SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Multiple seam rippers and small scissors

Viewed 5142 times
Posted by: meanjean
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About meanjean star
TX USA
Member since: 5/4/05
Reviews written: 51
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 11 people
tips added: 7
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 6/26/05 10:14 AM
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people   Very Helpful by 5 people   
Featured in the PR book!
I like to have multiple seam rippers and small scissors (for snipping threads) scattered around when I sew. When I'm working on a project, I have one set next to my machine, one set on the ironing board, one set out on my work table, and one set in the bathroom where I check fitting. You get the idea. These aren't expensive items, so it doesn't take a big investment, but it sure saves the frustration of not having these simple, useful tools within arm's reach when you need them.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


9 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
esmer said...
I get it and will do it too. Thank you for such a wonderful tip!
6/26/05 4:27 PM
sosoatsewing said...
I misplace things all the time when I sew, so I have duplicates too!
6/26/05 6:51 PM
Tiner W said...
Yea...I have 3 seam rippers, and do you think I can ever find one when I need it? I try to keep one upstairs in the sewing area, one downstairs where I do handsewing, and the other just appears from time to time! Good tip!
6/26/05 9:42 PM
BeckyW said...
Good idea! I should do that. I have often thought that I wish I had some of those little chains like they chain down pens at the bank to keep me from walking off with my seam ripper and little sissors!
6/26/05 11:11 PM
purpleseamstress said...
great tip. Inexpensive, but what a time saver. I'm constantly hunting. Plan to stock up soon.
6/26/05 11:14 PM
Mandolin82 said...
Yes, yes, yes! I do this too. Actually I have duplicates of even more (fabric marking pencils, shears - expensive I know, rulers, pin holders).
6/27/05 9:35 PM
Cathy Loves Fabric said...
I have lost so many that, at this moment, they are strung around my neck on a string!!
6/27/05 10:34 PM
said...
Love your idea, just like my dollar store glasses that I have all over the house, I will not include seam rippers! Thanks
4/30/06 2:47 PM
said...
Love your idea, just like my dollar store glasses that I have all over the house, I will now include seam rippers! Thanks
4/30/06 2:49 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Register

Sewn Square One Paper Bag Pant Pattern

Sewn Square One Paper Bag Pant Pattern

Buy Now
SewBaby Comfy-Alls and Knit Shirt Pattern

SewBaby Comfy-Alls and Knit Shirt Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.