SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Photographing Easy and Well - patterns; pictures; fabric, etc.

Viewed 5165 times
Posted by: FeyFaerie
photo

 
 
About FeyFaerie
OH USA
Member since: 10/6/05
Reviews written: 2
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
tips added: 1
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 10/22/05 10:03 PM
Last Updated: 11/7/06 3:37 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people   Very Helpful by 5 people   
Web site/URL: photo
I've noticed a lot of photographs of either patterns, fabric, pattern envelopes - all visually "flat" items, post on PR. The one thing most of these have in common is that they are hard to "see"; this is due to the photographer (usually) placing the item/s on a table or floor, and then "fitting (framing)" the items in the shot, which results in distortion.
Here's a tip I learned while struggling to photograph my artwork - no matter how many times I used that darn level, the "picture" was crooked, and thus distorted.
Place your item/s (pattern evelopes, patterns, fabric, etc.) on the floor. Between the items and the floor use a contrasting color (e.g. white pattern envelopes - place black posterboard, about $.010/sheet, on the floor and arrange the patterns on top. The opposite is true - dark items, such as some fabrics, use white posterboard.).
Next you will need your camera and something to stand on ( a chair, stepstool, table - whatever, as long as you are at least 18-24 inches above the ground), and a brightly lit room - even using flash.
Stand up on your stepstool, chair, etc. and point your camera down, directly above, what you want to photograph (thus, make sure that your material to be photographed is as close as possible to what you will be standing on.
Take your picture. It might take 2-3 tries to get the hang of - but once you do, I think you will be very happy with the results.
Remember, safety first - if you feel dizzy, or are nervous about heights, have a friend help you.
This technique also works great for photographing quilts, fiberarts, etc. for entering competitions!

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


7 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
LilyCat said...
Thank you so much for you photography tip. I just took a few photos of a bag I recently created and following your tips, I can actually see it on my computer screen! I'm new to PR, so it may take me a bit to figure out how to post it, lol.
11/13/05 4:15 PM
Karla Kizer said...
I knew I should have signed up for Photography 101...but it's so much easier to blame the camera. Great tip, and I promise I'll try it next time. My pics have been among the worst on PR.
10/30/05 7:13 AM
SewVeryTall said...
Great tip, thanks!
10/24/05 3:19 AM
FeyFaerie said...
Linda L - Congrats on the new camera! Just FYI - this technique works equally well with a no frills digital camera, too. The photo I attached was taken w/ a digital camera. Also, anyone who is "camcorder" savvy, and has "image capture" abilities, should find this technique to be really easy (especially w/ a decent viewfinder window)!
10/23/05 7:10 PM
Danvillegirl said...
I just purchased a decent camera and really just learning how to use it and take better photos. Timely tip. Thanks
10/23/05 9:49 AM
hongkongshopper said...
Thanks for the tip - will give it a try!
10/23/05 1:24 AM
regine said...
thanks, I have been having great difficulty with taking decent photos, will try this technique
10/23/05 0:11 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

Sew Liberated Aida Top Pattern

Sew Liberated Aida Top Pattern

Buy Now
Favorite Things Happy Feet Pattern

Favorite Things Happy Feet Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.