SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Buttonhole placement for jackets and blouses

Viewed 5597 times
Posted by: els
photo

 
 
About els starstar
NA NETHERLANDS
Member since: 1/28/03
Reviews written: 44
Sewing skills:Expert/Couture
Favored by: 48 people
tips added: 32
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 7/5/05 6:01 PM
Last Updated: 5/10/06 9:04 PM
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 20 people   
Web site/URL: photo
Featured in the PR book!
If you are not sure which size button you need for your blouse or jacket, or if you want to use a different size than the pattern suggest, you can use a rule of thumb.

The size of the button will depend on the overlap (distance from center front till edge) you are using on your garment.
A guide for this is when the garment is buttoned up the distance from the edge till the button should be ½ of the diameter of the button or a tiny bit less.
You can measure this on your pattern.

A horizontal placed buttonhole starts always 1/8 or 3mm away from the center front marking line towards the edge.
You can adjust/alter the pattern for the overlay and underlay to match the size of buttons you want to use.
This rule of thumb is just a guide and not a obligation.

The link for the diagram is from Burda sewing technique book.


<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


6 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
said...
Thanks for this information. I am finishing a jacket & am at the button stage. I bought buttons larger than the pattern called for & hoped it would work as I was making the jacket from one I had seen in a high end store. Now I know that my buttons will work!
8/21/08 9:52 PM
Gigi Louis said...
I don't know how I missed this over a year ago!
8/16/06 11:33 PM
els said...
MaryBeth you are right that is the purpose for the extra 1/8.
5/10/06 10:31 PM
MaryBeth said...
So glad you've brought this to our attention, Els. I believe that the extra 1/8" is to account for the width of the button shank or thrad used to attached the button, right?
5/10/06 9:59 PM
Sew_K said...
Thanks so much for sharing this information! I've printed it to store in my sewing binder for future reference.
7/9/05 6:45 PM
meanjean said...
This is one of those little details that has perplexed me since there are often times when I want a different button size. Thanks for this "rule of thumb".
7/6/05 2:04 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Leather 101
Leather 101

Class Details

Online Class
Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Class Details

Petite Plus 501 Pattern

Petite Plus 501 Pattern

More Info
You Sew Girl Sling Pattern

You Sew Girl Sling Pattern

More Info

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.