SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Crotch Curve Template

Viewed 5450 times
Posted by: MaryLynn in Long Beach
photo

 
 
About MaryLynn in Long Beach star
CA USA
Member since: 7/2/04
Reviews written: 36
Favored by: 23 people
tips added: 7
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 7/30/05 10:34 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people   Very Helpful by 9 people   
Featured in the PR book!
I just bought (and reviewed) a flexible curve. I immediately grabbed the two people I sew for and used the curve to determine their front and back crotch curves. Flexible Curve Review

As soon as I was done bending the curve to fit the front or back crotch, I laid the curve on a manila file folder and drew the curve, marking the crotch and waist ends. I labeled whether it is the front or back curve and to whom it belongs. (I use the folder instead of Oak Tag).

I then cut the curves out and punched a hole in the corner and hung them on a hook in my sewing area.

Photos coming as soon as I get some new batteries.

<< Previous    Next >>

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


8 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Joanne624 said...
Crotch curve template tip (in PR book)
9/12/13 10:48 PM
MaryLynn in Long Beach said...
GOOD FOR YOU, BETTY!
7/31/05 11:21 AM
Everyday Sewist said...
O.k., I just dug out my curve again after not using it for years, and tried it and got a much smoother curve. And yes, I can now see how this could be very helpful, especially since I usually have to 'scoop' the crotch and I'm never sure how much to scoop. Now I have a guide. Thanks for posting your tips which prodded me to give this tool another try.
7/31/05 11:18 AM
MaryLynn in Long Beach said...
Jo, I've added a link to the review for the curve. Right now, though, it's the most recent review in Sewing Notions Reviews.
7/31/05 11:18 AM
Everyday Sewist said...
Hi again, Marylynn, and thanks for your tip. My results, doing the same thing you did, were not so good. I think the key lies in how you mold the curve to your body. I think I pressed it into my curves too much and got a really funny-looking shape with lots of lumps & bumps. The lumps & bumps are real, but I wouldn't want my pants shaped that way. I guess I need to bend the curve so it's a little smoother, the way I would want my pants to drape.
7/31/05 11:12 AM
Jo Wales said...
I couldn't find your review on the flexible curve. How do I get there. Thanks.
7/31/05 0:35 AM
inkyannie said...
Thank you for this tip. I didn't even know they existed. Guess I gotta get ONE more notion. HAH! One more of many.
7/31/05 0:24 AM
tamtay said...
Thanks for this tip Marylynn--I've seen those flexible curves but hadn't gotten one--I always made do with the edge of a tape measure. But since I've vowed to create a perfect-fitting pair of pants this tip will be useful--guess I'm buying a flexible curve!
7/31/05 0:07 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Class Details

Online Class
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Class Details

Paradiso Designs Carry-All Shoulder Bag Pattern

Paradiso Designs Carry-All Shoulder Bag Pattern

More Info
Christine Jonson Wrap Top

Christine Jonson Wrap Top

More Info

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.