SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Tips & Techniques > Corner Hems, reducing bulk & a nicer finish

Viewed 5685 times
Posted by: SewVeryTall
photo

 
 
About SewVeryTall starstarstarstar
NE USA
Member since: 3/2/04
Reviews written: 161
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 63 people
tips added: 68
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 7/12/05 4:34 AM
Last Updated: 1/9/08 11:22 AM
Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people   Very Helpful by 16 people   
1-9-08 updated photo link for move to Shutterfly

4-20-07 Updated link for the new Yahoo

This tip is about a simple hem. You want to turn the fabric under twice and machine stitch it in place. No big deal, right? Then you find that it's a problem, when you come to a corner.

Examples of this: napkins, square or rectangular tablecloths, placemats, patch pockets, casual tops/jackets with side slits...just to name a few.

The problem is, after you've turned the hem up twice on one side, and then turn the hem twice on the adjacent side, that corner is suddenly 9-layers-of-fabric thick.

Presser feet don't like sewing along on 3 layers of fabric and suddenly changing to 9 layers. Needles aren't too happy about it either. More importantly, the bulk on that corner looks bad.

On a patch pocket, you don't have to turn the fabric under twice along the sides and bottom, of course, but you will have an ugly corner where the last turn-under shows a tiny bit of a raw edge [or if you flipped that back so it doesn't show, more bulk].

The web link above has instructions and images that will totally correct these problems...and makes the prettiest mitered corner.

<< Previous    Next >>

Merchants on PR

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns


Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


20 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Jayme girl said...
hugs. great tip Thanks again....
7/12/05 8:46 AM
Loreli said...
Thanks for the great tip!!!!
7/12/05 1:07 PM
Leslie in Austin said...
Nifty! Thanks for sharing this uper tip!
7/12/05 6:28 PM
Mary Stiefer said...
This is great and I love you illustrations - that makes it quite clear on what to do and when.
7/12/05 7:31 PM
Patzee said...
Nice tip. Thanks for the illustration! I made a PDF for my files.
7/13/05 0:45 AM
ryan's mom said...
Thanks! I just added this to my favorites.
7/13/05 7:36 AM
GorgeousFabrics said...
Excellent tip, thanks! -Ann
7/13/05 2:58 PM
pjrsews said...
This is the clearest explanation of this hemming situation that I have seen anywhere. Thanks.
7/13/05 6:15 PM
heavenly blessings said...
I use a similar method by mine is not nearly as tidy as yours. I love it!
7/13/05 7:30 PM
SewVeryTall said...
Thanks for all your nice comments! You're very welcome :)
7/14/05 2:02 AM
Maychi said...
Thank you for an excellent tip!
7/14/05 4:58 AM
BeckyW said...
Can't wait to try this!
7/17/05 7:37 AM
MirB said...
I thought this is a wonderful tip and plan to use it on my next pocket.
7/22/05 5:31 PM
Enigma said...
Great tip! I'll be saving this to my favorites because this is one I can get a ton of use out of. Thanks!
7/27/05 1:05 PM
sewkat said...
Awesome!!!!! Thanks for sharing. I can't wait to try it out, too!!
7/28/05 6:01 PM
eatsallinsects said...
WONDERFUL!
8/2/05 8:46 PM
maryann ns said...
where is the website?
10/25/05 4:35 PM
SewVeryTall said...
Maryann...it's right below the date of this posting [to the left of my profile], click on the little camera icon beside "Web site/URL:"
10/26/05 5:20 AM
LaProv said...
Hi, do you get these responses? Id love to get the simple flap purse instructions that you did in 2005 but are not on Yahoo anymore... Thanks!
1/27/08 9:14 PM
bestmom821 said...
I could not find the web link with the instructions and images.
3/4/09 7:08 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

Sew Liberated Simple Skinny Jeans Pattern

Sew Liberated Simple Skinny Jeans Pattern

Buy Now
Fanny Pack or Purse

Fanny Pack or Purse

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.