SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Beware of printed plaids

Viewed 5235 times
Posted by: Gigi Louis
photo

 
 
About Gigi Louis starstarstarstar
Member since: 4/4/02
Reviews written: 78
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 251 people
tips added: 17
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 1/6/03 11:15 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people   Very Helpful by 1 people   
Okay, this isn't so much a tip as a warning! I broke my own rule about buying printed plaids when I was seduced by a designer corduroy that was heaven to touch in shades of red and blue on periwinkle. As I was doing laundry this morning I noticed that my old flannel nightshirt looks really ratty so I remembered this corduroy and thought I'd whip up a new nightshirt so that I could toss out the old one. After graining up the fabric I noticed that it was printed slightly off-grain. No big deal, I figured. I would use the plaid as my guide. After all it was a nightshirt so being perfectly on-grain wasn't critical. Well, as I delved deeper into this project I realized that it was all off - just enough so that I couldn't get a match anywhere. The horizontal lines were a little wavy as were the vertical lines. I finally wadded the fabric up and pitched it. An expensive lesson: 4 yards at $20/yd.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


8 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
KathleenS said...
This is very appropriate Gigi, because I've just received some check fabric I ordered online expecting it to be woven and it's printed! 8 yards, though much much cheaper than yours. Oh well, I'll give it a go. Fingers crossed.
1/8/03 10:40 AM
Lisa Laree said...
Wow! One would expect $20/yd fabric to have at least minimal quality control! Actually, any print with lines in it --plaid or not-- is subject to the 'off grain print'. I have a couple of pieces that I bought off the internet in which the print is off grain. One -- a sort of foulard -- dips from the selveges. I suspect the fabric stretched a bit as it went throught the printing process. The hemlines will look odd, but since I got it on clearance I'll use it for muslins and won't be out too much
1/8/03 11:30 AM
Gigi Louis said...
Hope it works out for you Kathleen - if it's a small check it should work out okay even if it doesn't match exactly. Good Luck!
1/8/03 11:31 AM
candyo said...
i don't match plaids so i'm not sure what the big deal is.
3/29/03 4:05 AM
AnneM said...
candyo: had to laugh with your comment.
9/5/03 2:44 PM
Gigi Louis said...
yes, candyo, you are in line with 99% of the RTW manufacturers. :-)
9/5/03 9:40 PM
Tee Jay said...
Gigi--its just a nightshirt! Don't you turn out the lights and sleep with your eyes closed? LOL--You are pickier than me! I would be careful with street clothes but anything goes with night wear. I do know of a seamstress who was asked by a customer to Not Match the plaids, Why? because the lady told her matched plaids make it look homemade!
9/14/03 11:12 AM
Gigi Louis said...
Tee Jay - I am too picky, aren't I? I was just so disgusted that I had to get rid of the whole mess. :-)
9/14/03 2:35 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

You Sew Girl 90mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 90mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern

Buy Now
Sewn Square One Swing Shift Pattern

Sewn Square One Swing Shift Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.