SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Press as you go

Viewed 5690 times
Posted by: GorgeousFabrics
photo

 
 
About GorgeousFabrics starstarstarstar
Member since: 8/12/02
Reviews written: 63
Sewing skills:Expert/Couture
Favored by: 254 people
tips added: 23
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 1/1/03 3:16 PM
Last Updated: 5/30/14 9:40 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 6 people   Very Helpful by 18 people   
Web site/URL: photo
Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipiscing elit. Fusce massa dui, blandit eu erat eget, luctus imperdiet velit. Sed ac fringilla velit, quis varius nunc. Sed ac interdum neque, iaculis malesuada lacus. Suspendisse mollis porttitor arcu quis mattis. In vitae eros felis. Nunc pharetra ac mauris interdum interdum. Nullam vitae augue et diam pretium mattis ac vitae mi. Fusce at tempus magna, vitae interdum est. Curabitur convallis varius lacus. Cras varius luctus augue, et faucibus ligula tincidunt nec. Fusce id porta dui. Etiam tristique velit tortor, at aliquam mauris feugiat sit amet. Proin quis leo imperdiet nunc sodales consequat ac nec ipsum. Donec iaculis, risus eu porttitor rhoncus, ipsum lectus lacinia urna, vel facilisis libero turpis in turpis.

Vestibulum ac urna at odio commodo mattis et eu sapien. Fusce volutpat ornare ipsum, at pulvinar justo elementum vitae. Morbi congue eget nunc eu iaculis. Cras faucibus nulla non dui molestie placerat. Quisque vestibulum faucibus dui, ac malesuada felis. In hac habitasse platea dictumst. Etiam pretium nisl neque, vitae pharetra mi consectetur ut. Nulla molestie enim quis mattis dapibus. Ut luctus placerat lectus, at vehicula augue dignissim et. Morbi luctus aliquet sagittis. Cras nec lacus non ligula malesuada hendrerit. Donec eu diam orci. Ut euismod nec est at tincidunt.

Praesent porta urna id vulputate feugiat. Donec id porttitor justo. Nam a elementum massa. In venenatis turpis quis tellus malesuada suscipit. Phasellus ultricies placerat lorem ac consequat. Praesent imperdiet semper erat, eget pharetra arcu aliquet eget. Nam eget lacus eget felis luctus sodales molestie at augue. In ullamcorper turpis vel molestie pretium. Vestibulum fermentum, metus at mollis tristique, ligula dolor rhoncus neque, ut volutpat tellus arcu id lacus. Pellentesque varius posuere dui malesuada dapibus.

In hac habitasse platea dictumst. Nunc mauris lectus, viverra ut pellentesque at, mollis varius orci. Donec id imperdiet massa, non facilisis velit. Sed et dui sit amet metus pellentesque placerat in vel ligula. Cras suscipit felis sed tellus tempus porttitor. Donec cursus leo massa, vitae faucibus sapien congue id. Ut lobortis justo odio, vitae imperdiet augue molestie eget. Pellentesque habitant morbi tristique senectus et netus et malesuada fames ac turpis egestas. Duis semper scelerisque tempus.

Donec eget nibh odio. Duis magna felis, pulvinar ut tincidunt ac, dictum sit amet dolor. Maecenas a nisl justo. Maecenas convallis diam sit amet est aliquam, at viverra justo cursus. Duis fringilla sem metus, quis consectetur odio pharetra at. Morbi sit amet placerat quam. Cum sociis natoque penatibus et magnis dis parturient montes, nascetur ridiculus mus. Morbi in viverra nisl, nec lobortis diam. Sed consequat tempus purus, non ullamcorper magna accumsan consectetur. Vestibulum a sapien malesuada, ultrices dolor eu, mattis magna. Vestibulum venenatis nisl condimentum magna ultricies pulvinar. Phasellus lacinia odio massa, a tincidunt arcu aliquet et. Curabitur vehicula libero quis pharetra suscipit. Integer volutpat neque quis tortor facilisis, sed sagittis arcu tempus.

