SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Tips & Techniques > Time saving idea

Viewed 5145 times
Posted by: SandraB
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About SandraB starstar
JAMAICA
Member since: 11/20/03
Reviews written: 74
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 26 people
tips added: 7
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 7/6/05 10:36 AM
Review Rating: Helpful by 6 people   Very Helpful by 3 people   
Featured in the PR book!
When I try a pattern for the first time, and I am not sure how it will turn out, I will often leave out the time consuming details like belt loops and patch pockets. If the garment turns out to be a wadder, then I would not have wasted precious time on these little details.

If I like the finished product and I decide to make it again, then I go all out to add all the little details that will make the garment special.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


7 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Cloud9 said...
Hi Sandra, Now this time saving idea I can really relate to. Thanks for the time saving tip! Diane
7/6/05 2:39 PM
Astrostitcher said...
Thank you so much for this cute tip Sandra and for introducing me to the term 'wadder'! I know what you mean, now I've got a word for it. I've taken to sewing up tests in muslin. If they work I can then do some embroidery stitchouts on them for practice and if THEY work then I've got a unique garment to wear.
7/7/05 1:52 AM
pjrsews said...
Oh, if only someone had told me this 30 years ago, the time and energy I would have saved!! Thanks for the tip.
7/7/05 8:32 AM
hongkongshopper said...
Good thinking!
7/7/05 6:38 PM
PattiK said...
Oh, great idea! Thanks!
7/7/05 8:55 PM
inkyannie said...
I'm all for saving time. Thanks for the tip.
7/30/05 10:05 PM
Mill said...
I like that....a wadder!
4/6/06 11:52 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Register

The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

THE BASIC SLEEVE, a CD book by Kenneth King

THE BASIC SLEEVE, a CD book by Kenneth King

Buy Now
Sew Chic Valentine Slip Pattern (ln1207)

Sew Chic Valentine Slip Pattern (ln1207)

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.