Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review


Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Find a member
MY Stuff
Friends of PR Benefits
My Pattern Reviews
My Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Widget
Photo Album
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Calendar
Deal Corner
Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine Central
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review Requests
Read All Review Requests
Add a Review Request
Live Chats
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
See all Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
all contests
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
You CAN fuse leather (Tip/Technique)
Viewed 5617 times
Review rated Helpful by 3 people   Very Helpful by 15 people   
Posted by: GorgeousFabrics
photo
About GorgeousFabrics starstarstarstar
Member since: 8/12/02
Reviews written: 63
Sewing skills:Expert/Couture
Favored by: 255 people
tips added: 23
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 8/26/05 2:44 PM
Last Updated: 12/6/07 1:18 PM
Sometimes, when making a bag or other leather item that needs support, you may feel stuck. How do you interface it? Gluing timtex or similar can be unwieldy. Well, have no fear. You can use good ol' fusible interfacing, as long as you work carefully.

Use a silk organza press cloth and a heat setting somewhere between wool and cotton. Press down (not too hard) for 10 seconds and voila! It's fused, and it gives just the right firmness without bulk.

Moral of the story is, Go for it! Test first, of course, but I tried fusing succesfully on cowhide, lambskin, pearl finish, metal finish, plain finish and suede, and I got good results on all of them.
Merchants on PR
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!

<< Previous Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Kathryn said...
Brilliant, Ann! Thanks for sharing your "lightbulb". Cute purse, BTW.
8/27/05 1:27 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Thanks for sharing this. Test, test and test I will do.
8/27/05 8:38 AM
MaryBeth said...
Wow, Ann, great info! Thanks to you and your friend sew much for thinking, testing, reporting and sharing this here. It sure does help, no doubt!
8/27/05 10:08 AM
Jackie M said...
Ann, good tip, with all the purse sewing I know we PR people do ... Kathleen Fasanella mentioned this in one of her blog posts several weeks, but didn't give temp or pressing details, and I haven't yet got around to asking her. Now I don't have to -- Thanks!
8/27/05 3:06 PM
kmouse said...
Thanks for sharing this. I would never have considered fusing leather! I will take another look at my purse patterns.
8/28/05 5:17 AM
PhyllisC said...
I think the light bulb must have gone off in my head at the same moment! ealier oday I fused some interfacing onto the back of a leather strap because I didn't want it to stretch so much. The onlyl thing I noticed is that the skin retained heat much longer than fabric would.
8/28/05 7:59 PM
Re Becca said...
Hey Gorgeous, I have just made my first and second leather jackets and it never occured to me that you couldn't fuse leather. I use Italian Lambskin that is just beuatiful, but my first jacket (black of course) I used fusible weft, and it was a little softer than I liked. On my second jacket I actually used fusible haircanvas which I at first thought was too stiff, now that I am wearing it, I wouldn't use anything else
9/18/05 6:00 PM
Vera said...
Great review! I purchased a pelt at the Chantilly Sewing Expo - my first leather. I've been looking at it and finally started a purse last night. I fuse my pockets for stability - but wasn't sure about leather. Clair Shaffaer's book says no. But I did a scrap - and, as it turns out, Yes! Your review lets me know that I can now go with wild abandon!! Thanx! Vera
10/31/05 8:43 AM
MaryLynn in Long Beach said...
You know how you read a tip and then say, that's interesting, but I don't think I will ever use it? This was one of those tips. Guess what? My son asked me to make a leather case for his magical coins and I need to know this now. I'm so glad that it is here. Thanks, Ann.
12/18/05 3:32 PM
Bartley said...
I was very interested in the fact that you were able to fuse interfacing to the leather. I was thinking about doing this and I have some extra heavy stablizer and some stitch witchery. Do you think that would work? What is timetex? Is it a fuseable interfaceing? Please let me know what your thoughts are on this? I'm new to sewing. Bartley
1/8/06 9:59 AM
jeannemarie1 said...
could you do this if you putin a zipper in a leather jacket?
11/16/11 11:53 AM

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us