SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Tips & Techniques > An invisible zip that doesn't match

Viewed 5146 times
Posted by: KathleenS
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About KathleenS starstar
NA AUSTRALIA
Member since: 11/18/02
Reviews written: 75
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 25 people
tips added: 2
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 10/31/05 9:41 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people   Very Helpful by 3 people   
Featured in the PR book!
What to do if you can't get an invisible zip to match the fabric?

Obviously the only real problem is the zip pull/toggle as the rest of the zip isn't seen. You can paint it with nail polish to the same colour as the fabric, if you can get nail polish in the right colour. I don't use nail polish for its proper purpose and now know that the most readily available colours are from palest beige through all the pinks and reds to purples. However, I got blue-green, which was an exact match to my fabric. So - if you haven't had luck with finding the right colour zip, you might be luckier with nail polish! Not cheap though.

This solution is also good for eyelets/grommets.

(This was not my own idea and if it's been posted already please let me know).

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


7 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
appleC said...
Thanks for the great idea. Nail polish is definitely more affordable than paint, and has more color selections.
11/1/05 5:06 AM
Lee Ann Hawkins said...
I actually had several small bottles of acrylic craft (stencil) paint that I had bought quite awhile ago--about 99cents to $1.25 each or so. I was surprised how good the invisible zip tab looked painted a matching green--I am not sure how this will dry clean but will find out!
11/1/05 3:58 PM
GuriFB said...
Haha! i was just wondering what to so with the silver colored grommets that I have to put in my white corset!! (we don't get white grommets in Norway...) thanks!
11/1/05 4:50 PM
Lilibet said...
Great idea. I've also used nail polish to name scissors and tools to take to sewing classes after I saw a heated argument between 2 ladies over ownership of an expensive pair of scissors.
11/2/05 2:59 PM
KathleenS said...
Nail polish also dries more quickly than paint.
11/4/05 6:00 PM
Karla Kizer said...
I used nailpolish one time to pain the shiny metal backs on covered buttons, so they didn't stand out. I have no idea how long it lasts - the prom dress was a one-time wear kind of thing.
11/4/05 8:26 PM
minieme said...
Where were you when I put in the white eyelets onto my red shirt? Thanks for the great idea.
11/10/05 5:22 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

Favorite Things Little Prairie Girl Pattern

Favorite Things Little Prairie Girl Pattern

Buy Now
SewBaby The Hat Shoppe Pattern

SewBaby The Hat Shoppe Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.