SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Beware of printed plaids

Viewed 5261 times
Posted by: Gigi Louis
photo

 
 
About Gigi Louis starstarstarstar
Member since: 4/4/02
Reviews written: 78
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 251 people
tips added: 17
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 1/6/03 11:15 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people   Very Helpful by 1 people   
Okay, this isn't so much a tip as a warning! I broke my own rule about buying printed plaids when I was seduced by a designer corduroy that was heaven to touch in shades of red and blue on periwinkle. As I was doing laundry this morning I noticed that my old flannel nightshirt looks really ratty so I remembered this corduroy and thought I'd whip up a new nightshirt so that I could toss out the old one. After graining up the fabric I noticed that it was printed slightly off-grain. No big deal, I figured. I would use the plaid as my guide. After all it was a nightshirt so being perfectly on-grain wasn't critical. Well, as I delved deeper into this project I realized that it was all off - just enough so that I couldn't get a match anywhere. The horizontal lines were a little wavy as were the vertical lines. I finally wadded the fabric up and pitched it. An expensive lesson: 4 yards at $20/yd.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


8 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
KathleenS said...
This is very appropriate Gigi, because I've just received some check fabric I ordered online expecting it to be woven and it's printed! 8 yards, though much much cheaper than yours. Oh well, I'll give it a go. Fingers crossed.
1/8/03 10:40 AM
Lisa Laree said...
Wow! One would expect $20/yd fabric to have at least minimal quality control! Actually, any print with lines in it --plaid or not-- is subject to the 'off grain print'. I have a couple of pieces that I bought off the internet in which the print is off grain. One -- a sort of foulard -- dips from the selveges. I suspect the fabric stretched a bit as it went throught the printing process. The hemlines will look odd, but since I got it on clearance I'll use it for muslins and won't be out too much
1/8/03 11:30 AM
Gigi Louis said...
Hope it works out for you Kathleen - if it's a small check it should work out okay even if it doesn't match exactly. Good Luck!
1/8/03 11:31 AM
candyo said...
i don't match plaids so i'm not sure what the big deal is.
3/29/03 4:05 AM
AnneM said...
candyo: had to laugh with your comment.
9/5/03 2:44 PM
Gigi Louis said...
yes, candyo, you are in line with 99% of the RTW manufacturers. :-)
9/5/03 9:40 PM
Tee Jay said...
Gigi--its just a nightshirt! Don't you turn out the lights and sleep with your eyes closed? LOL--You are pickier than me! I would be careful with street clothes but anything goes with night wear. I do know of a seamstress who was asked by a customer to Not Match the plaids, Why? because the lady told her matched plaids make it look homemade!
9/14/03 11:12 AM
Gigi Louis said...
Tee Jay - I am too picky, aren't I? I was just so disgusted that I had to get rid of the whole mess. :-)
9/14/03 2:35 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

You Sew Girl Beret Pattern

You Sew Girl Beret Pattern

Buy Now
Sew Liberated Aida Top Pattern

Sew Liberated Aida Top Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.