SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Tips & Techniques > Arrowhead tack

Viewed 5922 times
Posted by: regine
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About regine star
SOUTH AFRICA
Member since: 9/26/05
Reviews written: 45
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 1 people
tips added: 14
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 10/11/05 1:20 AM
Last Updated: 12/20/09 4:59 AM
Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people   Needs More Info by 1 people   
Web site/URL: photo
Featured in the PR book!
In the Readers Digest Complete Guide to Sewing in the chapter about hand stitches they describe an "Arrowhead tack".

I find that I use it all the time. Most of my skirts have inverted pleats at the back and in order to prevent the top of the pleat from coming undone I sew the arrowhead tack at the top of the pleat. This used to be done many years ago and somehow is not fashionable any more.



There is always a fair amount of strain at this point and the tack certinly does help. I use embroidery cotton.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


5 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Mary Stiefer said...
Not everyone knows what an "arrowhead tack" is. I assume you are doing this by hand. I have a reference - for anyone who is interested - it is also called "Sprat's Head" stitch. Here is a link to vintage sewing that might help by showing a view of this stitch - http://www.vintagesewing.info/1940s/4x-lgcm/lgcm-21.html#sprat
10/11/05 10:34 AM
regine said...
thanks a lot Mary - after I wrote the tip I realised that it may not have been too clear but I did mention the Readers Digest Book. Suppose not everyone has the book!!!
10/11/05 11:13 AM
regine said...
That is exactly what I meant, what a lovely website, thanks again
10/11/05 11:16 AM
Atallah said...
I don't know how to make and arrowhead tack and was looking for some kind of instruction I quess.
12/19/09 8:17 PM
regine said...
Hi Atallah, I have now changed the photo and you will be able to see how to make the tack, good luck.
12/20/09 7:58 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

SewBaby "I Can Do It" Cloth Activity Book Pattern

SewBaby

Buy Now
Favorite Things A Safe Place Pattern

Favorite Things A Safe Place Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.