SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > "labels" for (nearly) free

Viewed 5282 times
Posted by: Robin H
photo

 
 
About Robin H
NC USA
Member since: 1/16/05
Reviews written: 2
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
tips added: 1
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 9/17/05 7:02 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 5 people   Very Helpful by 10 people   
I sew a lot for my kids, and they (and my husband) need help telling the front from the back. For an unembellished PJ top or bottom, this can be difficult for the "unenlightened". If I have it, I use a woven size label, but sometimes I don't have one, or it isn't the right size, or will show through the fabric.

If you have a scrap of grosgrain ribbon or twill tape, double it over and include it when the neckline or waistband is finished, just like RTW. For kids who are "fussy" about scratchy tags, I LOVE scraps of rayon seam binding, which are SOFT. You can even write on the tab with a permanent marker.

You can also use this tip to keep sets together, for instance tops and bottoms with the same color tabs, if you make multiples in different size ranges for different kids


<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


6 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Penny Carlson said...
Great! This is what I've been doing on all sorts of bottoms, since my daughters were small. Works like a charm!
9/17/05 8:06 PM
AnneM said...
I now use bias cut silk charmeuse (soft), which I make from some scraps. I like the idea of the rayon seam binding also.
9/21/05 5:04 AM
Marniehau said...
I use scraps of polar fleece left over from other projects to mark the back of tops and pants. It is nice and soft, so doesn't scratch in undies either.
10/8/05 10:25 PM
Miss Fairchild said...
What a great idea! You can also use a color for whether or not something needs to be handwashed.
5/29/06 9:42 PM
Vajie said...
I use a scrap of whatever the project is made of. Then there's no contrasting texture to irritate. Also, try sewing the tags on shirts into the seam near the bottom. A lot of RTW have them there now. And since my machine has an alphabet, I stitch out my own labels in no time. :D
10/15/06 1:18 AM
Sewnla said...
Great tip and so simple too!
1/18/07 7:19 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
More Knits
More Knits

Register

10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

SewBaby Hug-Me Bibs Pattern

SewBaby Hug-Me Bibs Pattern

Buy Now
Victoria Jones Collection Busy Diva Apron and Star Potholder

Victoria Jones Collection Busy Diva Apron and Star Potholder

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.