SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Cutting surface

Viewed 5202 times
Posted by: regine
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About regine star
SOUTH AFRICA
Member since: 9/26/05
Reviews written: 45
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 1 people
tips added: 14
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 9/28/05 3:14 PM
Last Updated: 4/27/06 4:08 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people   Very Helpful by 12 people   
Web site/URL: photo
Featured in the PR book!
This is a tip I learnt from a sewing teacher and I find it invaluable. She covers her cutting table surface with cork sheeting. All drafting of patterns, tracing of patterns and cutting out of material is done on this cork.

Everything gets pinned on to the cork with drawing pins. It alleviates the hassle of pinning the pattern to the fabric. The fabric, pattern etc. stays in one place and it is easy to do the cutting out as nothing moves.

The drawing pins I use are those with raised heads, I don't know the correct term for them.

I do not have a permanent cutting table so my cork sheeting is kept in storage and when I need it it goes on to my desk.

Hope this is explained well enough, if not please contact me.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


11 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Kueeny said...
Never would have thought of that...sounds like a great idea. Do you keep the cork sheeting rolled up while not in use? where did you purchase the sheeting from?
9/28/05 9:00 PM
zoezmommy said...
Great Idea! But like Kueeny I would love to know more about the cork sheeting you use. Some cork sheeting I've seen is very crumbly or flakes off dust...any recommendations?
9/28/05 11:14 PM
regine said...
The cork sheeting can be rolled up but not too tightly. You can keep it under a bed to get it out of the way.
9/28/05 11:25 PM
regine said...
After searching in the telephone directory I finally found a gasket manufacturer who also supplies the cork. thanks for your comments
9/28/05 11:28 PM
SewVeryTall said...
Interesting tip. I wonder how thick your cork sheeting is...and do you rotary cut on it or use scissors?
9/29/05 2:32 AM
regine said...
The cork is 4mm thick and I use scissors but am fairly sure that a rotary cut would also work. I find that I have more control over the scissors.
9/29/05 3:57 AM
Stitchology said...
This is a wonderful idea. I use my dining table for cutting, with a mat. The cork would double as a heat proof surface under the tablecloth, so could stay there all the time. I suspect a rotary cutter would slice it up, so if you want to use one you should try on another cork surface first.
9/29/05 6:21 AM
SewVeryTall said...
Thanks for the reply. At 4mm thick, I agree with StitchMD, the rotary cutter would cut right through the cork.

p.s. I bet the cork would really help to keep slippery fabric in place.
10/1/05 3:40 AM

regine said...
The cork is available in various thicknesses but if it is too thick it cannot be rolled up for storage. If, however, you are thinking of permanently sticking it to a surface then it does not matter.
10/2/05 1:00 AM
regine said...
I have now added a photo to my tip. I makes it much easier to understand.
5/4/06 3:27 PM
Sew it seams said...
This sounds like a great idea. It sounds like it would work well for cutting slippery fabrics and can be moved and stored away when you want to use your rotary cutter. Thank you for this tip.
5/5/06 11:20 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Register

Sewing Workshop San Francisco Coat Pattern

Sewing Workshop San Francisco Coat Pattern

Buy Now
SewBaby Totpacks Pattern

SewBaby Totpacks Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.