SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Using velcro to temporarily store machine needles

Viewed 5204 times
Posted by: KatieN
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About KatieN star
Member since: 3/16/05
Reviews written: 20
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 9 people
tips added: 1
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 9/13/05 7:12 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 5 people   Very Helpful by 11 people   
Web site/URL: photo
Featured in the PR book!
Before, I had been using a piece of masking tape on my machine to hold the machine needle when I was temporarily switching to a different one. This kept it from getting lost while still being within reach. However, it always left sticky residue on the needle, which caused problems.
Today, I came across some stick-on velcro in my sewing box and it occured to me that the soft loop half could hold needles. The small piece of velcro stuck to the side of the machine makes the perfect little needle holder, and won't leave any residue on the needle :-)

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


10 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Nana said...
neat idea.I'll give it a try !
9/24/05 10:12 PM
AnneM said...
Amazing how clever people are! Thanks for sharing this.
9/21/05 5:00 AM
Seamingly Simple said...
Great idea! I need a place to store my serger needles when I switch from four threads to three. Thanks for this.
9/18/05 4:17 PM
BD said...
Very Helpful, will try this thanks
9/16/05 10:06 AM
grandmasews said...
This one is a keeper (literally) - good job thinking outside the box
9/15/05 7:30 PM
BjP said...
I like this tip! I'll start doing that immediately....I was doing the taping bit, too, and not happy with it, so thanks for the idea.
9/14/05 9:11 PM
whit said...
Watch the magnets on the electronic machines. They may twiddle the bits. I HATE when that happens.
9/14/05 7:25 PM
Patzee said...
Magnets also work.
9/14/05 1:13 PM
Cloud9 said...
Great idea and looks so smart and tidy! And, oh so clever! Thank you.
9/14/05 0:11 AM
Mary Stiefer said...
Brilliant. Thanks for this one.
9/13/05 8:57 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

Sewn Square One Paper Bag Pant Pattern

Sewn Square One Paper Bag Pant Pattern

Buy Now
Victoria Jones Collection Men's Hawaiian Aloha Shirt

Victoria Jones Collection Men's Hawaiian Aloha Shirt

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.