SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > You CAN fuse leather

Viewed 5833 times
Posted by: GorgeousFabrics
photo

 
 
About GorgeousFabrics starstarstarstar
Member since: 8/12/02
Reviews written: 63
Sewing skills:Expert/Couture
Favored by: 254 people
tips added: 23
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 8/26/05 2:44 PM
Last Updated: 5/30/14 9:32 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people   Very Helpful by 15 people   
Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipiscing elit. Fusce massa dui, blandit eu erat eget, luctus imperdiet velit. Sed ac fringilla velit, quis varius nunc. Sed ac interdum neque, iaculis malesuada lacus. Suspendisse mollis porttitor arcu quis mattis. In vitae eros felis. Nunc pharetra ac mauris interdum interdum. Nullam vitae augue et diam pretium mattis ac vitae mi. Fusce at tempus magna, vitae interdum est. Curabitur convallis varius lacus. Cras varius luctus augue, et faucibus ligula tincidunt nec. Fusce id porta dui. Etiam tristique velit tortor, at aliquam mauris feugiat sit amet. Proin quis leo imperdiet nunc sodales consequat ac nec ipsum. Donec iaculis, risus eu porttitor rhoncus, ipsum lectus lacinia urna, vel facilisis libero turpis in turpis.

Vestibulum ac urna at odio commodo mattis et eu sapien. Fusce volutpat ornare ipsum, at pulvinar justo elementum vitae. Morbi congue eget nunc eu iaculis. Cras faucibus nulla non dui molestie placerat. Quisque vestibulum faucibus dui, ac malesuada felis. In hac habitasse platea dictumst. Etiam pretium nisl neque, vitae pharetra mi consectetur ut. Nulla molestie enim quis mattis dapibus. Ut luctus placerat lectus, at vehicula augue dignissim et. Morbi luctus aliquet sagittis. Cras nec lacus non ligula malesuada hendrerit. Donec eu diam orci. Ut euismod nec est at tincidunt.

Praesent porta urna id vulputate feugiat. Donec id porttitor justo. Nam a elementum massa. In venenatis turpis quis tellus malesuada suscipit. Phasellus ultricies placerat lorem ac consequat. Praesent imperdiet semper erat, eget pharetra arcu aliquet eget. Nam eget lacus eget felis luctus sodales molestie at augue. In ullamcorper turpis vel molestie pretium. Vestibulum fermentum, metus at mollis tristique, ligula dolor rhoncus neque, ut volutpat tellus arcu id lacus. Pellentesque varius posuere dui malesuada dapibus.

In hac habitasse platea dictumst. Nunc mauris lectus, viverra ut pellentesque at, mollis varius orci. Donec id imperdiet massa, non facilisis velit. Sed et dui sit amet metus pellentesque placerat in vel ligula. Cras suscipit felis sed tellus tempus porttitor. Donec cursus leo massa, vitae faucibus sapien congue id. Ut lobortis justo odio, vitae imperdiet augue molestie eget. Pellentesque habitant morbi tristique senectus et netus et malesuada fames ac turpis egestas. Duis semper scelerisque tempus.

Donec eget nibh odio. Duis magna felis, pulvinar ut tincidunt ac, dictum sit amet dolor. Maecenas a nisl justo. Maecenas convallis diam sit amet est aliquam, at viverra justo cursus. Duis fringilla sem metus, quis consectetur odio pharetra at. Morbi sit amet placerat quam. Cum sociis natoque penatibus et magnis dis parturient montes, nascetur ridiculus mus. Morbi in viverra nisl, nec lobortis diam. Sed consequat tempus purus, non ullamcorper magna accumsan consectetur. Vestibulum a sapien malesuada, ultrices dolor eu, mattis magna. Vestibulum venenatis nisl condimentum magna ultricies pulvinar. Phasellus lacinia odio massa, a tincidunt arcu aliquet et. Curabitur vehicula libero quis pharetra suscipit. Integer volutpat neque quis tortor facilisis, sed sagittis arcu tempus.

Vivamus et faucibus sapien, vel aliquam leo. Aenean id arcu a mauris pharetra tincidunt. Maecenas suscipit et neque ut viverra. Phasellus eget bibendum tellus, sit amet dignissim lacus. Sed ac varius.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


11 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Kathryn said...
Brilliant, Ann! Thanks for sharing your "lightbulb". Cute purse, BTW.
8/27/05 1:27 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Thanks for sharing this. Test, test and test I will do.
8/27/05 8:38 AM
MaryBeth said...
Wow, Ann, great info! Thanks to you and your friend sew much for thinking, testing, reporting and sharing this here. It sure does help, no doubt!
8/27/05 10:08 AM
Jackie M said...
Ann, good tip, with all the purse sewing I know we PR people do ... Kathleen Fasanella mentioned this in one of her blog posts several weeks, but didn't give temp or pressing details, and I haven't yet got around to asking her. Now I don't have to -- Thanks!
8/27/05 3:06 PM
kmouse said...
Thanks for sharing this. I would never have considered fusing leather! I will take another look at my purse patterns.
8/28/05 5:17 AM
PhyllisC said...
I think the light bulb must have gone off in my head at the same moment! ealier oday I fused some interfacing onto the back of a leather strap because I didn't want it to stretch so much. The onlyl thing I noticed is that the skin retained heat much longer than fabric would.
8/28/05 7:59 PM
Re Becca said...
Hey Gorgeous, I have just made my first and second leather jackets and it never occured to me that you couldn't fuse leather. I use Italian Lambskin that is just beuatiful, but my first jacket (black of course) I used fusible weft, and it was a little softer than I liked. On my second jacket I actually used fusible haircanvas which I at first thought was too stiff, now that I am wearing it, I wouldn't use anything else
9/18/05 6:00 PM
Vera said...
Great review! I purchased a pelt at the Chantilly Sewing Expo - my first leather. I've been looking at it and finally started a purse last night. I fuse my pockets for stability - but wasn't sure about leather. Clair Shaffaer's book says no. But I did a scrap - and, as it turns out, Yes! Your review lets me know that I can now go with wild abandon!! Thanx! Vera
10/31/05 8:43 AM
MaryLynn in Long Beach said...
You know how you read a tip and then say, that's interesting, but I don't think I will ever use it? This was one of those tips. Guess what? My son asked me to make a leather case for his magical coins and I need to know this now. I'm so glad that it is here. Thanks, Ann.
12/18/05 3:32 PM
Bartley said...
I was very interested in the fact that you were able to fuse interfacing to the leather. I was thinking about doing this and I have some extra heavy stablizer and some stitch witchery. Do you think that would work? What is timetex? Is it a fuseable interfaceing? Please let me know what your thoughts are on this? I'm new to sewing. Bartley
1/8/06 9:59 AM
jeannemarie1 said...
could you do this if you putin a zipper in a leather jacket?
11/16/11 11:53 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Register

Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

Sew Liberated Flora Tunic and Twirly Skirt

Sew Liberated Flora Tunic and Twirly Skirt

Buy Now
8 inch Dressmaking Shears

8 inch Dressmaking Shears

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.