SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > remember pattern changes

Viewed 5177 times
Posted by: Katharine in BXL
photo

 
 
About Katharine in BXL star
Member since: 8/1/03
Reviews written: 72
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 19 people
tips added: 4
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 11/1/05 4:28 AM
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people   Very Helpful by 6 people   
Featured in the PR book!
Oh, this one is so SIMPLE I'm almost embarassed to post it.

Get a pack of 3x5 cards or other small, stiff paper that won't get crunched up in an overstuffed pattern envelope. When you finish a project, write down any changes you'd like to add or tips for the next time you sew it. For example, I recently made a knit top. The back poufs out a bit, so I noted " swayback alteration / make with CB seam" on a card, and popped it into the envelope.

Previously, I would have altered the tissue pattern right after sewing, and then I wouldn't bother to make it again. Or I relied on memory for the next version, but I'd forget. Or I would promise myself to try on the first model before making a second, and that rascally project was always in the wash when I wanted to cut out a new one. The card saves you from all of this hassle.

This is so simple, but it took me three years of sewing to think of it. Hopefully everyone else already does this, but if it saves anyone else from three years... that's why I posted it! HTH

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


10 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Mary Stiefer said...
This is a great idea. I do something similar. Like anyone else getting older, my memory doesn't always serve me correctly so - this has become a necessity.
11/1/05 8:12 AM
KarenP said...
What a fantastic idea! I always rely on memory, which isn't always so reliable...
11/1/05 2:11 PM
kathi s said...
Great idea!
11/2/05 0:20 AM
KJill said...
I usually use a scrap of notepaper or something else that "gets curnched up in an overstuffed pattern envelope" This is a great idea. Lots of other sewing notes I could make keeping a box of 3x5 cards. I defintately need to organize better as I get older. Just saw your bio note about typoon season - you folks have had a bad time of it this year, they all went around us here in Okinawa - unlike last year. - Kari
11/2/05 2:07 AM
Lee Ann Hawkins said...
Great idea! I usually make notes on the pattern piece or the instructions, which then I forget to look at until I have cut out the new project and it is too late! Thanks very much!
11/2/05 9:59 AM
edube said...
I do a variation on this idea which has helped me immensely as well: I keep a small spiral notebook in my sewing area and after completing a project I cut a small sample of the fabric and attach it to the page where I describe the project, date, source of the fabric, etc. On the pattern envelope I put a brief description of the project and write "see spiral" for the details. I can't tell you how this has helped me to keep from repeating mistakes and ruining costly fabric!
11/2/05 11:53 AM
Shellia said...
Good idea! I do this when I am not being lazy. :)
11/3/05 6:58 AM
skim1 said...
I keep an index card file with a scrap of the fabric, the patterm number,the yardage and when the garment was completed. Now, thanks to you, I will add the alteration. Adding the alterations is
11/9/05 6:51 AM
VtMartha said...
This is a great idea! I put notes on my pattern tracings but l can never figure out what I meant the next time around. I think writing on a separate card would encourage me to be more precise with my notes.
11/15/05 3:27 PM
Annelune said...
This is a great idea. I usually write this stuff in a visual diary, where I can draw and scribble sewing stuff to my heart's content. But the problem is finding that one specific page! Another variant on this is that if I find the yardage requirement are different to the stated ones, (often is) I write the more accurate ones on the pattern envelope
12/31/07 11:31 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Register

The City Bag

The City Bag

Buy Now
Victory Lola Paper Pattern

Victory Lola Paper Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.