SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > An invisible zip that doesn't match

Viewed 5211 times
Posted by: KathleenS
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About KathleenS starstar
NA AUSTRALIA
Member since: 11/18/02
Reviews written: 76
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 26 people
tips added: 2
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 10/31/05 9:41 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people   Very Helpful by 3 people   
Featured in the PR book!
What to do if you can't get an invisible zip to match the fabric?

Obviously the only real problem is the zip pull/toggle as the rest of the zip isn't seen. You can paint it with nail polish to the same colour as the fabric, if you can get nail polish in the right colour. I don't use nail polish for its proper purpose and now know that the most readily available colours are from palest beige through all the pinks and reds to purples. However, I got blue-green, which was an exact match to my fabric. So - if you haven't had luck with finding the right colour zip, you might be luckier with nail polish! Not cheap though.

This solution is also good for eyelets/grommets.

(This was not my own idea and if it's been posted already please let me know).

<< Previous    Next >>

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


7 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
minieme said...
Where were you when I put in the white eyelets onto my red shirt? Thanks for the great idea.
11/10/05 5:22 PM
Karla Kizer said...
I used nailpolish one time to pain the shiny metal backs on covered buttons, so they didn't stand out. I have no idea how long it lasts - the prom dress was a one-time wear kind of thing.
11/4/05 8:26 PM
KathleenS said...
Nail polish also dries more quickly than paint.
11/4/05 6:00 PM
Lilibet said...
Great idea. I've also used nail polish to name scissors and tools to take to sewing classes after I saw a heated argument between 2 ladies over ownership of an expensive pair of scissors.
11/2/05 2:59 PM
GuriFB said...
Haha! i was just wondering what to so with the silver colored grommets that I have to put in my white corset!! (we don't get white grommets in Norway...) thanks!
11/1/05 4:50 PM
Lee Ann Hawkins said...
I actually had several small bottles of acrylic craft (stencil) paint that I had bought quite awhile ago--about 99cents to $1.25 each or so. I was surprised how good the invisible zip tab looked painted a matching green--I am not sure how this will dry clean but will find out!
11/1/05 3:58 PM
appleC said...
Thanks for the great idea. Nail polish is definitely more affordable than paint, and has more color selections.
11/1/05 5:06 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Class Details

Online Class
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Class Details

Favorite Things The Frayed Jacket Pattern

Favorite Things The Frayed Jacket Pattern

More Info
Claire Handbag

Claire Handbag

More Info

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.