SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Cleaning Your Iron

Viewed 5267 times
Posted by: G_l_e_n_d_a
photo

 
 
About G_l_e_n_d_a star
CA USA
Member since: 5/11/05
Reviews written: 11
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 1 people
tips added: 1
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 11/5/05 4:48 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people   Very Helpful by 3 people   
This tip comes in handy if you (oops!) put your hot iron down on the wrong side of fusible interfacing. It is also good to do just in general every once in awhile.

You can buy a kit called the Rowenta Soleplate Cleaning Kit (I got mine at JoAnn's, I think.) It is good for any brand of iron; it does not have to be a Rowenta.

Basically, you get a tube of goop and several different types of cloths. You squeeze the goop on a cotton terry cloth, and just iron over it with a hot dry iron. You will be amazed at the quantities of crud that come off of your iron. It can change the soleplate from almost black to silver.

Afterwards, the iron will glide more easily, and you will be rid of that pesky interfacing that was stuck on it.

<< Previous    Next >>

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


6 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
CarlaDian said...
I'm beginning to be convinced that the cheapo detergent I have always bought is the culprit for the buildup of gunk (brownish) that is on my soleplate. does anyone have information about that?
11/14/05 7:11 PM
Judy Williment said...
You hav no idea how much I wished I'd seen this BEFORE I spent a whole hour getting the c**p off the soleplate of my iron the other day.........
11/8/05 5:58 PM
SewVeryTall said...
p.s. Glenda, don't feel bad, I tried searching in tips for "iron" and "iron cleaning" and those tips wouldn't show up for me either...weird, they should!

p.p.s. the dryer sheet works for melted plastic too [like pressing too close to templates...ask me how I know! hehe].
11/8/05 4:19 AM

SewVeryTall said...
I posted one of the dryer sheet tips back in March 2004 and someone else repeated it a few months ago. One thing though, you really don't want to scrunch up the dryer sheet and rub over the hot iron...you want to lay down the sheet on your ironing board and run your hot iron over the sheet like you're ironing it. That way you can't burn your fingers.
11/7/05 3:14 AM
G_l_e_n_d_a said...
Tnanks! Maybe you could add that as its own tip -- I did a search on 'iron' and couldn't find anything so I don't think it is there and the comments probably aren't included in search results.
11/6/05 9:38 AM
mezzobean said...
The kits work fine, but as I learned from a couple folks here at PR, used dryer fabric softener sheets work just as well and are 'free' - scrunch one or two up and rub over a hot iron and it's good as new!
11/6/05 7:27 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Register

Paradiso Designs Everyday Bag Pattern

Paradiso Designs Everyday Bag Pattern

Buy Now
Christine Jonson Shirred Top & Princess Wrap

Christine Jonson Shirred Top & Princess Wrap

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.