SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Arrowhead tack

Viewed 6078 times
Posted by: regine
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About regine star
SOUTH AFRICA
Member since: 9/26/05
Reviews written: 45
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 1 people
tips added: 14
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 10/11/05 1:20 AM
Last Updated: 12/20/09 4:59 AM
Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people   Needs More Info by 1 people   
Web site/URL: photo
Featured in the PR book!
In the Readers Digest Complete Guide to Sewing in the chapter about hand stitches they describe an "Arrowhead tack".

I find that I use it all the time. Most of my skirts have inverted pleats at the back and in order to prevent the top of the pleat from coming undone I sew the arrowhead tack at the top of the pleat. This used to be done many years ago and somehow is not fashionable any more.



There is always a fair amount of strain at this point and the tack certinly does help. I use embroidery cotton.

<< Previous    Next >>

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

The Smuggler's Daughter


Online Fabric Store
Web site

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


5 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
regine said...
Hi Atallah, I have now changed the photo and you will be able to see how to make the tack, good luck.
12/20/09 7:58 AM
Atallah said...
I don't know how to make and arrowhead tack and was looking for some kind of instruction I quess.
12/19/09 8:17 PM
regine said...
That is exactly what I meant, what a lovely website, thanks again
10/11/05 11:16 AM
regine said...
thanks a lot Mary - after I wrote the tip I realised that it may not have been too clear but I did mention the Readers Digest Book. Suppose not everyone has the book!!!
10/11/05 11:13 AM
Mary Stiefer said...
Not everyone knows what an "arrowhead tack" is. I assume you are doing this by hand. I have a reference - for anyone who is interested - it is also called "Sprat's Head" stitch. Here is a link to vintage sewing that might help by showing a view of this stitch - http://www.vintagesewing.info/1940s/4x-lgcm/lgcm-21.html#sprat
10/11/05 10:34 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Class Details

Online Class
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Class Details

Sew Liberated Sunday Picnic Blouse and Dress

Sew Liberated Sunday Picnic Blouse and Dress

More Info
Favorite Things Little Lounge Around Pattern

Favorite Things Little Lounge Around Pattern

More Info

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.