SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Quick way to mark hems on stretchy knits

Viewed 5265 times
Posted by: PhyllisC
photo

 
 
About PhyllisC starstarstarstar
MA USA
Member since: 8/2/02
Reviews written: 202
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 81 people
tips added: 20
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 7/18/05 11:02 AM
Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people   Very Helpful by 11 people   
This is a fast and easy way to mark hems on a swimsuit or a knit garment. This method keeps the knit from stretching while you mark the hem.

You need a clear ruler marked with at least 1/2 inch increments, a smooth tracing wheel (a toothed one will hack up the fabric) and some sewing tracing paper.

Place the tracing paper on your table with the marking side up, and place the the knit on top of that, RS up. Place the ruler at double your hem - for example, 1 inch for a 1/2 inch hem. Take the tracing wheel and roll along the ruler on the RS of the fabric, moving it as needed for a curved hem, if you have one.

The hem is now marked on the WS, and you can just fold up up the hem and secure with a glue stick. Sew your hem.

You should first test the tracing paper marking to make sure it washes out,

<< Previous    Next >>

Merchants on PR

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns


Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


6 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
sosoatsewing said...
This is a good tip Phyllis, thanks for sharing!
7/18/05 5:54 PM
Astrostitcher said...
Phyllis, I don't get it : "roll the hem along"? roll the tracing wheel along the hem? And why place the ruler at double the hem, up or below? How are you going to see the mark to sew? I would think you'd have to mark above the desired finished length and fold up to it. I guess I'm just not looking at this the right way as I haven't worked much with knits. Good suggestion about how to mark without stretching. Thanks.
7/19/05 1:24 AM
PhyllisC said...
Astro - yes - your're right about "rolling the tracing wheel" - I'll edit the tip to make that clear. As for marking the line twice the depth of the hem - the logic here is that after the hem is marked, you can just fold to your marked line. Hence a 1/2 inch hem will need to be marked at a 1 inch depth - because the fold happens at 1/2 inch. So your observation of: "I would think you'd have to mark above the desired finished length and fold up to it. " is indeed what you would do.
7/19/05 7:37 AM
SandraB said...
This is a good tip. Thank you. I recently re-discovered fusible bonding web, so this is what I use, instead of a glue stick, to bond the hem before stitching. What a difference it makes. No more wobbly looking hems.
7/27/05 12:50 PM
manalicha said...
It was a joy to read your instructions. My Mom taught me a similar style. She first had me run a basting stich 1/4 inch from edge of fabric, fold and press under, then meassure 2x the actual hem and mark WS, the just fold up the hem and secure. The basting stich can or not be removed. This worked on all types of fabric.
7/28/05 9:22 PM
Jolynn said...
great idea!
8/1/05 9:35 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

You Sew Girl Evening Bag Pattern

You Sew Girl Evening Bag Pattern

Buy Now
SewBaby Hug-Me Bibs Pattern

SewBaby Hug-Me Bibs Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.