Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review


Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Find a member
MY Stuff
Friends of PR Benefits
My Pattern Reviews
My Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Widget
Photo Album
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Calendar
Deal Corner
Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine Central
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review Requests
Read All Review Requests
Add a Review Request
Live Chats
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
See all Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
all contests
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Bias Tape or Binding -how to make [updated with images] (Tip/Technique)
Viewed 5414 times
Review rated Helpful by 1 people   Very Helpful by 31 people   
Posted by: SewVeryTall
photo
About SewVeryTall starstarstarstar
NE USA
Member since: 3/2/04
Reviews written: 161
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 63 people
tips added: 68
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 10/25/05 4:57 AM
Last Updated: 8/3/07 5:56 AM
Web site/URL: photo
8-03-07 link updated for move to shutterfly
1-22-07 link updated for the new yahoo.

This is an update on a tip I previously posted, because a few people requested images to help visualize this [click web link above for images].

For those who don't have the bias tape makers, or don't have the right size needed, there is a cooler way of making it other than pressing the strips in half, then opening, folding and ironing each raw edge to the middle.

The trick is to use a long pin, and pin it into your ironing board. First pin it in and out, then skip the distance you want the width of the single fold bias tape, then pin in and out again. Just to help this be visualized, if you wanted 1/4 inch double fold bias tape, you would catch the pin in the ironing board, skip over 1/2 inch, then catch the pin in the ironing board again.

Next, push the strip of fabric you've cut underneath the pin in the skipped space. As you pull it through, fold the edges in until they meet in the center. Now that you've got them evenly folded in, pull the fabric back to near the beginning. Once you've got it going right, it wants to keep going that way because the pin is holding it.

Now you start ironing. Press that first inch or so, then pull a little more fabric through, press it, pull more through, press, etc. Once you've got enough pressed that it's longer than the width of your iron, you can just set the iron down on the fabric, use one hand to guide the fabric, and one hand to pull it through.

After you've done all the single fold bias, you can change the width of the skipped space on the pin to half as wide. Now it will hold the double fold bias, as you make the second fold and iron it.

I saw this done on "Simply Quilts" on TV, and I had to try it immediately...it really works great for bias or straight binding.
Merchants on PR
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
els said...
Thanks Ardis for this tip and the excellent drawn diagram.
10/25/05 5:18 AM
milwaukee_kelly said...
Thanks! I am going to tackle my first bias tape waist for a skirt tonight, and this was just what I needed. Great illustration!
10/25/05 10:19 AM
thaiyal said...
Great tip! Thanks for sharing it. I'm more of a visual person and the picture did it for me!
10/25/05 11:34 AM
Shari Lynn said...
Thanks so much for this tip and ALL the others you've posted. You really do come up with great "thinking out of the box" tips. Why didn't I think of that????
10/25/05 2:46 PM
inkyannie said...
Great tip! Thanks.
10/26/05 10:05 AM
Katharine in BXL said...
How cool! It makes me want to get an ironing board :) This is very helpful for preparing warm weather wardrobes with Hong Kong finishes.
2/28/06 11:50 AM
ginaT said...
1368 viewers yet rated only 14 times for such a fantastic tip???? Keep em coming Ardis your fab.
4/12/06 9:49 PM
KAB said...
Quite something!
5/18/06 11:42 AM
happy147 said...
I can't wait to try it. My daughter told me about this method but I had a hard time visualizing it. This looks easy!
6/11/06 8:18 PM
AnneM said...
Nifty. Thanks for sharing this.
8/29/06 11:36 AM
Heathar said...
Great tip! I HATE bias binding, but now it might not be so painful!
7/23/07 1:53 AM

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us