SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Expo Reviews > Original Sewing & Quilt Expo

Massachusetts, UNITED STATES
Viewed 5706 times
Posted by: Deepika
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Deepika starstarstarstar
MA United States
Member since: 11/28/01
Reviews written: 369
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 303 people
expos reviewed: 1
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 11/8/02 1:52 PM
Last Updated: 7/11/12 2:59 PM
Rating: star
Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people   Very Helpful by 1 people   
Web site/URL: photo
This was my first sewing expo experience. This expo happened early this year (march 2002) in Worcester, MA.

This is what I liked about it
1. It was in my area!!! which is so rare. There are hardly any sewing expos in new england.
2. There were numerous sewing classes to choose from and all of them seemed very informative and useful. I took two sewing classes, one with Peggy Sagers and the other one with Kathy Ruddy (of unique patterns). Both instructors were excellent but I especially liked Peggy's way of teaching. She is very cool!
3. The expo and the classes are very affordable. They also have this bring a friend option in which if you refer a friend to the expo and they buy tickets, you and your friend get a class free. That's how Ann and I got two more classes :).
4. The expo hall was not huge but ok for a first timer. I got some good deals there.

I am already looking forward to the expo in 2003!

<< Previous    Next >>

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Add Sewing Expo Review    Read All Sewing Expo Reviews


4 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
GorgeousFabrics said...
Nancenwalt, if you look the review is also almost 4 years old. You might want to see if there are more recent ones. -Ann
6/27/06 8:00 PM
Nancenwalt said...
The review is too short and does not give enough information. There's not enough detail.
6/27/06 7:11 PM
Cathy Heffner said...
They started coming to Atlanta about 5 years ago, when it was the Sewing & Craft Expo, and I LOVED IT! I had just gotten back into sewing, and the independent pattern companies, the fabric, the fashion shows, the quality of the classes, the free presentations, and just all the women there who loved what I loved. I learned about ASG there and joined, which has been a huge help to me too. Now I work it as a volunteer--this year I assisted Nancy Shriber, Louise Cutting, Mary Ellen Flury, Mac Berg, and Cynthia Guffey, learned a ton of stuff, and actually got to handle their garments! (The ASG chapter and local guilds help with volunteers for the event.) Got my first exposure to Diane Ericson, Marcy Tilton, Karen Morris, Mary Ray, Margaret Islander, and others in the years I've gone--and I've met women from as far away as Chattanooga, TN, Birmingham, AL, North Carolina and South Carolina. It's my little "sewing vacation" too--I go from my home in south metro Atlanta to northeast metro Atlanta and just stay. I'll definitely be there again next year!
11/14/02 0:01 AM
Maria Hatfield said...
now why cant they have these kinds of expo's in my neck of the woods ? i would love it ! and break my neck trying to get there. lucky you.
11/8/02 3:17 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

SewBaby Quick and Comfy Dresses Pattern

SewBaby Quick and Comfy Dresses Pattern

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Sandra Betzina Vest & Skirt Pattern

Sewing Workshop Sandra Betzina Vest & Skirt Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.