresser drawer face lift) that resemble my weights exactly and were just as heavy, and on the back they have that area that comes out where the screw goes in, which works as a handle when the dresser knobs are laid down on their face. 3 weeks later I went shopping with my husband to a hardware store and found 6 more weights to add to my weight stash for my cutting table. They are in shining Chrome( just adorable looking) and I got them at clearance price for .25 cents each. Wow! what a savings. What's also great about solid knobs for weights is that they come in different shapes and colors I even have some with baby kittens on them. We also have the option of how heavy we would like them to be( within reason of course). From now on when I step into a hardware store I'll be looking at it in a very, Sew, very different way. My sweet husband on the other hand is still wondering why all of sudden I like going to the hardware store with him. {SEW this is LOVE la la lala ,I think this is how that song goes.}

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


5 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
AnneM said...
LOL I have some of the "official" pattern weights, and the little lead beads are starting to leak out! Not good. I'm going to have to switch to an alternate weight. Thanks for the suggestion on something else to look at. I'll have to head out to the hardware store.
6/26/05 5:33 PM
esmer said...
Thank you so much AnneM for letting me know about the lead beads in the weights. Have fun at the hardware store and let us know what you find sewww...useful
6/26/05 10:23 PM
Robie Kentspeth said...
I use cat-food cans and washers for my pattern weights. The washers can be taped together to make them heavier if they're not heavy enough singly.
7/2/05 1:46 PM
esmer said...
Thanks for the washers tip and I will get some asap.
7/10/05 1:28 PM
esmer said...
Just want to let you know that I got a little creative with the washer rings. I wrap some of them with different kind of stuff I had stashed away in my sewing room like yarn, ribbon and scrap fabric . Knitting yarn lucky for us now comes in beautiful colors and wonderful textures which give a interesting results. Ribbon also gives a great results especially if you use the famous pok a dots ones. Go Green! and use your scraps fabric by cutting them into either 1 or 2 inch strips and then wrap around the weight rings for a vintage look. Using novelty fabric's can help put a personal touch to them by using favorite characters. For example I like frogs but my daughter loves Rock n Roll. Hope you can use these tip either for yourself or as a awsome gift. Happy sewing my friends!
3/10/10 5:00 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

The Technique of Underlining Garments
The Technique of Underlining Garments

Register

You Sew Girl Tulip Dress Pattern

You Sew Girl Tulip Dress Pattern

Buy Now
Islander Sewing Systems Men's Easy Shirt Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Men's Easy Shirt Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.