SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Tips & Techniques > My Notions Wall!

Viewed 5142 times
Posted by: pittysmom
photo

 
 
About pittysmom
TN USA
Member since: 7/21/04
Reviews written: 19
Sewing skills:Beginner
tips added: 7
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 7/14/05 2:36 AM
Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people   Very Helpful by 3 people   
Web site/URL: photo
A couple of yrs ago, when I had my embroidery machine and was all up in the throes of my new hobby, DH bought me this huge thread rack for Christmas! It was handmade by some local man and sold in the sewing shop I sometimes go to. When I sold my embroidery stuff, for lack of interest, I just couldn't bear to part with the thread rack, it was one of the most thoughtful gifts DH ever bought me.
So, it sat in the guest room unused, collecting dust until one day I was moving my sewing area into our bedroom.
I got it out, cleaned it up, and put all my hang-able notions on it.
Scary, but I used to have all this stuff piled in a basket! (most of it anyway) Now, I can glance up and find anything I need.
BTW, I keep the threads toward the top, I have a thread-eating cat who's already been to the vet once for a thread overdose! >>^.,.^<<

It's just a new take on the old peg-board idea my Mom used, and it has kept my sewing area much tidier.
Here's another pic
Sewing Corner

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


7 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Mirza said...
Great idea and tidy sewing room!
7/14/05 6:54 AM
Gigi Louis said...
What a gorgeous thread rack! I too hang many of my notions on a slat wall. It's nice to be able to see it all.
7/14/05 8:03 AM
Annie- oh said...
I bought an ugly, brown thread holder this week at a local animal shelter store, immediately cleaned and spray painted it white, then didn't quite get around to putting it up till I saw your idea today. It's now up, over my machine, and yes, it has a lot on it besides thread. Thank you!
7/14/05 10:04 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Very nice thread and now notion rack. Could you come to my house and clean up my sewing room? Yours looks so tidy.
7/15/05 5:41 AM
Twinkster said...
Everything is at the ready! Great idea and thanks for sending it in.
7/15/05 6:42 AM
Aless said...
I have, waiting for my new sewing room to be done, a wall display rack salvaged from a pharmacy that was being remodelled.It have long 'hooks' and is plastic coated metal.Glad I grabbed it while it was going begging! "Necessity is the mother..." etc etc.
10/30/05 11:37 PM
Glendalea said...
I love the idea and yes you gotta watch the cats. I have my tools hanging up on a wall board that my hubby made for me and its very handy! Thanks
1/30/06 7:20 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

You Sew Girl A-Line Skirt Pattern

You Sew Girl A-Line Skirt Pattern

Buy Now
Maggie

Maggie

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.