SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Expo Reviews > American Sewing Expo 2005

Michigan, UNITED STATES
Viewed 5364 times
Posted by: SewingSkater
photo

 
 
About SewingSkater starstar
MI USA
Member since: 1/5/05
Reviews written: 57
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 34 people
expos reviewed: 1
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 10/4/05 7:23 AM
Rating: starstarstar
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 3 people   
Web site/URL: photo
This sewing expo ran from Friday, September 30 through Sunday October 2nd. The expo included booths that would interest fashion sewists, quilters, and general craft sewers alike.

My main reason for attending this expo was the HotPatterns booth. However, when I got there I was pleasantly surprised at the number of booths, classes, and demos that were featured. This was my second expo I've ever been to, and it completely blew away the first expo in terms of number of people there, number of booths, general quality, and value. Although I didn't specifically sign up for any classes, I had a lot of fun going from booth to booth.

A highlight of mine was stopping in the simplicity booth and seeing all of their pattern samples made up. I decided on a few patterns that I otherwise would not have noticed. I also was able to try stuff on. For example, one of the threads coats for which I have a pattern was made up in a 10. Surprisingly, the 10 fit me. Talking with one of the designers, she suggested I make a 12. I would have made a 14 on my own, so I found this extremely helpful.

I also enjoyed going to the HotPatterns booth and meeting Trudy. I believe this was worth the entire trip! She gave me a ton of advice and recommended patterns that would fit my body type.

There were a few booths with fabric, but I didn't end up buying any. Most of the time I felt I could find similar items online or at my local independent, and the prices were a bit high for my taste.

Although there were a ton of *art vests*, quilts, etc., there was still a lot for the fashion-minded sewer. (NO offense to anyone who makes/wears/likes art vests. They just aren't my bag). I saw a ton of the independent patterns in various booths, also.

All in all, a good expo. I will be going back next year and probably will register for some classes.


The admission fee was $12.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Sewing Expo Review    Read All Sewing Expo Reviews


7 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
MaryBeth said...
I'm attended on Sunday and in talking with Trudy at Hotpatterns.com learned that you had been there the day before. I'm so sorry I missed meeting up with you! I think this year's expo is soooo much better for us fashion sewists than the last few years have been. It was a wonderful day! The Fabric Gallery and The Wool House saw me coming...and Trudy is the best.
10/5/05 4:08 AM
Mandi Ballard said...
sounds nice. I'm thinking of going at some point. One of my art quilts was there in a vendor booth.
10/5/05 6:29 AM
10Ksteps said...
This was very helpful to me. I am eager to attend sewing (not quilting---though I love quilts and do attend quilt shows) seminars/expos that deal with garments. There are not that many in my area; I hope attending those that are near will continue their presence. I liked the info you gave re the pattern companies and fabric prices especially. Thanks for your insight.
10/5/05 11:31 AM
Muria said...
I've been looking at the website for the American Sewing Expo, and I'm really impressed at the prices for the seminars. According to their website, they have pre-show classes the day before for $89 for a whole day of classes! I'm definitely going to try to go next year, as I just found out about this years' show. Thanks for the review! It's nice to know the opinion of someone who's been to it.
10/14/05 9:31 PM
umjudis said...
I too attended the Expo on Friday. I thought this year had a good assortment of vendors for quilting, garment sewing, and crafts. Last year seemed to be geared more toward quilting. Simplicity was there last year too with the same jacket pattern made up in all sizes. That was very helpful as were their representatives. I especially enjoyed a number of button vendors this year. Didn't notice them before. I picked up some unusual buttons and made some terrific buys of fabric from Haberman's. For some reason, didn't get around to the free demos like I usually do. I will definitely return again next year.
10/20/05 12:58 PM
Pateria said...
This is the second largest sewing expo in the U.S.!! By all means, GO! I don't do quilting, but the wealth of information offered is astounding in its variety! I picked up new pointers in heirloom sewing, ribbon embroidery by machine, fleece techniques, and lots more. I attended Thursday for the all day seminar before the show started. You get 8 hours to sew, with no phones, no kids, no interruptions. That in itself was a luxury! There are also so many new sources for all kinds of sewing supplies available for use after the show--when you save up more money! I have attended this for three years now and can't think of missing is next year. My favorite memory of this years expo was a young girl excited over finding the perfect pattern to go with fabric she had found. I don't know the girl or her mother, but it was so comforting to know that the tradition continues! It was also nice to find quality fabric-not chain store reruns.
10/24/05 9:46 AM
Sweetsong said...
I attended the Expo last year and loved it! (going every other year is going to be the rule) I found the classes to be very good, BUT next year I'm just going to visit the booths, try all the make & takes, and take my time. The fashion shows are excellent, too.
12/28/05 11:01 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

You Sew Girl 150mm Poppet Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 150mm Poppet Purse Pattern

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Riviera Shirt Pattern

Sewing Workshop Riviera Shirt Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.