SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Powdering [instead of tracing]

Viewed 5176 times
Posted by: SewVeryTall
photo

 
 
About SewVeryTall starstarstarstar
NE USA
Member since: 3/2/04
Reviews written: 161
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 63 people
tips added: 68
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 8/2/05 5:16 AM
Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people   Very Helpful by 5 people   
I found a quick easy way to trace an intricately shaped object. I wanted to copy the shape of a nice fresh leaf I found outside. It was a very interesting and complicated shape...this would have taken half an hour to trace.

Suddenly I thought of an old box of perfumed powder [the kind that comes with a big powder puff] I had stuffed in the back of a drawer for the last 20 or more years. Has anyone ever actually used up one of these boxes of powder? I knew [subconsciously] there'd be a use for this stuff someday! lol

I laid the leaf on my fabric, held it in place with one hand, and powdered around it with the puff. Voila, it was 'traced' perfectly in seconds.

I actually did this to use fabric paint, and painted inside the powdering, but it would be useful for making fusible appliques too. Granted, your fabric must have color for this to show, and wouldn't work on white fabric.

No worries about tracing lines "coming out" of the fabric when done...just shake the powder out.

Bonus...a really lovely aroma while you work.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


8 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
jacalhoun said...
What a clever idea! And of course, white fabric could work if your powder was colored.
8/2/05 7:36 AM
PhyllisC said...
Ardis - did you know this is called "pouncing"? Long ago, embroidery designs were transfered by a paper pattern with holes pricked around the design. This was placed on the fabric and a cloth ball filled with pounce powder was used to dab the design onto the fabric. I think this method is still used by Lesage and the Royal School of Needlework.
8/2/05 12:53 PM
SewVeryTall said...
Thanks Jessica! Phyllis...no, I didn't know that...interesting info :)
8/3/05 2:53 AM
SewVeryTall said...
Thanks Jessica!

Phyllis...no, I didn't know that...interesting info :)
8/3/05 2:54 AM

Jayme girl said...
Great Idea Thanks
8/3/05 12:19 PM
Kueeny said...
Sounds interesting. A teacher of mine taught us to do that with different colors of chalk dust. It's the same idea.
8/7/05 10:03 AM
Deepika said...
Ardis great idea. Phyllis when I used to do fabric painting -- I made a lot of saris for my mom and aunts I used to take the sari to a little shop where they would transfer the design using the method you just described... Ah.. the good old days.
8/7/05 9:45 PM
Phyll said...
This works wonders when you are quilting as well for patterns as long as you are only tracing a small spot at a time
8/17/05 5:06 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

Favorite Things Sweet Es-Cape Pattern

Favorite Things Sweet Es-Cape Pattern

Buy Now
Sewn Square One Paper Bag Pant Pattern

Sewn Square One Paper Bag Pant Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.