SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Corner Hems, reducing bulk & a nicer finish

Viewed 5816 times
Posted by: SewVeryTall
photo

 
 
About SewVeryTall starstarstarstar
NE USA
Member since: 3/2/04
Reviews written: 161
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 63 people
tips added: 68
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 7/12/05 4:34 AM
Last Updated: 1/9/08 11:22 AM
Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people   Very Helpful by 16 people   
1-9-08 updated photo link for move to Shutterfly

4-20-07 Updated link for the new Yahoo

This tip is about a simple hem. You want to turn the fabric under twice and machine stitch it in place. No big deal, right? Then you find that it's a problem, when you come to a corner.

Examples of this: napkins, square or rectangular tablecloths, placemats, patch pockets, casual tops/jackets with side slits...just to name a few.

The problem is, after you've turned the hem up twice on one side, and then turn the hem twice on the adjacent side, that corner is suddenly 9-layers-of-fabric thick.

Presser feet don't like sewing along on 3 layers of fabric and suddenly changing to 9 layers. Needles aren't too happy about it either. More importantly, the bulk on that corner looks bad.

On a patch pocket, you don't have to turn the fabric under twice along the sides and bottom, of course, but you will have an ugly corner where the last turn-under shows a tiny bit of a raw edge [or if you flipped that back so it doesn't show, more bulk].

The web link above has instructions and images that will totally correct these problems...and makes the prettiest mitered corner.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


20 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
bestmom821 said...
I could not find the web link with the instructions and images.
3/4/09 7:08 PM
LaProv said...
Hi, do you get these responses? Id love to get the simple flap purse instructions that you did in 2005 but are not on Yahoo anymore... Thanks!
1/27/08 9:14 PM
SewVeryTall said...
Maryann...it's right below the date of this posting [to the left of my profile], click on the little camera icon beside "Web site/URL:"
10/26/05 5:20 AM
maryann ns said...
where is the website?
10/25/05 4:35 PM
eatsallinsects said...
WONDERFUL!
8/2/05 8:46 PM
sewkat said...
Awesome!!!!! Thanks for sharing. I can't wait to try it out, too!!
7/28/05 6:01 PM
Enigma said...
Great tip! I'll be saving this to my favorites because this is one I can get a ton of use out of. Thanks!
7/27/05 1:05 PM
MirB said...
I thought this is a wonderful tip and plan to use it on my next pocket.
7/22/05 5:31 PM
BeckyW said...
Can't wait to try this!
7/17/05 7:37 AM
Maychi said...
Thank you for an excellent tip!
7/14/05 4:58 AM
SewVeryTall said...
Thanks for all your nice comments! You're very welcome :)
7/14/05 2:02 AM
heavenly blessings said...
I use a similar method by mine is not nearly as tidy as yours. I love it!
7/13/05 7:30 PM
pjrsews said...
This is the clearest explanation of this hemming situation that I have seen anywhere. Thanks.
7/13/05 6:15 PM
GorgeousFabrics said...
Excellent tip, thanks! -Ann
7/13/05 2:58 PM
ryan's mom said...
Thanks! I just added this to my favorites.
7/13/05 7:36 AM
Patzee said...
Nice tip. Thanks for the illustration! I made a PDF for my files.
7/13/05 0:45 AM
Mary Stiefer said...
This is great and I love you illustrations - that makes it quite clear on what to do and when.
7/12/05 7:31 PM
Leslie in Austin said...
Nifty! Thanks for sharing this uper tip!
7/12/05 6:28 PM
Loreli said...
Thanks for the great tip!!!!
7/12/05 1:07 PM
Jayme girl said...
hugs. great tip Thanks again....
7/12/05 8:46 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Understanding Interfacings
Understanding Interfacings

Register

All About Linings
All About Linings

Register

Sew Liberated Flora Tunic and Twirly Skirt

Sew Liberated Flora Tunic and Twirly Skirt

Buy Now
Favorite Things The Boot Slippers Pattern

Favorite Things The Boot Slippers Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.