SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Tips & Techniques > Bias Tape or Binding -how to make [updated with images]

Viewed 5696 times
Posted by: SewVeryTall
photo

 
 
About SewVeryTall starstarstarstar
NE USA
Member since: 3/2/04
Reviews written: 161
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 63 people
tips added: 68
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 10/25/05 4:57 AM
Last Updated: 8/3/07 5:56 AM
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people   Very Helpful by 31 people   
Web site/URL: photo
8-03-07 link updated for move to shutterfly
1-22-07 link updated for the new yahoo.

This is an update on a tip I previously posted, because a few people requested images to help visualize this [click web link above for images].

For those who don't have the bias tape makers, or don't have the right size needed, there is a cooler way of making it other than pressing the strips in half, then opening, folding and ironing each raw edge to the middle.

The trick is to use a long pin, and pin it into your ironing board. First pin it in and out, then skip the distance you want the width of the single fold bias tape, then pin in and out again. Just to help this be visualized, if you wanted 1/4 inch double fold bias tape, you would catch the pin in the ironing board, skip over 1/2 inch, then catch the pin in the ironing board again.

Next, push the strip of fabric you've cut underneath the pin in the skipped space. As you pull it through, fold the edges in until they meet in the center. Now that you've got them evenly folded in, pull the fabric back to near the beginning. Once you've got it going right, it wants to keep going that way because the pin is holding it.

Now you start ironing. Press that first inch or so, then pull a little more fabric through, press it, pull more through, press, etc. Once you've got enough pressed that it's longer than the width of your iron, you can just set the iron down on the fabric, use one hand to guide the fabric, and one hand to pull it through.

After you've done all the single fold bias, you can change the width of the skipped space on the pin to half as wide. Now it will hold the double fold bias, as you make the second fold and iron it.

I saw this done on "Simply Quilts" on TV, and I had to try it immediately...it really works great for bias or straight binding.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


11 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
els said...
Thanks Ardis for this tip and the excellent drawn diagram.
10/25/05 5:18 AM
milwaukee_kelly said...
Thanks! I am going to tackle my first bias tape waist for a skirt tonight, and this was just what I needed. Great illustration!
10/25/05 10:19 AM
thaiyal said...
Great tip! Thanks for sharing it. I'm more of a visual person and the picture did it for me!
10/25/05 11:34 AM
Shari Lynn said...
Thanks so much for this tip and ALL the others you've posted. You really do come up with great "thinking out of the box" tips. Why didn't I think of that????
10/25/05 2:46 PM
inkyannie said...
Great tip! Thanks.
10/26/05 10:05 AM
Katharine in BXL said...
How cool! It makes me want to get an ironing board :) This is very helpful for preparing warm weather wardrobes with Hong Kong finishes.
2/28/06 11:50 AM
ginaT said...
1368 viewers yet rated only 14 times for such a fantastic tip???? Keep em coming Ardis your fab.
4/12/06 9:49 PM
KAB said...
Quite something!
5/18/06 11:42 AM
happy147 said...
I can't wait to try it. My daughter told me about this method but I had a hard time visualizing it. This looks easy!
6/11/06 8:18 PM
AnneM said...
Nifty. Thanks for sharing this.
8/29/06 11:36 AM
Heathar said...
Great tip! I HATE bias binding, but now it might not be so painful!
7/23/07 1:53 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

SewBaby Petal Jacket Pattern

SewBaby Petal Jacket Pattern

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Hudson Top & Pants Pattern

Sewing Workshop Hudson Top & Pants Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.