SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Tips & Techniques > paper for pattern tracing

Viewed 5260 times
Posted by: Rosie who use to be Rose
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Rosie who use to be Rose starstar
OH USA
Member since: 10/10/02
Reviews written: 115
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 9 people
tips added: 1
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 10/10/05 4:56 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people   Very Helpful by 10 people   
Featured in the PR book!
I have been tracing patterns for years on tissue paper, butcher paper, whatever I could find. Then one day a couple of years ago I got a sample roll of Swedish tracing paper. It was wonderful, but I stretched that roll and used every tiny bit because it was a little pricey for me. Then my dd got married and wanted an wedding aisle runner! I'd never heard of such a thing, but we ended up buying one off e-bay, 75 yards of 36" non-woven cloth like material for 16.90 dollars 8.90 dollars shipping. We used it for the wedding and after the wedding I used it to trace patterns! It isn't the same as the Swedish tracing paper, it has a vine pattern on it, but it is easy to see through, easy to write on, doesn't tear easily, you can sew it, and it's much less expensive. It worked so well that I recently bought another roll. This time 150 yards for 31 dollars shipping.

You can find these by going to e-bay and searching for aisle runners. I bought mine from bridalplace1 who ships very quickly.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


8 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
joan said...
Was your source for both rolls e-bay?
10/10/05 6:36 PM
Stitchology said...
Yes, please tell us where these are sold.
10/11/05 11:55 AM
Jo Wales said...
I wonder if it is like sewer paper. Loes Hinse had us trace off patterns on the sewer paper and it is easy to see through and handles like a thin piece of fabric and you can sew on it. She said to get it at Home Depot.
10/12/05 10:56 AM
Rosie who use to be Rose said...
hey guys, you can find these by going to e-bay, and searching for aisle runners. I bought mine from bridalplacec1 who ships very quickly
10/17/05 2:04 AM
bumblebee said...
I am curious. I have never heard of such a thing. I presume the paper is intended to run the lenght of the wedding isle. Why on earth would a bride want tracing paper on the floor?
10/30/05 3:49 AM
DesertMorning said...
I can't seem to get anything by searching ebay -- can you give us the email address of the person you bought the paper from? Thanks.
11/2/05 4:07 PM
uellis said...
Fantastic tip! Just bought 150 ft for $13 plus $8 ship on Ebay.
11/11/05 7:17 PM
rekhasharma said...
For those who are still looking for the tracing paper try http://cgi.ebay.com/SEWABLE-SWEDISH-TRACING-PAPER-29-IN-X-10-YDS_W0QQitemZ350037727289QQcmdZViewItem?hash=item350037727289
3/26/08 5:43 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

Pants Fitting DVD

Pants Fitting DVD

Buy Now
Sew Chic Pretty Petticoat Pattern (ln1208)

Sew Chic Pretty Petticoat Pattern (ln1208)

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.