Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review


Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Find a member
MY Stuff
Friends of PR Benefits
My Pattern Reviews
My Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Widget
Photo Album
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Calendar
Deal Corner
Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine Central
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review Requests
Read All Review Requests
Add a Review Request
Live Chats
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
See all Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
all contests
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Clipping -how to know when you've clipped enough (Tip/Technique)
Viewed 5145 times
Review rated Helpful by 2 people   Very Helpful by 16 people   
Posted by: SewVeryTall
photo
About SewVeryTall starstarstarstar
NE USA
Member since: 3/2/04
Reviews written: 161
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 63 people
tips added: 68
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 9/15/05 8:29 AM
Last Updated: 1/9/08 11:37 AM
Web site/URL: photo
1-9-08 updated the link for the move to Shutterfly

1-22-07 updated the link for the new yahoo

There is a very good test, to know when you've clipped the seam allowance of a curve enough, so that it will lay flat, smooth, and perfectly curved when done. The test is whether the stitching line can be held out straight. The link above shows images of this test.

The greater the curve, the closer you need to make each clip to the next clip, and the deeper the clip needs to be [closer to the stitching].

An example of this is a neckline with a facing. The back is only slightly curved, so it only needs to be clipped a little and not very deeply. The front is usually curved a lot more, so it needs to be clipped more.
Merchants on PR
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

<< Previous Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


7 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
donnao said...
it was very well written, and a good way of comparison.some reviews never get there message across,and it was right
9/16/05 3:50 PM
Jayme girl said...
great instructions as usual. Thanks
9/17/05 7:35 AM
2muchfabric said...
Very helpful tip. Thanks for the illustrated images!
9/17/05 1:40 PM
Patricia M Freeman said...
really like the illustrations.
9/18/05 6:41 PM
AnneM said...
Thanks, Ardis. Clipping still makes me nervous, so this is a great way for me to know if I've done enough.
9/21/05 5:02 AM
SewVeryTall said...
You're all very welcome...and thanks for the nice comments on my illustrations :)
9/24/05 5:16 AM
Cornelia said...
Very helpful. I have a tendency to "wing it", and this is a nice way to be a little more deliberate. Thanks.
12/18/05 12:43 PM

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us