Vivamus et faucibus sapien, vel aliquam leo. Aenean id arcu a mauris pharetra tincidunt. Maecenas suscipit et neque ut viverra. Phasellus eget bibendum tellus, sit amet dignissim lacus. Sed ac varius.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


13 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Everyday Sewist said...
Ann, I totally agree with you. I have been doing this since the day I started sewing. As a beginner, I make up the very simplest patterns. But people who see my work are always amazed that I made them myself on a simple little Kenmore. It's not that my clothes are fancy, or that I use any special techniques. I think it's because of my pressing. I press every seam just as you described. I think it makes the clothes drape better too.
1/1/03 4:02 PM
Marita Kinnula said...
Ann and Betty, this is one of my alltime favorites, it really makes a lot of difference in the end, the garments really hang better when you have put some extra time to do this little chore, Betty I'm very glad that you are doing this as a beginner in no time at all you'll be making more complicating things and with this one very basic technique already familiar to you, you can start learning something else, happy sewing hour to you both.
1/1/03 6:00 PM
Sherril Miller said...
I learned this tip in a beginning quilting class. My teacher called setting the seam. I think it is even more important to do when doing garment construction. Thanks for sharing this very important tip.
1/1/03 10:15 PM
Georgene said...
Thank you Ann for adding this, it makes such a difference in your finished garment. Underpressing is THE secret to a beautiful garment.
1/1/03 11:20 PM
Holly said...
When I started sewing back in August, I read somewhere that you are supposed to press the bobbin side of the seam only. It was probably at About Sewing.com. Did I get it wrong or is your technique more up to date, Ann?
1/2/03 3:09 PM
GorgeousFabrics said...
Hi Holly, I don't think my technique is more up to date, since I've been doing it since the 70s :). I press both sides because I notice a distinct difference. First, run your fingernail along the stitch line without pressing. You'll feel the bumps of the thread on both sides. Now if you press the bobbin side, that will press the thread into the fabric. But if you go and run your nail along both sides again, you will, in most cases, feel a difference between the side that has been pressed (smooth) and the side that has not been pressed (smoother than before, but not as smooth as the pressed side). Now, is bobbin only better than pressing both sides? I'm not sure. And I'd love to hear if anyone else has an opinion. I'll probably keep pressing both sides since it's part of my sewing habits. And you know what they say: old habits die hard! -Ann
1/2/03 4:02 PM
Dale C said...
Ann, on my nice garments, I also press both sides before pressing the seam open (or to the side). For other everyday stuff and those endless yards of home dec seams, I just press one side.
1/3/03 4:18 AM
Sharon Barnes said...
I also press the outside of the seam, using a press cloth, after the three passes on the inside. What a difference correct pressing makes. Great tip!
1/5/03 4:21 PM
Holly said...
As a newbie I read everything I can get my hands on. After seeing techniques duplicated in different ways, it's confusing to know what to use. Looks like this technique is a good habit to have and one that I'll be incorporating into my sewing. Thanks for taking the time to explain. :-)
1/5/03 6:25 PM
CArol Jean Berrett said...
Do you press the seam at first without opening it, then? Do you press both seams to one side initially (on both sides of fabric), and then press the seam open?
1/19/03 9:46 AM
Annette H said...
I've been sewing for many years but never thought to press in this way. it sounds like such a great idea, I'll be trying it today! Thanks - simple techniques can sometimes make a huge difference.
3/7/04 7:30 AM
inkyannie said...
Thanks for this tip. It is something I have never heard before. I will definately do this from now on.
1/25/06 1:08 AM
Calendria said...
I am soooo gonna try this. thank you
7/22/12 4:30 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

Sew Chic Starter Skirt Pattern (ln1000)

Sew Chic Starter Skirt Pattern (ln1000)

Buy Now
You Sew Girl Baguette Pattern

You Sew Girl Baguette Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.