SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Tips & Techniques > Beaded Bead, or 12 small beads to make a big one

Viewed 5323 times
Posted by: SewVeryTall
photo

 
 
About SewVeryTall starstarstarstar
NE USA
Member since: 3/2/04
Reviews written: 161
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 63 people
tips added: 68
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 8/21/05 5:54 AM
Last Updated: 7/6/08 6:11 AM
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people   Very Helpful by 6 people   
Web site/URL: photo
7-6-08 Updated link for the move to shutterfly...sorry for the delay!

4-11-07 Updated link for the new yahoo.

This tip shows how to make a bigger 3 dimensional bead, or ball, from 12 smaller beads. I saw this done on TV, and had to try it immediately. It's fast, fun, and very easy to learn. These are just too cool! Click the web link above for instructions with images.

Round beads work best, but I've also used slightly flattened rounds, or disc-shaped beads. Pearls work great too.

Some uses for these beaded beads:

-As a zipper pull, like in Gigi's decorative zipper pull replacement tip of 6-20-05, using a split ring to attach it [I would use beading wire to make this one, not thread].

-The 'pendant' part of a beaded necklace...just use a longer thread and once the beaded bead is tied off, continue on each end, adding single beads to form the necklace to desired length.

-Make two and hang on earring wires to make a pair of earrings.

-A decorative 'weight' on the front of a fancy purse flap.

-Hang one made from crystal prism-beads in a window to catch the sunlight and refract a spectrum of colors into your home [invisible thread would work best for this].

-When using tiny beads, consider making 12 of the beaded beads, then use those to make an even bigger beaded bead [with a total of 144 beads in it].

I added a 3rd image to the link above...shows bead placement for specific colors.




<< Previous    Next >>

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


12 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
ReneeSews said...
I am wanting to do this and remembered your tip, but the links are gone? Any help would be appreciated!
2/14/08 7:36 AM
lynnemary said...
wow fantastic thanks
9/11/05 12:19 PM
Annie- oh said...
Neat - thanks!
8/26/05 7:30 AM
SewVeryTall said...
You're all very welcome...I wasn't sure if there'd be many interested in working with beads...I'm glad I posted this :)
8/24/05 2:35 AM
Nickle said...
What a great idea for zipper pulls!
8/23/05 4:50 AM
ladylola said...
I'll have to try this, thank you for the great instructions.
8/22/05 6:35 PM
Tiner W said...
Neat! I want to try this! Thanks!
8/22/05 9:58 AM
PixieCat said...
I love this idea and will definitely try it! Thank you for the clear instructions.
8/22/05 3:03 AM
Jayme girl said...
again Thank you I make & donate neck piece for laryngetomee {NECk Breathers}and now with 2 needles you showed me an easier way ,Cleverxxxxx
8/21/05 11:24 AM
Mary Stiefer said...
I like to do beadwork and this is a great tip. Thx.
8/21/05 9:11 AM
els said...
Thanks, a great tip.
8/21/05 7:48 AM
Shellia said...
Thanks for sharing the neat idea!
8/21/05 7:35 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Class Details

Online Class
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Class Details

10 inch Professional Shears

10 inch Professional Shears

More Info
Sewing Workshop Eureka Top & Skirt

Sewing Workshop Eureka Top & Skirt

More Info

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.