SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Simplicity 2258
In this video, you learn how to:
  • Use some of the basic tools
  • Choose fabric
  • Use patterns
  • Measure yourself for patterns
  • Trace and cut out the pattern
  • Lay out and cut out the pattern from fabric
  • Stitch together and press your skirt
You'll also learn about sewing machine features and pattern language and symbols.

Let Deepika demystify the process of sewing for you! Take this class!

Complete List of Videos

  1. Introduction and Tools
  2. Fabric Types
  3. What the Information on the Pattern Envelope Means
  4. Types of Patterns and What the Markings Mean
  5. Taking Body Measurements
  6. Tracing the Patterns and Understanding Markings
  7. Preparing the Fabric, Laying Out the Pattern Pieces, and Cutting Out the Fabric
  8. Getting to Know your Sewing Machine
  9. Sewing the Skirt
">Sewing Basics Online Sewing Class

Tips & Techniques > Add A Removable Cowl

Viewed 5498 times
Posted by: Noile
photo

 
 
About Noile starstar
USA
Member since: 7/3/04
Reviews: 108 (tips: 2)
Skill level:Intermediate
Favored by: 15 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 8/13/05 1:53 PM
Last Updated: 11/11/06 10:28 PM
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 7 people   
Web site/URL: photo
Featured in the PR book!
I used this technique for my McCall's 4219 Tunic With Cowl (there's a review posted on this site). The picture's posted above. This particular cowl is very large -- it makes into a hood. However, the same attachment trick can be used for any similar collar -- even adding a turtleneck to a crew-neck shirt.

The collar connects with tiny elastic loops to small buttons sewn inside the neck edging.

You need:

-- 5 to 8 small, flat buttons
--1/8 inch elastic (I prefer flat elastic, but oval could work)

First, finish the neckline of the garment as usual. Then sew 5 or so very small buttons to the underside of the neck edge. When using 5, I tend to place them on each shoulder seam, one at the center back, and the remaining two spaced evenly on each side between the shoulder seams and the center back.

For a big cowl like the one in the picture, I don't put any buttons in the front, since the cowl will drape nicely and there's no need to attach it there.

Cut an elastic loop for each button. To determine the size, fit the loops to the buttons on the garment -- you want a snug fit, so that the collar won't unbutton, but not one so tight that it's impossible to get the collar on and off easily. The loops should not show below the lower edge of the collar.

Inside your collar, sew the elastic loops to the underside of the lower edge, along the hem. Attach these loops so that they are caught only at the upper (cut) edge of the elastic.

You want the loops themselves to "flap" so that the neckline of your garment slips under the lower edge of the cowl, with the loop reaching under the garment edge to the button. This gives you a smooth seam-line line where the cowl joins the garment.

If using a smaller collar, you'll probably want to add an additional 3 buttons to the front neckline of the garment, and corresponding elastic loops to your collar.

I really enjoy doubling my options like this -- I get a lot of extra use out of my garment with just one little trick!





<< Previous    Next >>

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Historical Patterns
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

O! Jolly! Shop


Sweater knit fabrics
Web site

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


10 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
barbcl said... (3/28/07 8:04 PM) Reply
This is a great idea, and thank you for providing good instructions.
Noile said... (11/11/06 10:36 PM) Reply
Danielle -- Sorry I didn't see this sooner; I hope you see it. McCall's 4219 is the correct pattern number for the tunic -- it is OP. McCall's 4600 is the cowl pattern which I altered -- see my review of 4219. 4600 is also OP, but still available on the McCall's site. Hope this helps.
danielle Santos said... (9/5/06 1:44 AM) Reply
where did you find this pattern? it seems that McCall's 4216 does not exist anymore??? i would love to find this, i have been looking for a cowl turtleneck pattern.
bheath said... (9/8/05 1:07 PM) Reply
What a great tip! Thanks for sharing it!
Tina Rathbone said... (9/8/05 12:44 PM) Reply
Thanks for the tip. I just love your top; maybe it's the photo with the gorgeous wood hues behind the blue top (complementary colors and all :) ) but it looks so pretty. :)
Yvonnems said... (9/8/05 10:04 AM) Reply
Is this an old pattern as I cannot seem to find it anywhere and it looks so cosy
GoSewGirl said... (9/8/05 8:43 AM) Reply
Very clever! And a good description of your process too. Thanks.
MaryBeth said... (8/27/05 9:44 PM) Reply
Here ya go, Nancy: http://sewing.patternreview.com/cgi-bin/readreview.pl?readreview=1&reviewnum=10088 This is a good trick! Thanks for the construction details, Noile.
Nancy Peters said... (8/24/05 10:36 PM) Reply
I couldn't find a review for McCall's 4216 no matter what I put in the search engine. I like the idea however, and plan to use it. Thanks.
BjP said... (8/13/05 3:04 PM) Reply
Great tip and well-written. I can see many uses for this! Thanks.
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Class Details

Online Class
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Class Details

8 1/2 inch LEFTY Dressmaking Shears

8 1/2 inch LEFTY Dressmaking Shears

Pattern Details
THE SKIRTS - A CD Book By Kenneth King

THE SKIRTS - A CD Book By Kenneth King

Pattern Details

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2015 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.