SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Where to Find It Notebook

Viewed 5151 times
Posted by: Miss Fairchild
photo

 
 
About Miss Fairchild starstarstarstar
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 132
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 53 people
tips added: 5
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 6/27/05 9:34 AM
Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people   Very Helpful by 9 people   
Featured in the PR book!
After many attempts to find a tip for making the perfect dart, I got frustrated and decided to make a Where to Find It notebook. In the notebook are several sheets, made on the computer, with columns labeled as: Tip, Source, Page No. In the Tip column, I write the tip I'd be looking for; in the Source Column, I write the magazine, article, book or wherever I found the tip, and of course the Page No. column is completed. Then I divide the notebook into four categories: Sewing Garments, Home Dec, Quilting, Misc. Then, when I want to find something about a dart, I look in the Sewing Garments category and there it is.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


13 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
joan said...
Beth, I am glad you posted this. I also use this method....I call it my Sewing Index. I also have one for some of my favorite recipes, since I have about as many cookbooks as I have sewing books. I input the indexes in the computer, so that when I add to them , I can keep them in alphabetical order by sorting.
6/27/05 11:11 AM
Miss Fairchild said...
Now as to the recipes, I have one for those too. A stationery company used to make them for cookbooks many years ago, but doesn't anymore, and I got the sewing idea from that. I love your idea about inputting the info in the computer. Problem for me is the computer's downstairs and my sewing room's upstairs. I'm one of those people who has to have everyting together in the same room.
6/27/05 6:19 PM
Patti B said...
I've been pondering doing something like this. If I find some time, I may try to replicate an index we subscribe to at my college library -- it indexes the indexes of a jillion reference books. Very cool. Wonder how well OCR would do with this?
6/28/05 0:10 AM
Rebecca D said...
This is a great idea. I've always wanted to go through all my old Threads and capture the information there in some easy to use format. Thanks for the tip
6/28/05 5:40 AM
hongkongshopper said...
Great idea!
6/28/05 6:20 AM
Miss Fairchild said...
Patti B, the OCR's I'm familiar with require a sans serif font. I'm not sure if you could use the table graphs, though. You might have to import them into Excel or something else.
6/28/05 7:00 AM
purpleseamstress said...
Great idea! I'm always wondering where I heard something and how to find it.
6/28/05 8:25 AM
Patti B said...
Beth, I'll have to give it a try and see what happens. The indexes vary in typeface. Alas, my scanner/fax/printer died yesterday so this will take awhile!
6/29/05 2:50 PM
esmer said...
What a grand idea! Thank you
7/1/05 4:16 PM
Robie Kentspeth said...
Threads online has a great index, by the way. And a search function! I use that fairly frequently...
7/2/05 1:25 PM
pia2099 said...
this is a wonderful idea. I can never find the tech. when i need them. As a matter of fact I think I'll make several books Annie
7/3/05 12:56 PM
melgosews said...
I just made one! I can access it with a find on my computer and made a printed copy. Great idea!!!
7/7/05 9:44 PM
inkyannie said...
Geez, I wish I were so organized. This is a great idea. I have a pile of papers I have printed off the web with tips that I want to put into a note book. Now if I can only find the time.
7/30/05 10:21 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Register

Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

Favorite Things Little Belle Skirts Pattern

Favorite Things Little Belle Skirts Pattern

Buy Now
Favorite Things The Boot Slippers Pattern

Favorite Things The Boot Slippers Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.