SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Sharpening chalk for fabric markings

Viewed 5600 times
Posted by: Mary Stiefer
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Mary Stiefer starstarstarstar
CO USA
Member since: 2/17/03
Reviews written: 169
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 36 people
tips added: 27
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 11/8/05 10:35 AM
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people   Very Helpful by 12 people   
Web site/URL: photo
Featured in the PR book!
I use Crayola Chalk to mark dark colored fabrics. But - it was a pain because there was never a sharp point. I was at Office Max the other day and they had these two hole pencil sharpeners and the light bulb went on. It was only 30 cents to - I went for it. When I brought it home I immediately tried sharpening a piece of chalk in the large hole of the sharpener and it works like a charm.

I know there are lots of chalk liners, etc. - but - this is just fine. And really cheap too.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


7 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
lisika242 said...
I'll have to give this a try...I have a box of the crayola chalk that I used for crafting with kids for a daycare. I might as well get a second use out of it, since I know longer work there. Although I donated most of it, I still kept some around just in case. Thanks for the tip!
7/10/08 1:27 AM
mamacita said...
Mary! thanks for the tip....I have a two hole eyebrow pencil sharpener that I have never used...so I dug it out and it works as well. Thanks for the inspiration!
11/9/05 8:56 PM
FeyFaerie said...
Great idea! Another good way to maintain a sharp point - or if you wanted to change it to an angled point - is to use a fine grade sandpaper. DO NOT buy those "fancy-smancy" sandpaper "sharpeners" for charcoal pencils that you can find at art and hobby stores. Just go to the hardware store, and buy a pkg. of the regular sized sheets. I then cut them into managable size squares and store them in a sandwich bag - you can sometimes find a HUGE bag of "fine grade" squares, pre-packaged at your local dollar store. I did - about 2 years ago - and trust me, it is a lifetime supply! Great to know that the chalk can be use in the sharpener, though! I just bought (for about $5) 3 quiltiing chalk pencils.... Well, I know better now! Thanks again for the great tip!
11/9/05 2:28 PM
Stitchology said...
Thanks. I've been making thick, awkward lines with my blackboard chalk and this never occurred to me. Glad someone has a functioning brain.
11/9/05 12:10 PM
Everyday Sewist said...
Can't wait to try this! Thanks.
11/9/05 9:17 AM
xela said...
Expensive doesn't mean it works better. Great idea! Now why didn't I think of that? :-)
11/9/05 7:23 AM
Enid E said...
Mary, What a terrific idea! Thanks!!! Enid
11/8/05 5:34 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Class Details

Online Class
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Class Details

Towne Purse

Towne Purse

More Info
Favorite Things An Everyday Bag Pattern

Favorite Things An Everyday Bag Pattern

More Info

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.