SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Another life for fabric scraps

Viewed 5341 times
Posted by: SewCrazy1000
photo

 
 
About SewCrazy1000
MD USA
Member since: 5/3/04
Reviews written: 17
Sewing skills:Intermediate
tips added: 1
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 10/2/05 8:51 AM
Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people   Very Helpful by 5 people   
**This is good if you are also a knitter...which I am! :-)**


I usually end up with long or odd ends of fabric after a project, and since I like to knit rag rugs and wacky purses, I make the fabric into about 1/2 inch strips, tie them all together (random colors or whatever), ball them up, and voila, I have a unique "yarn" for knitting!

I've made purses, recycle bags (the plactic bags make interesting knitting weaves), rag rugs, wall hangings, and a really off beat looking jacket this way. I have to use large needles, of course, but the final product is pretty cool. :-)

Also, I like to think of reusing those beautiful pieces of fabric I have from making DD's clothes into something I can look at and remember (like the wall hanging idea).


<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


8 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Miss Fairchild said...
Great tip! I sew a lot and am just now getting back into knitting after 42 plus years. Fortunately, I'm looking for a new idea for my kitchen rugs; one that will make them washable and this is it! Thanks so much!
10/6/05 7:22 AM
Marita Kinnula said...
Ardis, you took the words right out of my mouth, I was going to suggest that she would cut them in bias too, maybe even 1/3 of a inch might be a good idea. We make rugs using looms, with thiskind of ragthread only we don't cut them in strips and not in bias either( just thought the bias would be better for knitting), we leave about 1/2 a inch worh of fabric uncut in the end and start cutting the next strip, this way you don't have to use knots. You know people, this used to be like olympic sports in these neck of woods, people still do it but not so much out of neccesity, more like a hobby!
10/6/05 0:32 AM
SewVeryTall said...
This is a fun tip, thanks!

My mom used to make crocheted rugs similar to this [although she sewed 1" strips together, then folded the strips like double fold bias tape, as she rolled it into a ball]. These rugs were rather thick, and wore like iron.

I wonder, have you ever tried cutting the strips on the bias to avoid long ravelings? It would be stretchier, but then that might be good? [like yarn is stretchy]
10/3/05 7:42 PM

SewCrazy1000 said...
Hey Mary....still trying to get the dratted camera working, so hang in here with me and I'll explain... 1. I try to get the strips down to about 1/4 or even 1/2 inches wide; the length will vary depending on the original piece you had, but let's say it is about 6" long for this example. 2. Tie 'em all end to end, a simple knot will do. You'll have a long, long string of rag-looking strips that are skinny. 3. Ball 'em up ... just roll them into a ball like you roll a ball of regular yarn. 4. Needle size... big ones. I sometimes use 13, 15, 17s and so forth, depending on how big I want the knit to be. The plastic bags I make into strips can be used with the same needle size, or smaller, depending opn how tight it is.
10/3/05 2:21 PM
xela said...
Please post a picture. Great, great, idea!
10/3/05 10:26 AM
10Ksteps said...
This sounds like fun, and I am into using every scrap of fabric, too. I would like to see some of the things you've created.
10/3/05 0:11 AM
Annie- oh said...
An ah-ha moment - thank you! Annie
10/2/05 1:35 PM
Mary Reed said...
I need pictures, or more details or something!! How wide to you cut the fabric? Exactly what type and size of needles do you use to knit this type of "yarn"? I remember my grandmother always making "kitchen rugs" out of Mrs. Baird's Bread wrappers - but I am sure they were crochetted and not knitted. Please, please give more information: websites, blogs or more detail here. THANK YOU!!!
10/2/05 9:34 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Class Details

Online Class
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Class Details

Victory Nicola Paper Pattern

Victory Nicola Paper Pattern

More Info
SewBaby Animal Mittens Pattern

SewBaby Animal Mittens Pattern

More Info

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.