Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review


Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Find a member
MY Stuff
Friends of PR Benefits
My Pattern Reviews
My Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Widget
Photo Album
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Calendar
Deal Corner
Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine Central
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review Requests
Read All Review Requests
Add a Review Request
Live Chats
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
See all Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
all contests
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Original Sewing & Quilt Expo (Sewing Expo Review)
Massachusetts, UNITED STATES
Viewed 5343 times
Review rated Helpful by 2 people   Very Helpful by 1 people   
Posted by: Deepika
photo
Friend of PR
About Deepika starstarstarstar
MA USA
Member since: 11/28/01
Reviews written: 337
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 283 people
expos reviewed: 1
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 11/8/02 1:52 PM
Last Updated: 7/11/12 2:59 PM
Rating: star
Web site/URL: photo
This was my first sewing expo experience. This expo happened early this year (march 2002) in Worcester, MA.

This is what I liked about it
1. It was in my area!!! which is so rare. There are hardly any sewing expos in new england.
2. There were numerous sewing classes to choose from and all of them seemed very informative and useful. I took two sewing classes, one with Peggy Sagers and the other one with Kathy Ruddy (of unique patterns). Both instructors were excellent but I especially liked Peggy's way of teaching. She is very cool!
3. The expo and the classes are very affordable. They also have this bring a friend option in which if you refer a friend to the expo and they buy tickets, you and your friend get a class free. That's how Ann and I got two more classes :).
4. The expo hall was not huge but ok for a first timer. I got some good deals there.

I am already looking forward to the expo in 2003!
Merchants on PR
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

<< Previous Next >>

Add Sewing Expo Review    Read All Sewing Expo Reviews


4 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Maria Hatfield said...
now why cant they have these kinds of expo's in my neck of the woods ? i would love it ! and break my neck trying to get there. lucky you.
11/8/02 3:17 PM
Cathy Heffner said...
They started coming to Atlanta about 5 years ago, when it was the Sewing & Craft Expo, and I LOVED IT! I had just gotten back into sewing, and the independent pattern companies, the fabric, the fashion shows, the quality of the classes, the free presentations, and just all the women there who loved what I loved. I learned about ASG there and joined, which has been a huge help to me too. Now I work it as a volunteer--this year I assisted Nancy Shriber, Louise Cutting, Mary Ellen Flury, Mac Berg, and Cynthia Guffey, learned a ton of stuff, and actually got to handle their garments! (The ASG chapter and local guilds help with volunteers for the event.) Got my first exposure to Diane Ericson, Marcy Tilton, Karen Morris, Mary Ray, Margaret Islander, and others in the years I've gone--and I've met women from as far away as Chattanooga, TN, Birmingham, AL, North Carolina and South Carolina. It's my little "sewing vacation" too--I go from my home in south metro Atlanta to northeast metro Atlanta and just stay. I'll definitely be there again next year!
11/14/02 0:01 AM
Nancenwalt said...
The review is too short and does not give enough information. There's not enough detail.
6/27/06 7:11 PM
GorgeousFabrics said...
Nancenwalt, if you look the review is also almost 4 years old. You might want to see if there are more recent ones. -Ann
6/27/06 8:00 PM

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us