SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Crotch Curve Template

Viewed 5490 times
Posted by: MaryLynn in Long Beach
photo

 
 
About MaryLynn in Long Beach star
CA USA
Member since: 7/2/04
Reviews written: 36
Favored by: 23 people
tips added: 7
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 7/30/05 10:34 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people   Very Helpful by 9 people   
Featured in the PR book!
I just bought (and reviewed) a flexible curve. I immediately grabbed the two people I sew for and used the curve to determine their front and back crotch curves. Flexible Curve Review

As soon as I was done bending the curve to fit the front or back crotch, I laid the curve on a manila file folder and drew the curve, marking the crotch and waist ends. I labeled whether it is the front or back curve and to whom it belongs. (I use the folder instead of Oak Tag).

I then cut the curves out and punched a hole in the corner and hung them on a hook in my sewing area.

Photos coming as soon as I get some new batteries.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


8 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Joanne624 said...
Crotch curve template tip (in PR book)
9/12/13 10:48 PM
MaryLynn in Long Beach said...
GOOD FOR YOU, BETTY!
7/31/05 11:21 AM
Everyday Sewist said...
O.k., I just dug out my curve again after not using it for years, and tried it and got a much smoother curve. And yes, I can now see how this could be very helpful, especially since I usually have to 'scoop' the crotch and I'm never sure how much to scoop. Now I have a guide. Thanks for posting your tips which prodded me to give this tool another try.
7/31/05 11:18 AM
MaryLynn in Long Beach said...
Jo, I've added a link to the review for the curve. Right now, though, it's the most recent review in Sewing Notions Reviews.
7/31/05 11:18 AM
Everyday Sewist said...
Hi again, Marylynn, and thanks for your tip. My results, doing the same thing you did, were not so good. I think the key lies in how you mold the curve to your body. I think I pressed it into my curves too much and got a really funny-looking shape with lots of lumps & bumps. The lumps & bumps are real, but I wouldn't want my pants shaped that way. I guess I need to bend the curve so it's a little smoother, the way I would want my pants to drape.
7/31/05 11:12 AM
Jo Wales said...
I couldn't find your review on the flexible curve. How do I get there. Thanks.
7/31/05 0:35 AM
inkyannie said...
Thank you for this tip. I didn't even know they existed. Guess I gotta get ONE more notion. HAH! One more of many.
7/31/05 0:24 AM
tamtay said...
Thanks for this tip Marylynn--I've seen those flexible curves but hadn't gotten one--I always made do with the edge of a tape measure. But since I've vowed to create a perfect-fitting pair of pants this tip will be useful--guess I'm buying a flexible curve!
7/31/05 0:07 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

Favorite Things Lounge Around Pattern

Favorite Things Lounge Around Pattern

Buy Now
Victory Simone Paper Pattern

Victory Simone Paper Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.