SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Tips & Techniques > Using velcro to temporarily store machine needles

Viewed 5150 times
Posted by: KatieN
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About KatieN star
Member since: 3/16/05
Reviews written: 20
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 9 people
tips added: 1
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 9/13/05 7:12 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 5 people   Very Helpful by 11 people   
Web site/URL: photo
Featured in the PR book!
Before, I had been using a piece of masking tape on my machine to hold the machine needle when I was temporarily switching to a different one. This kept it from getting lost while still being within reach. However, it always left sticky residue on the needle, which caused problems.
Today, I came across some stick-on velcro in my sewing box and it occured to me that the soft loop half could hold needles. The small piece of velcro stuck to the side of the machine makes the perfect little needle holder, and won't leave any residue on the needle :-)

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


10 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Mary Stiefer said...
Brilliant. Thanks for this one.
9/13/05 8:57 PM
Cloud9 said...
Great idea and looks so smart and tidy! And, oh so clever! Thank you.
9/14/05 0:11 AM
Patzee said...
Magnets also work.
9/14/05 1:13 PM
whit said...
Watch the magnets on the electronic machines. They may twiddle the bits. I HATE when that happens.
9/14/05 7:25 PM
BjP said...
I like this tip! I'll start doing that immediately....I was doing the taping bit, too, and not happy with it, so thanks for the idea.
9/14/05 9:11 PM
grandmasews said...
This one is a keeper (literally) - good job thinking outside the box
9/15/05 7:30 PM
BD said...
Very Helpful, will try this thanks
9/16/05 10:06 AM
Seamingly Simple said...
Great idea! I need a place to store my serger needles when I switch from four threads to three. Thanks for this.
9/18/05 4:17 PM
AnneM said...
Amazing how clever people are! Thanks for sharing this.
9/21/05 5:00 AM
Nana said...
neat idea.I'll give it a try !
9/24/05 10:12 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

Sew Chic Pendleton Dress Pattern (ln8002)

Sew Chic Pendleton Dress Pattern (ln8002)

Buy Now
Petite Plus 502 Pattern

Petite Plus 502 Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.