SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Neckline facing without shoulder seams.

Viewed 5220 times
Posted by: els
photo

 
 
About els starstar
NA NETHERLANDS
Member since: 1/28/03
Reviews written: 44
Sewing skills:Expert/Couture
Favored by: 48 people
tips added: 32
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 7/3/05 6:46 AM
Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people   Very Helpful by 19 people   
Web site/URL: photo
Featured in the PR book!
I prefer my neckline facings for a top or tee in a woven or knit fabric without shoulder seams, this to prevent the unnecessary thickness at the shoulder seams. There is no need to double up the seam allowances at the shoulders.
Start with tracing the front and back pattern of your neckline, join the shoulder seams and trace this new neckline for a facing pattern. I add a seam at the centre back and cut the front centre part at the fold, if you use a half part pattern. If you want to use a single layout duplicate the other half pattern. I mark the shoulder stitch line so it is easy to see where the facing meets the shoulder.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


9 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Maychi said...
Great tip, Els! Thank you!
7/4/05 1:59 PM
MaryBeth said...
That's so clever it makes one say, "It's so obvious, why didn't I think of that?" Thanks!!!
7/4/05 10:50 AM
Mommo said...
What a great idea!
7/4/05 9:14 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Excellent idea. Glad you posted this as I would never have thought of it. Makes sense. I will give this a try soon.
7/4/05 8:52 AM
AnneM said...
Good idea, Els. Thanks.
7/4/05 8:33 AM
Twinkster said...
This results in a beautiful facing! Thanks for the picture too!
7/4/05 8:11 AM
Loreli said...
Thanks for the tip Els. I am going to try it out on my next top.
7/3/05 12:56 PM
meanjean said...
Thanks for the tip. Having all that thickness at the shoulder seem is always annoying to me. Next chance I get, I'm going to try your tip.
7/3/05 11:29 AM
Mary Stiefer said...
Great idea - thanks.
7/3/05 9:44 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

Sewing Workshop Icon Shirt

Sewing Workshop Icon Shirt

Buy Now
Sew Liberated Schoolhouse Tunic

Sew Liberated Schoolhouse Tunic

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.