SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Tips & Techniques > Crayola Washable Markers

Viewed 5415 times
Posted by: sue77
photo

 
 
About sue77 star
Member since: 3/14/05
Reviews written: 13
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 2 people
tips added: 1
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 8/3/05 12:37 PM
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 15 people   
I just started using Crayola Washable markers for marking on fabric! For the cost of 1 washable fabric pen (that leaves very hard to see marks) I bought a package of 8 different colors. The directions say to wash in hot water.

I test by marking, then do my prewashing in hot water. I'm making white tiered skirts right now, and the Crayola markers are visible on my fabric, and washes out completely!!!!

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


9 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Stitchology said...
I have yet to find a marker I like for fabric, thanks for this great tip.
8/3/05 8:30 PM
purpleseamstress said...
Sounds like a winner for fabric marking. I'll have to give this a try.
8/3/05 11:25 PM
Cloud9 said...
Hi Sue, This sounds like a terrific idea and the next time I go into town, I'll buy some of these Crayola Washable Markers. Often I can barely see my markings from the markers I buy in the notions department--usually it is not enough a contrast of color for my 60-something eyes to see. Thanks again for your great tip.
8/4/05 3:28 PM
ashleyanne said...
Hi Sue, what a great tip, being a grandmother I have plenty of washable markers in the play closet. Thanks for saving my eyes and my money!
8/5/05 9:55 AM
Kueeny said...
Love the idea. I must assure all of you- Crayola Washable markers gets out of ANY fabric...I should know...my daughter accidently colors of my clothes and her own ALL the time. I go through a lot of detergent. ;)
8/8/05 9:17 AM
amzany said...
They are a $1.00 a pack now at our Wal-mart back to school sale. I just got some the other day. The non washable kind are great for touching up kids clothes when they get those marks on thier clothes that won't wash out. For my son when he was little I kept 1 of each color. Saved many shirts for further wear. Now I keep them for my grandsons clothes, Mostly shirts.
8/9/05 8:32 PM
Nickle said...
Thanks for the tip- I'm going to pick some up too.
8/20/05 7:27 AM
Nancy Peters said...
I went crazy and bought several packages of Crayola Watercolor pencils thinking they would wash out easily. Big surprise for me. Took a toothbrush and laundry detergent and several washes to get the orange out of my pink cami. I do have to say the watercolors mark very easily if you dip them in water but no more marking on parts that show. I will give the Washable markers a try and thanks for letting me know they DO come out. Like you I am not happy with the markers made for fabric. I live in humid Florida and the marks dissappear quickly.
8/24/05 10:01 PM
sue77 said...
duh, I didn't realize someone else has posted this tip..... sorry!
9/17/05 10:32 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

WhatNots

WhatNots

Buy Now
SewBaby Twirl Top and Pants Pattern

SewBaby Twirl Top and Pants Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.