SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Fixing a badly wound bobbin

Viewed 5168 times
Posted by: Mirza
photo

 
 
About Mirza star
LA USA
Member since: 10/6/04
Reviews written: 22
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 1 people
tips added: 1
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 8/21/05 11:21 AM
Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people   Very Helpful by 12 people   
Featured in the PR book!
Sometimes my bobbin does not wind tight enough or overfills. I had this happen this morning because I was winding a bobbin and reading something else and wasn't paying attention. The thread was wound very loosely on the bobbin and had way too much thread on it. In the past I usually grab another bobbin, throw the badly wound bobbin in a case to deal with later (wasn't sure how I was going to deal with it)and just wind another bobbin. I was aggravated because I had wasted thread. Then the lightbulb went off. I took the thread off the spool. Popped the badly wound bobbin onto the thread spool. I loaded an empty bobbin and proceeded to wind a new bobbin from the badly wound one. (This time paying attention to what I was doing). Second bobbin came out perfect. Badly wound bobbin totally unwound and thread now on new perfect bobbin. No more wasted thread!!!

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


16 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Mary Stiefer said...
Gosh - why didn't I think of that. Great idea.
8/21/05 12:08 PM
librarylady said...
Brilliant. I agree with Mary... why didn't I think of that! Library Lady
8/21/05 4:07 PM
Steffie said...
Great tip! I wish I read it earlier as I had this same problem today!
8/21/05 7:30 PM
noreend said...
So simple, yet I never thought of that until I saw the title of your tip. Thanks for sharing!
8/21/05 8:05 PM
2ndHnd Rose said...
What a super idea. The thread companies may be sorry you thought of it, however!
8/21/05 8:43 PM
Nickle said...
Great idea- I do this all the time-not paying attention.
8/22/05 7:12 AM
tessa1983 said...
Wow. This happened to me just last week and I sat there and unwound it by hand back onto the spool. Then I started all over again. A lot of wasted time. This is such a great idea! Thanks Mirza
8/22/05 10:03 AM
Queendom said...
What a great idea! Thanks.
8/22/05 11:26 AM
lisaquilts said...
A great tip! Your idea takes less time than to angrily unwind it by hand (as the d*&ded bobbin skips merrily along the floor) and throw the wad of thread in the trash.
8/23/05 1:55 PM
Gigi Louis said...
Great idea!
8/24/05 8:40 AM
Lee Ann Hawkins said...
What a great idea. I just miswound a bobbin last night--thanks very much--so obvious, so simple, yet never thought of it.
8/24/05 7:28 PM
BeckyW said...
So simple, but I would have never thought of it!
8/24/05 10:30 PM
Mirza said...
I am so glad to know I am not the only one that messes up their bobbins. I wasn't sure I should post this tip since I felt inexperienced when I overwound my bobbin. I am so happy to know that this is a common problem among many of us.
8/25/05 1:15 PM
tigger said...
Wow great tip - this just happened to me this evening and I did exactly what you said - wound another bobbin! I'm going to try your fix tomorrow and I'll let you know how it goes!
8/27/05 4:39 PM
10Ksteps said...
This is helpful to me because I have had the same problem and haven't been as resourceful as you. Thanks.
10/22/05 0:31 AM
Taxigram said...
This has been a problem with my machine and I finally found the solution to badly filled bobbins. I put the bobbin on the thread spool and then hold the thread between my thumb and finger winding a little slower and with just a slight tention on the thread. Winds the bobbin perfectly. I now routinely hold the thread while winding from a spool and no longer have bad bobbins and actually get more thread on the bobbin. For this one I give myself pats on the back but can't figure out why it's taken me so long to solve the dilema.
9/27/06 4:39 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

Beginner Sewing Lab 102 - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

Beginner Sewing Lab 102  - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Riviera Shirt Pattern

Sewing Workshop Riviera Shirt Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.