SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Tips & Techniques > Buttonhole placement for jackets and blouses

Viewed 5561 times
Posted by: els
photo

 
 
About els starstar
NA NETHERLANDS
Member since: 1/28/03
Reviews written: 44
Sewing skills:Expert/Couture
Favored by: 48 people
tips added: 32
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 7/5/05 6:01 PM
Last Updated: 5/10/06 9:04 PM
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 20 people   
Web site/URL: photo
Featured in the PR book!
If you are not sure which size button you need for your blouse or jacket, or if you want to use a different size than the pattern suggest, you can use a rule of thumb.

The size of the button will depend on the overlap (distance from center front till edge) you are using on your garment.
A guide for this is when the garment is buttoned up the distance from the edge till the button should be ½ of the diameter of the button or a tiny bit less.
You can measure this on your pattern.

A horizontal placed buttonhole starts always 1/8 or 3mm away from the center front marking line towards the edge.
You can adjust/alter the pattern for the overlay and underlay to match the size of buttons you want to use.
This rule of thumb is just a guide and not a obligation.

The link for the diagram is from Burda sewing technique book.


<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


6 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
meanjean said...
This is one of those little details that has perplexed me since there are often times when I want a different button size. Thanks for this "rule of thumb".
7/6/05 2:04 PM
Sew_K said...
Thanks so much for sharing this information! I've printed it to store in my sewing binder for future reference.
7/9/05 6:45 PM
MaryBeth said...
So glad you've brought this to our attention, Els. I believe that the extra 1/8" is to account for the width of the button shank or thrad used to attached the button, right?
5/10/06 9:59 PM
els said...
MaryBeth you are right that is the purpose for the extra 1/8.
5/10/06 10:31 PM
Gigi Louis said...
I don't know how I missed this over a year ago!
8/16/06 11:33 PM
said...
Thanks for this information. I am finishing a jacket & am at the button stage. I bought buttons larger than the pattern called for & hoped it would work as I was making the jacket from one I had seen in a high end store. Now I know that my buttons will work!
8/21/08 9:52 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

Perfect Pouches

Perfect Pouches

Buy Now
Sewn Square One Small Change Pattern

Sewn Square One Small Change Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.