SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Tips & Techniques > A Hand Extension

Viewed 5168 times
Posted by: Mary Stiefer
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Mary Stiefer starstarstarstar
CO USA
Member since: 2/17/03
Reviews written: 169
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 36 people
tips added: 27
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 8/21/05 9:31 AM
Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people   Very Helpful by 4 people   
Web site/URL: photo
Featured in the PR book!
This tool is a hemostat used in surgery and it is also used by fly fishermen when making their own flies or pulling out a hook.

It has become a second hand to me. I have a 10" and a 5 1/2" pair of hemostats and have had both of these for a very long time. They seem to always come in handy.

When making those fabric books for my DGD this were a big help. You have to sew the right sides of these panels together and leave a small opening for turning. Well, I usually leave as small an opening as possible. I only wanted a small opening for whipstitching. So, my hand wouldn't fit inside to turn the book - but - my 10" hemostat did. I guess that's why I call it an extension to my hand.

I have also used this to fill the corners of those pillows. You can put small amounts of fiberfill in the teeth, push it in the corner, hold the corner on the outside of the pillow and release the clamp. Works like a charm. P.S. I only leave a small opening in pillows also.

I also use the tips to poke out the corners of an item.

FYI - I purchased mine in store of fishing supplies. They weren't very expensive and well worth the money - IMHO

<< Previous    Next >>

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


8 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Mirza said...
Great tip!! Think I need to get one of these. Thanks!
8/21/05 7:57 PM
Nickle said...
Good tip- I have a 5 1/2" but I bet a 10" would sure come in handy for turning. Thanks for telling us where to find them too.
8/22/05 7:10 AM
SewVeryTall said...
Great tip, Mary...I have a couple pair of these by my machine too.
8/22/05 8:03 AM
BjP said...
Mary, I have a pair of these for some reason, but never knew that they would actually be useful in sewing! Thanks for the tip - once I find them (oh well), I'll put them in my sewing room!
8/23/05 5:38 PM
els said...
I have one too and use it for changing needles for my serger as well as for hand sewing projects where the needle has to pass thru heavy fabric or leather, grabbing the needle with the hemostat helps a lot. I never use stuffing but now I know that I can use it for that purpose too. Thanks for the tip.
8/24/05 1:34 PM
Annie- oh said...
Yes, Mary, thanks! I read this and immediately asked DH about fishing supply stores. Two minutes later this mostly-ex-fisherman handed me his 10" and 5 1/2" hemostats. Now could this be a record for the least amount of time between reading a notions hint and owning it?????
8/26/05 7:53 AM
CindyP said...
They are also very useful in turning the tiny hands of cloth dolls and for stuffing their little fingers, toes.
10/22/05 1:53 PM
thaiyal said...
When I was a kid, I made scrunchies using my mother's sewing machine. I used this from her dissection box (she was a zoologist) to turn the tubes. I didnt know the name of this tool then, but I was always careful never to get caught ;)
11/15/05 5:44 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

Paradiso Designs Okashi Courier Bag Pattern

Paradiso Designs Okashi Courier Bag Pattern

Buy Now
Islander Sewing Systems Men's City Western Shirt Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Men's City Western Shirt Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.