Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review


Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Find a member
MY Stuff
Friends of PR Benefits
My Pattern Reviews
My Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Widget
Photo Album
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Calendar
Deal Corner
Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine Central
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review Requests
Read All Review Requests
Add a Review Request
Live Chats
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
See all Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
all contests
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Corner Hems, reducing bulk & a nicer finish (Tip/Technique)
Viewed 5477 times
Review rated Helpful by 2 people   Very Helpful by 16 people   
Posted by: SewVeryTall
photo
About SewVeryTall starstarstarstar
NE USA
Member since: 3/2/04
Reviews written: 161
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 63 people
tips added: 68
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 7/12/05 4:34 AM
Last Updated: 1/9/08 11:22 AM
Web site/URL: photo
1-9-08 updated photo link for move to Shutterfly

4-20-07 Updated link for the new Yahoo

This tip is about a simple hem. You want to turn the fabric under twice and machine stitch it in place. No big deal, right? Then you find that it's a problem, when you come to a corner.

Examples of this: napkins, square or rectangular tablecloths, placemats, patch pockets, casual tops/jackets with side slits...just to name a few.

The problem is, after you've turned the hem up twice on one side, and then turn the hem twice on the adjacent side, that corner is suddenly 9-layers-of-fabric thick.

Presser feet don't like sewing along on 3 layers of fabric and suddenly changing to 9 layers. Needles aren't too happy about it either. More importantly, the bulk on that corner looks bad.

On a patch pocket, you don't have to turn the fabric under twice along the sides and bottom, of course, but you will have an ugly corner where the last turn-under shows a tiny bit of a raw edge [or if you flipped that back so it doesn't show, more bulk].

The web link above has instructions and images that will totally correct these problems...and makes the prettiest mitered corner.
Merchants on PR
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!

<< Previous Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


20 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Jayme girl said...
hugs. great tip Thanks again....
7/12/05 8:46 AM
Loreli said...
Thanks for the great tip!!!!
7/12/05 1:07 PM
Leslie in Austin said...
Nifty! Thanks for sharing this uper tip!
7/12/05 6:28 PM
Mary Stiefer said...
This is great and I love you illustrations - that makes it quite clear on what to do and when.
7/12/05 7:31 PM
Patzee said...
Nice tip. Thanks for the illustration! I made a PDF for my files.
7/13/05 0:45 AM
ryan's mom said...
Thanks! I just added this to my favorites.
7/13/05 7:36 AM
GorgeousFabrics said...
Excellent tip, thanks! -Ann
7/13/05 2:58 PM
pjrsews said...
This is the clearest explanation of this hemming situation that I have seen anywhere. Thanks.
7/13/05 6:15 PM
heavenly blessings said...
I use a similar method by mine is not nearly as tidy as yours. I love it!
7/13/05 7:30 PM
SewVeryTall said...
Thanks for all your nice comments! You're very welcome :)
7/14/05 2:02 AM
Maychi said...
Thank you for an excellent tip!
7/14/05 4:58 AM
BeckyW said...
Can't wait to try this!
7/17/05 7:37 AM
MirB said...
I thought this is a wonderful tip and plan to use it on my next pocket.
7/22/05 5:31 PM
Enigma said...
Great tip! I'll be saving this to my favorites because this is one I can get a ton of use out of. Thanks!
7/27/05 1:05 PM
sewkat said...
Awesome!!!!! Thanks for sharing. I can't wait to try it out, too!!
7/28/05 6:01 PM
eatsallinsects said...
WONDERFUL!
8/2/05 8:46 PM
maryann ns said...
where is the website?
10/25/05 4:35 PM
SewVeryTall said...
Maryann...it's right below the date of this posting [to the left of my profile], click on the little camera icon beside "Web site/URL:"
10/26/05 5:20 AM
LaProv said...
Hi, do you get these responses? Id love to get the simple flap purse instructions that you did in 2005 but are not on Yahoo anymore... Thanks!
1/27/08 9:14 PM
bestmom821 said...
I could not find the web link with the instructions and images.
3/4/09 7:08 PM

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us