SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Fixing a badly wound bobbin

Viewed 5206 times
Posted by: Mirza
photo

 
 
About Mirza star
LA USA
Member since: 10/6/04
Reviews written: 22
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 1 people
tips added: 1
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 8/21/05 11:21 AM
Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people   Very Helpful by 12 people   
Featured in the PR book!
Sometimes my bobbin does not wind tight enough or overfills. I had this happen this morning because I was winding a bobbin and reading something else and wasn't paying attention. The thread was wound very loosely on the bobbin and had way too much thread on it. In the past I usually grab another bobbin, throw the badly wound bobbin in a case to deal with later (wasn't sure how I was going to deal with it)and just wind another bobbin. I was aggravated because I had wasted thread. Then the lightbulb went off. I took the thread off the spool. Popped the badly wound bobbin onto the thread spool. I loaded an empty bobbin and proceeded to wind a new bobbin from the badly wound one. (This time paying attention to what I was doing). Second bobbin came out perfect. Badly wound bobbin totally unwound and thread now on new perfect bobbin. No more wasted thread!!!

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


16 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Mary Stiefer said...
Gosh - why didn't I think of that. Great idea.
8/21/05 12:08 PM
librarylady said...
Brilliant. I agree with Mary... why didn't I think of that! Library Lady
8/21/05 4:07 PM
Steffie said...
Great tip! I wish I read it earlier as I had this same problem today!
8/21/05 7:30 PM
noreend said...
So simple, yet I never thought of that until I saw the title of your tip. Thanks for sharing!
8/21/05 8:05 PM
2ndHnd Rose said...
What a super idea. The thread companies may be sorry you thought of it, however!
8/21/05 8:43 PM
Nickle said...
Great idea- I do this all the time-not paying attention.
8/22/05 7:12 AM
tessa1983 said...
Wow. This happened to me just last week and I sat there and unwound it by hand back onto the spool. Then I started all over again. A lot of wasted time. This is such a great idea! Thanks Mirza
8/22/05 10:03 AM
Queendom said...
What a great idea! Thanks.
8/22/05 11:26 AM
lisaquilts said...
A great tip! Your idea takes less time than to angrily unwind it by hand (as the d*&ded bobbin skips merrily along the floor) and throw the wad of thread in the trash.
8/23/05 1:55 PM
Gigi Louis said...
Great idea!
8/24/05 8:40 AM
Lee Ann Hawkins said...
What a great idea. I just miswound a bobbin last night--thanks very much--so obvious, so simple, yet never thought of it.
8/24/05 7:28 PM
BeckyW said...
So simple, but I would have never thought of it!
8/24/05 10:30 PM
Mirza said...
I am so glad to know I am not the only one that messes up their bobbins. I wasn't sure I should post this tip since I felt inexperienced when I overwound my bobbin. I am so happy to know that this is a common problem among many of us.
8/25/05 1:15 PM
tigger said...
Wow great tip - this just happened to me this evening and I did exactly what you said - wound another bobbin! I'm going to try your fix tomorrow and I'll let you know how it goes!
8/27/05 4:39 PM
10Ksteps said...
This is helpful to me because I have had the same problem and haven't been as resourceful as you. Thanks.
10/22/05 0:31 AM
Taxigram said...
This has been a problem with my machine and I finally found the solution to badly filled bobbins. I put the bobbin on the thread spool and then hold the thread between my thumb and finger winding a little slower and with just a slight tention on the thread. Winds the bobbin perfectly. I now routinely hold the thread while winding from a spool and no longer have bad bobbins and actually get more thread on the bobbin. For this one I give myself pats on the back but can't figure out why it's taken me so long to solve the dilema.
9/27/06 4:39 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Register

Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

Petite Plus 651 Pattern

Petite Plus 651 Pattern

Buy Now
Sewn Square One Small Change Pattern

Sewn Square One Small Change Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.