SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Use masking tape to mark your darts

Viewed 5334 times
Posted by: alysonwonderlan
photo

 
 
About alysonwonderlan star
MD USA
Member since: 5/11/05
Reviews written: 30
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 5 people
tips added: 1
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 7/5/05 11:01 AM
Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people   Very Helpful by 9 people   
Featured in the PR book!
Have you ever had the problem where your darts look pointy on the end, causing an unflattering point right over your chest (or butt, depending on what you're darting)? It's probably because your seam isn't perfectly straight. Many peoplehave the tendency to sort of "curve" off the edge of the fabric too soon.

To combat that problem, mark along your dart seam line with masking tape and sew from the outside of the garment to the point of the dart RIGHT ALONG THE TAPE. Do not deviate. Leave yourself enough thread at the end to tie a knot. Do so and remove the tape - you should have a perfectly shaped dart.

This method works for any spot where you need a crisp point and you can use low-tack painters tape for more delicate fabrics.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


14 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
jkbd said...
As a beginner sewer figuring out how to transfer the pattern markings has been my biggest challenge. I just tried this and it worked great! Thanks!
2/26/07 11:55 AM
inkyannie said...
Thanks for this idea. I like it better than marking with a pen as I have been doing.
7/30/05 10:10 PM
esmer said...
I like this idea! I will give it a try becuase when I mark my fabric the marking on the fabric seams to fade under the sewing machine lightbulb. I believe that if I use the tape to guide me instead I won't strain my eyes anymore. Thanks for the tip.
7/19/05 5:54 PM
BeckyW said...
Great tip. I would have not have thought of this. I use painters tape topstitching zippers and on the bed of my machine for seam allowance guides, but I love having another use.
7/17/05 7:49 AM
rhoda bicycle said...
I've always had trouble with darts and will definately try this next time.
7/11/05 7:19 AM
Everyday Sewist said...
I also use scotch tape for marking topstitching. I had not used it for darts, but this is a great idea and I can't wait to try it.
7/7/05 9:09 AM
alysonwonderlan said...
SewVeryTall, Thanks for fielding the question. :-) Diane, I'm glad SewVeryTall was able to solve the problem for you - and II'm glad the tip will help you out!
7/7/05 8:13 AM
Cloud9 said...
Thanks, SewVeryTall. Ahhhh... Now I can visualize how this procedure works. This is a fantastic idea. Great timing, too because I have several alteration projects--mostly darts in the bodice area. This idea will make my project so much easier. Thanks to both Alyson and SewVeryTall!
7/7/05 3:19 AM
SewVeryTall said...
Diane...since I'm here, I'll reply...when she said 'outside', she means the widest part of the dart at the 'edge' of the fabric [as opposed to starting to sew at the 'inside', or point of the dart].
7/7/05 0:57 AM
Iris said...
Great Idea !!! ...Thanks !!!
7/6/05 3:08 PM
Cloud9 said...
Hi Alyson, I don't want to seem too dense, but I am a beginner, beginner and I can't seem to visualize how this technique works. You say to apply tape and sew from the outside of the garment. I only can picture sewing a dart from the inside of the garment. I'm sure your technique is obvious to many sewers, but I am pretty inexperienced at this. Thanks, Diane
7/6/05 2:35 PM
SandraB said...
Thanks for this tip. Very helpful. Instead of tying a knot at the end, I usually shorten the stitch length in the last half inch or so of the dart. The only problem with this is if you ever need to pick out your stitches, then God help you.
7/6/05 10:31 AM
Mary Stiefer said...
oops, I also meant to add that "great minds think alike" - hehehe. Thanks for putting this great tip into print.
7/5/05 6:00 PM
Mary Stiefer said...
This is amazing. I just did that with the last blouse that I made. It works like a charm.
7/5/05 5:59 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

SewBaby Quick Kitchen Gifts Pattern

SewBaby Quick Kitchen Gifts Pattern

Buy Now
Petite Plus 150 Pattern

Petite Plus 150 Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.