SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Top Stitching Collar Points

Viewed 5461 times
Posted by: Lisa Laree
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Lisa Laree starstarstarstar
AL USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 245
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 88 people
tips added: 16
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 1/10/03 1:53 AM
Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people   Very Helpful by 23 people   
Featured in the PR book!
This is a pretty old and basic tip, but since I used it tonight and don't see it posted anywhere I'll go ahead and put it up.

Keep a hand sewing needle threaded with a doubled thread with tails about 4 - 6 inches long by the sewing machine; when topstitching collar points (or any sharp corner, for that matter) and approaching the corner, run the (hand) needle through the very tip of the corner and pull the thread about 1/2 way through and just leave it there. Then, when the (machine) needle is pivoted at the corner point, grab both sets of thread tails (the needle end and the free end) and tug it gently as you sew so that the corner doesn't get hung up under the sewing machine needle. Once the presser foot is well past the corner, the needle and thread can just be pulled out and stuck back in the pin cushion until next time.

I would credit the source for this tip, but I can't remember where I learned it!

<< Previous    Next >>

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


16 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
jozica said...
must trie this one, I heard it before but always seem to forget it when I could use it
8/19/12 8:01 AM
Sparkles as SamSews said...
I think this is really great too and an awesome tip. I saw it done with Sandra Betzina with Ron. Thank you!
12/4/09 11:14 PM
M.S. said...
Good Idea!
11/30/09 1:06 PM
iSewQuiltArt said...
Genius idea!
9/19/09 5:21 AM
mole said...
Brilliant!!
8/21/08 11:02 PM
Heatherrique said...
Great idea! I'll give this a try!
6/14/08 8:01 PM
lindarkv said...
Exactly what I needed! Thankyou!
3/12/06 10:19 PM
Faith To Win said...
I just encountered this problem the other day. The point gets hung up under the presser foot and your vision of a perfect point vanishes before your very eyes. I was hoping to find a solution...I will be using this tip/technique from now on. Thank you so much for sharing.
2/7/06 1:31 AM
LeAnn said...
Sorry, I just checked out that ucantoo site - no longer in biz. sorry
1/21/03 12:22 PM
LeAnn said...
I use index cards - like a recipe system. If you're good at computers, there is a program called UCANTOO that you download off the internet free.
1/21/03 12:09 PM
Lisa Laree said...
I wish I had a good system for storing/retrieving tips, too! I don't know how many I read, think 'oh, that's great' and then forget about it when I could actually use it!
1/20/03 1:04 AM
Cloud9 said...
Hi Lisa, How brilliant! I just printed out your collar point tip and will post it in my "sewing ideas" scrap book. Next time I do a cowboy shirt with all those scrolly yoke edges, I'll give it a try. Does any one have any tips for filing great sewing tips besides a scrap book?
1/19/03 7:05 PM
alex said...
Thanks, Lisa, I had never heard of this tip either!
1/14/03 1:03 PM
Judy Williment said...
Thanks for this - I HAD heard it, but had promptly forgotten it. That'll come in very handy on my next project!
1/11/03 5:46 AM
LeAnn said...
That is a great tip. I can't believe I've never heard it before in all my years of sewing. Thanks a bunch. This is one of my sewing weaknesses - sewing collar points!
1/10/03 1:05 PM
Lou. said...
This is a new one on me, thanks!!!
1/10/03 10:45 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

SewBaby One Piece Reversible Sundress Pattern

SewBaby One Piece Reversible Sundress Pattern

Buy Now
You Sew Girl Small Tote Pattern

You Sew Girl Small Tote Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.