SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Tips & Techniques > Seam Allowance Template

Viewed 5155 times
Posted by: smallbod
photo

 
 
About smallbod star
NA UNITED KINGDOM
Member since: 6/30/05
Reviews written: 16
Sewing skills:Beginner
Favored by: 1 people
tips added: 1
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 7/22/05 3:26 AM
Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people   Needs More Info by 1 people   Very Helpful by 4 people   
Each time I open out a pattern I find something unexpected - this time there was no seam allowances included!

So I'm sitting there, chuntering under my breath. I didn't fancy measuring around each pattern piece to mark seam allowances before cutting.

There sitting on the top of my sewing box was my Cereal box template I'd made the other day for hemming a jacket.

Aha! I just used this in reverse - to add 1.5cm around the pattern with tailor's chalk. Job done in about 10 minutes.

Thank you to the template inventor - thats twice its saved me pulling my hair out! Thanks.

Lisa

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


7 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
appleC said...
Mmm...I still don't get it. How do you use a 'cereal box template' to add 1.5 cm seam allowance to a pattern piece? Could you be more specific? Thanks.
7/23/05 8:13 AM
Patzee said...
I've not heard of a "cereal box template" either.
7/23/05 12:29 PM
Everyday Sewist said...
I think she means a piece of cardboard from a cereal box. The way I'm reading this, she cuts a strip as wide as the seam allowance needed and uses this as a template. I can definitely see how this would be faster than measuring it out, especially for straight lines. For curved lines, you could just pivot the template along the curved edge as you draw the cutting line. (Am I getting this right?)
7/24/05 9:06 PM
SewVeryTall said...
I'm guessing that you're guessing right, Betty ;)
7/25/05 4:16 AM
appleC said...
Thanks, Betty. I guessed wrong. I thougt people only use cereal box(or any cardboard) template for quilting.
7/25/05 7:07 AM
MaryLynn in Long Beach said...
since we don't eat cereal, I use manila folders. Good tip, small!
7/25/05 9:22 PM
smallbod said...
ladies - sorry for delay been away from boards. i picked the idea up from PR - called a tagboard template for hemlines. Essentially a strip of stiff card - about 2.5" wide by about 8". I measured in 1.5cm along one edge, drew a line and used this as a guide to press a hem up. The eureka moment came to flip it round the other way to add 1/5cm - for a seam allowance. Just use the line to match to pattern edge & chalk along outer edge of card. Great for straight lines - for curvy bits I did this by eye - adding a smidge for safety. Lisa
7/26/05 8:03 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

Sewing Workshop Now & Zen Shirts Pattern

Sewing Workshop Now & Zen Shirts Pattern

Buy Now
Islander Sewing Systems The Ultimate Kinsale Cloak Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems The Ultimate Kinsale Cloak Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.