SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Measure your yardage

Viewed 5107 times
Posted by: utz
photo

 
 
About utz star
IL USA
Member since: 12/9/04
Reviews written: 15
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 1 people
tips added: 6
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 9/29/05 7:37 AM
Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people   Very Helpful by 2 people   
Featured in the PR book!
Sorry, this is sort of a 'negative' tip.

I purchase fabric from a variety of sources. I'm well pleased by the quality and service in the main. Some are internet businesses where I am not standing at the counter as material is measured.
Unfortunately twice I've run into yardage shortage. (Sometimes it's overage.) I did lots of figuring, planning etc based on the yardage on the receipt. This took quite a bit of time. But when it's short it's a big waste of time.
Once - 7 panels of curtains where 8 where needed. Lots of yardage here, hard to measure. Always ask if you are getting one piece of fabric. Not split. If they have no more of the fabric, you're sunk.
This morning, again I'm tracing pattern for a plaid with an icky 8 inch repeat. Ordered 3.5 yds - knowing plaid would be tough. Got 2 yds 32 inches. Argh. The other piece was measured over, paid for 2.75 yds, got 2.94. 18 inches in a plaid is like a mile in plain weave.
To be fair, the staff at these places may be rushed, or whatever and just slice at the approximate yardage. But approximate doesn't do on a plaid.
In both cases businesses took care of me for costs. But that did not save me any time.
Maybe everyone does this measuring except me. But now I will always measure the yardage first upon receipt. Won't figure, trace pattern until I do that. Saves time and reduces the aggravation.

<< Previous    Next >>

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


7 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
CookieFan said...
Thanks for the tip. I often purchase on-line fabric and never thought about measuring the fabric on receipt.
9/29/05 1:45 PM
France said...
It might be a good idea ist when placing the order to post a request to get on piece only. And if there are going to send you the yardage in pieces they should inform you prior to shipping with the quantities and dyelot numbers. Reputable companie should do that . I work in Interior Design, we order fabrics all the time and this problem does happen from time to time. So YES do measure your fabric before you cut it. There is no reason you should'nt get what you paid for. Good luck!!
9/29/05 9:06 PM
seKimberlyso said...
I never measured until I got an order with what seemed like a lot less fabric then I ordered. Figured out they had forgotten half my order. Now if in doubt I measure the stuff.
9/30/05 12:28 PM
SewVeryTall said...
Good tip. I haven't ordered online, but I would be very ticked if I was shorted or sent two pieces that should be one. I watch like a hawk, during measuring and cutting at the fabric store. We put too much time and effort into our work, to have to deal with this kind of error. I remeasure after the prewash too...I really dislike wasting time!
10/1/05 4:00 AM
sewingnena said...
This is a really good tip. I do order fabric and kits online occasionally. Recently I had a similar problem with a kit for a Thanksgiving wall hanging. I started to work on the kit and several fabrics were missing from the kit! I immediatly informed the source and she assured me that she would correct the problem and include more material, etc. for my trouble. I do not think this source was trying to cheat me but that they are sometimes careless in preparing the kits. Checking our orders upon arrival saves time in the long run. Thanks for the tip.
10/1/05 12:22 PM
cpdesigns said...
This is an excellent tip, I always inspect and measure off my yardage. No matter what, if there is a damage in the goods, you know it will fall front and center if not taken into consideration when your cutting.
10/1/05 3:46 PM
AnneM said...
I also always measure my fabric (only because I want to record it more accurately in my records). I've never been shorted yet - been lucky, I guess. This is one reason I like Fabric.com - they cut a little extra per yard to prevent this. (NAYY)
10/4/05 4:36 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

Victoria Jones Collection Men's Hawaiian Aloha Shirt

Victoria Jones Collection Men's Hawaiian Aloha Shirt

Buy Now
Favorite Things A Wallet Purse Pattern

Favorite Things A Wallet Purse Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.