SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > what to do with knit scraps

Viewed 5268 times
Posted by: Dale C
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Dale C starstarstar
HI USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 164
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 50 people
tips added: 12
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 1/3/03 4:12 AM
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people   Very Helpful by 4 people   
Featured in the PR book!
Whenever I make something out of a nice soft knit, I save the scraps to make underwear. Most underwear patterns take very little fabric and sometimes I have enough to squeeze on a set. Learn how to make these and you can save lots of money! I first practiced on old t-shirts till I got my pattern to fit just right. Now I refuse to buy any undies, and I don't get wedgies anymore. :)

<< Previous    Next >>

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


11 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Maria Hatfield said...
lol,,, Dale your so crazy girl ! i just cut out a panty pattern a couple of nights ago. i was trying to talk my daughter into making it first. at first she thought i was nuts for suggesting it. but i told her if she learned how to make her own panties and bra's she could make some pretty ones. (coming from someone that hasnt even tried it yet.) Thanks for the tip on keeping your scraps around for this.
1/3/03 11:40 AM
Deepika said...
This is a great tip Dale. Do you have any favorite pattern?
1/3/03 8:58 PM
Dale C said...
Actually Deepika, I used the bikini bottom from the Kwik Sew activewear book and redesigned it till I got several different styles that I like. Then I got an old favorite bra that I copied and made another pattern from that. I did try an elan pattern once and it was okay. Not as good as mine though. :)
1/4/03 5:15 AM
LindaP said...
Thanks Dale for the great tip. Another thing I do with 1/2 yard + scraps of knits is make caps for cancer patients. I make myself do them while the machines are still threaded with the right color. It only takes 15-20 minutes per cap. I had planned to donate them to a cancer center when I got a big pile but word has spread and friends ask for them for other friends now as needed. Here's the link for directions if anyone else is interested. http://www.nancysnotions.com/Nancys/assets/html/turban.asp?URLCheck=1
1/4/03 8:21 AM
Dale C said...
LindaP, thanks for the link. I'll check that out. That's a good idea for those heavier knits...
1/4/03 6:09 PM
Deepika said...
note to self: feature this link in the newsletter. Thanks Linda.
1/4/03 6:15 PM
JuliaL said...
I have to admit that when I first read this I got a mental image of underwear made out of the black-with-metallic-gold knit I'm working with at the moment...very lumpy and scratchy! Once I finished my chuckle (always welcome), I started to think about a thin jersey wadder in my closet--I may need to look into elastic...
1/6/03 10:29 PM
Peggy L said...
Dale - great idea! I was shopping with my 20 yo DD before Christmas and was appalled at the price of the underwear she was buying - and we were at Walmart!!! I made the comment that I had scraps of fabric bigger at home. I bought a KS pattern a few days later but haven't had time to make any yet. I'll review it when I get some sewing time.
1/7/03 5:25 PM
Lorna C. Newman said...
If memory serves, I think that Taunton Press released a book on sewing lingerie and had instructions about sewing undies in it. I found it at my local library. I, too have knits in my remnant pile, but they are reserved for sewing for my 19 month old and 4 year old. I often have just enough for sleeves or a yoke to coordinate with other pieces. Colourblocking made easy. What a great way to use up the stash ... note to self: use this during the new contest!
1/7/03 10:17 PM
adele said...
when sewing my panties and tops I utilize a favorite piece of commercial underwear for my pattern .
1/15/03 0:30 AM
marsha said...
My 13 yo likes to make boy cut panties out of her old concert tshirts etc, strategically placing the logos on her backside. She uses the patterns from her ks lingerie book.
2/2/03 1:16 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

Favorite Things Happy Feet Pattern

Favorite Things Happy Feet Pattern

Buy Now
Favorite Things The Boot Slippers Pattern

Favorite Things The Boot Slippers Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.