Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review


Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Find a member
MY Stuff
Friends of PR Benefits
My Pattern Reviews
My Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Widget
Photo Album
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Calendar
Deal Corner
Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine Central
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review Requests
Read All Review Requests
Add a Review Request
Live Chats
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
See all Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
all contests
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Arrowhead tack (Tip/Technique)
Viewed 5655 times
Review rated Helpful by 2 people   Needs More Info by 1 people   
Posted by: regine
photo
Friend of PR
About regine star
SOUTH AFRICA
Member since: 9/26/05
Reviews written: 44
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 1 people
tips added: 14
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 10/11/05 1:20 AM
Last Updated: 12/20/09 4:59 AM
Web site/URL: photo
Featured in the PR book!
In the Readers Digest Complete Guide to Sewing in the chapter about hand stitches they describe an "Arrowhead tack".

I find that I use it all the time. Most of my skirts have inverted pleats at the back and in order to prevent the top of the pleat from coming undone I sew the arrowhead tack at the top of the pleat. This used to be done many years ago and somehow is not fashionable any more.



There is always a fair amount of strain at this point and the tack certinly does help. I use embroidery cotton.
Merchants on PR
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

<< Previous Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


5 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Mary Stiefer said...
Not everyone knows what an "arrowhead tack" is. I assume you are doing this by hand. I have a reference - for anyone who is interested - it is also called "Sprat's Head" stitch. Here is a link to vintage sewing that might help by showing a view of this stitch - http://www.vintagesewing.info/1940s/4x-lgcm/lgcm-21.html#sprat
10/11/05 10:34 AM
regine said...
thanks a lot Mary - after I wrote the tip I realised that it may not have been too clear but I did mention the Readers Digest Book. Suppose not everyone has the book!!!
10/11/05 11:13 AM
regine said...
That is exactly what I meant, what a lovely website, thanks again
10/11/05 11:16 AM
Atallah said...
I don't know how to make and arrowhead tack and was looking for some kind of instruction I quess.
12/19/09 8:17 PM
regine said...
Hi Atallah, I have now changed the photo and you will be able to see how to make the tack, good luck.
12/20/09 7:58 AM

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us