Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review


Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Find a member
MY Stuff
Friends of PR Benefits
My Pattern Reviews
My Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Widget
Photo Album
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Calendar
Deal Corner
Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine Central
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review Requests
Read All Review Requests
Add a Review Request
Live Chats
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
See all Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
all contests
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Photographing Easy and Well - patterns; pictures; fabric, etc. (Tip/Technique)
Viewed 5042 times
Review rated Helpful by 3 people   Very Helpful by 5 people   
Posted by: FeyFaerie
photo
About FeyFaerie
OH USA
Member since: 10/6/05
Reviews written: 2
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
tips added: 1
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 10/22/05 10:03 PM
Last Updated: 11/7/06 3:37 PM
Web site/URL: photo
I've noticed a lot of photographs of either patterns, fabric, pattern envelopes - all visually "flat" items, post on PR. The one thing most of these have in common is that they are hard to "see"; this is due to the photographer (usually) placing the item/s on a table or floor, and then "fitting (framing)" the items in the shot, which results in distortion.
Here's a tip I learned while struggling to photograph my artwork - no matter how many times I used that darn level, the "picture" was crooked, and thus distorted.
Place your item/s (pattern evelopes, patterns, fabric, etc.) on the floor. Between the items and the floor use a contrasting color (e.g. white pattern envelopes - place black posterboard, about $.010/sheet, on the floor and arrange the patterns on top. The opposite is true - dark items, such as some fabrics, use white posterboard.).
Next you will need your camera and something to stand on ( a chair, stepstool, table - whatever, as long as you are at least 18-24 inches above the ground), and a brightly lit room - even using flash.
Stand up on your stepstool, chair, etc. and point your camera down, directly above, what you want to photograph (thus, make sure that your material to be photographed is as close as possible to what you will be standing on.
Take your picture. It might take 2-3 tries to get the hang of - but once you do, I think you will be very happy with the results.
Remember, safety first - if you feel dizzy, or are nervous about heights, have a friend help you.
This technique also works great for photographing quilts, fiberarts, etc. for entering competitions!
Merchants on PR
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


7 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
regine said...
thanks, I have been having great difficulty with taking decent photos, will try this technique
10/23/05 0:11 AM
hongkongshopper said...
Thanks for the tip - will give it a try!
10/23/05 1:24 AM
Danvillegirl said...
I just purchased a decent camera and really just learning how to use it and take better photos. Timely tip. Thanks
10/23/05 9:49 AM
FeyFaerie said...
Linda L - Congrats on the new camera! Just FYI - this technique works equally well with a no frills digital camera, too. The photo I attached was taken w/ a digital camera. Also, anyone who is "camcorder" savvy, and has "image capture" abilities, should find this technique to be really easy (especially w/ a decent viewfinder window)!
10/23/05 7:10 PM
SewVeryTall said...
Great tip, thanks!
10/24/05 3:19 AM
Karla Kizer said...
I knew I should have signed up for Photography 101...but it's so much easier to blame the camera. Great tip, and I promise I'll try it next time. My pics have been among the worst on PR.
10/30/05 7:13 AM
LilyCat said...
Thank you so much for you photography tip. I just took a few photos of a bag I recently created and following your tips, I can actually see it on my computer screen! I'm new to PR, so it may take me a bit to figure out how to post it, lol.
11/13/05 4:15 PM

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us