SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Seam Allowance Template

Viewed 5140 times
Posted by: smallbod
photo

 
 
About smallbod star
NA UNITED KINGDOM
Member since: 6/30/05
Reviews written: 16
Sewing skills:Beginner
Favored by: 1 people
tips added: 1
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 7/22/05 3:26 AM
Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people   Needs More Info by 1 people   Very Helpful by 4 people   
Each time I open out a pattern I find something unexpected - this time there was no seam allowances included!

So I'm sitting there, chuntering under my breath. I didn't fancy measuring around each pattern piece to mark seam allowances before cutting.

There sitting on the top of my sewing box was my Cereal box template I'd made the other day for hemming a jacket.

Aha! I just used this in reverse - to add 1.5cm around the pattern with tailor's chalk. Job done in about 10 minutes.

Thank you to the template inventor - thats twice its saved me pulling my hair out! Thanks.

Lisa

<< Previous    Next >>

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


7 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
appleC said...
Mmm...I still don't get it. How do you use a 'cereal box template' to add 1.5 cm seam allowance to a pattern piece? Could you be more specific? Thanks.
7/23/05 8:13 AM
Patzee said...
I've not heard of a "cereal box template" either.
7/23/05 12:29 PM
Everyday Sewist said...
I think she means a piece of cardboard from a cereal box. The way I'm reading this, she cuts a strip as wide as the seam allowance needed and uses this as a template. I can definitely see how this would be faster than measuring it out, especially for straight lines. For curved lines, you could just pivot the template along the curved edge as you draw the cutting line. (Am I getting this right?)
7/24/05 9:06 PM
SewVeryTall said...
I'm guessing that you're guessing right, Betty ;)
7/25/05 4:16 AM
appleC said...
Thanks, Betty. I guessed wrong. I thougt people only use cereal box(or any cardboard) template for quilting.
7/25/05 7:07 AM
MaryLynn in Long Beach said...
since we don't eat cereal, I use manila folders. Good tip, small!
7/25/05 9:22 PM
smallbod said...
ladies - sorry for delay been away from boards. i picked the idea up from PR - called a tagboard template for hemlines. Essentially a strip of stiff card - about 2.5" wide by about 8". I measured in 1.5cm along one edge, drew a line and used this as a guide to press a hem up. The eureka moment came to flip it round the other way to add 1/5cm - for a seam allowance. Just use the line to match to pattern edge & chalk along outer edge of card. Great for straight lines - for curvy bits I did this by eye - adding a smidge for safety. Lisa
7/26/05 8:03 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Register

Petite Plus Patterns Easy Wrap Dress

Petite Plus Patterns Easy Wrap Dress

Buy Now
SewBaby The Sleeve Saver Bib Pattern

SewBaby The Sleeve Saver Bib Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.