SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Sharpening chalk for fabric markings

Viewed 5547 times
Posted by: Mary Stiefer
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Mary Stiefer starstarstarstar
CO USA
Member since: 2/17/03
Reviews written: 169
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 36 people
tips added: 27
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 11/8/05 10:35 AM
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people   Very Helpful by 12 people   
Web site/URL: photo
Featured in the PR book!
I use Crayola Chalk to mark dark colored fabrics. But - it was a pain because there was never a sharp point. I was at Office Max the other day and they had these two hole pencil sharpeners and the light bulb went on. It was only 30 cents to - I went for it. When I brought it home I immediately tried sharpening a piece of chalk in the large hole of the sharpener and it works like a charm.

I know there are lots of chalk liners, etc. - but - this is just fine. And really cheap too.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


7 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Enid E said...
Mary, What a terrific idea! Thanks!!! Enid
11/8/05 5:34 PM
xela said...
Expensive doesn't mean it works better. Great idea! Now why didn't I think of that? :-)
11/9/05 7:23 AM
Everyday Sewist said...
Can't wait to try this! Thanks.
11/9/05 9:17 AM
Stitchology said...
Thanks. I've been making thick, awkward lines with my blackboard chalk and this never occurred to me. Glad someone has a functioning brain.
11/9/05 12:10 PM
FeyFaerie said...
Great idea! Another good way to maintain a sharp point - or if you wanted to change it to an angled point - is to use a fine grade sandpaper. DO NOT buy those "fancy-smancy" sandpaper "sharpeners" for charcoal pencils that you can find at art and hobby stores. Just go to the hardware store, and buy a pkg. of the regular sized sheets. I then cut them into managable size squares and store them in a sandwich bag - you can sometimes find a HUGE bag of "fine grade" squares, pre-packaged at your local dollar store. I did - about 2 years ago - and trust me, it is a lifetime supply! Great to know that the chalk can be use in the sharpener, though! I just bought (for about $5) 3 quiltiing chalk pencils.... Well, I know better now! Thanks again for the great tip!
11/9/05 2:28 PM
mamacita said...
Mary! thanks for the tip....I have a two hole eyebrow pencil sharpener that I have never used...so I dug it out and it works as well. Thanks for the inspiration!
11/9/05 8:56 PM
lisika242 said...
I'll have to give this a try...I have a box of the crayola chalk that I used for crafting with kids for a daycare. I might as well get a second use out of it, since I know longer work there. Although I donated most of it, I still kept some around just in case. Thanks for the tip!
7/10/08 1:27 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Register

Favorite Things Blossoms & Bloomers Pattern

Favorite Things Blossoms & Bloomers Pattern

Buy Now
Jennifer Stern The Perfectly Fitted Shirt by the Cup-Full Pattern ( Size 16-24(Cup B-DD) )

Jennifer Stern The Perfectly Fitted Shirt by the Cup-Full Pattern ( Size 16-24(Cup B-DD) )

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.