SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Tips & Techniques > Organizing your presser feet

Viewed 6504 times
Posted by: meanjean
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About meanjean star
TX USA
Member since: 5/4/05
Reviews written: 51
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 11 people
tips added: 7
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 9/1/05 0:00 AM
Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people   Very Helpful by 23 people   
Web site/URL: photo
Featured in the PR book!
I collect presser feet the way some sewers collect notions. Problems arise, however, when I have a special need and I *think* I have the correct presser foot for the job. But how can I be sure when they are all just thrown into a box together? And who has time to go get out the sewing machine book to look up the photos/diagrams and make sure I have the right foot for my need? Good question.

Inspired by some sewers on this website who are so organized with their fabric stashes, I decided to solve my problem once and for all. A quick trip to the Container Store where I purchased a little divided box, and I was in business. I put a card in the box lid and added labels to correspond to the feet in the little cells below. Problem solved! I also penciled in the page number of where to find the usage instructions in my sewing machine book.

I "test drove" this set-up during my current project. What a time saver it's been. It was worth the time and effort to get organized.

Hope this helps,
Jean

<< Previous    Next >>

Merchants on PR

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns


Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


15 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Mary Stiefer said...
Wow - lots of work with a big payoff. Nice idea.
9/1/05 11:33 AM
sew obsessed said...
What a great idea! I "collect" feet too. I have yet to meet a foot, or shoe for that matter, that I could live without. I have been using one of those zipper organizers with the small pockets but I think this would work better. Thanks for sharing
9/1/05 11:02 PM
PixieCat said...
Great idea! I've been looking to organize my feet too and will give it a try. Thanks!
9/2/05 5:28 AM
Danvillegirl said...
This is so helpful! I purchased one of these boxes but could not figure out how I needed to label what is what. A card in the box lid!!! Now why didn't I think of that!!! Glad you did and shared it.
9/2/05 6:02 AM
Cin said...
Great idea! I have recently begun sewing after a several-year hiatus, actually had to order an instruction manual for my sewing machine as it had disappeared. I keep having to refer to the book for which foot is which. My instruction book also suggests settings (stitch width/length, tension) for several of the feet and I would add this information as well.
9/2/05 8:28 AM
Jan B. said...
Bravo! Well done--I should be so organized.
9/2/05 2:38 PM
Learn To Sew said...
Wow. I have been trying to figure out how to organize the few feet I have. I have my original foot storage full of feet and the others are in thier boxes ina drawer. Now I can get them correctly organized and I will know what foot goes with what machine and the usage. Pure genius! Carol
9/5/05 12:13 PM
Ellabell said...
What a great idea. I have too many to keep track of also. This seems to be the answer. Thanks Ellabell
9/11/05 12:42 PM
Asa Hagstrom said...
Great idea, Jean! I need to get my presser feet in order too -- seems like it should be easy to make rrom for both sewing machine and serger feet in a box like this, just by moving the dividers.
9/11/05 1:49 PM
Debbie Cook said...
Jean, I have my presser feet (all 6,000 of them!) in a box similar to this. But I really like the labels because I usually spend more time than necessary picking up a few feet and looking at them before finding the one I'm really looking for.
9/11/05 4:44 PM
lisaquilts said...
This is an excellent idea! Can you tell me the exact name of the box you used? I'd like to order it on line, since there's no Container Store nearby.
9/20/05 1:06 PM
sarads said...
I have a bernina,at the dealer bought a case just for all my presser feet.The case has sections to put your presser feet,plus their is draw for your needles, which keeps everything very organized.
9/23/05 2:53 PM
snuzal said...
I just made one from this idea. http://snuzalsews.blogspot.com/2010/08/hi-to-those-whove-just-discovered-my.html I just love it
8/12/10 7:24 PM
cindyg19 said...
and to think I was in the Container Store only a few days ago.
5/27/11 5:58 PM
hrvolson said...
Thanks, I am also addicted.
4/23/12 12:20 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Understanding Wool Fabrics
Understanding Wool Fabrics

Register

Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

Islander Sewing Systems Three Pattern Collection Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Three Pattern Collection Pattern

Buy Now
Making Patterns from Existing Garments - A CD book by Kenneth King

Making Patterns from Existing Garments - A CD book by Kenneth King

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.